Friday, September 13, 2013

Book Review: Wife 22 by Melanie Gideon

Title: Wife 22
Author: Melanie Gideon
Category: Women's Fiction/Chick Lit
Pub. Date: 02/12/2013
Publisher: Ballantine Books
Format: Paperback
Pages: 416
ISBN#: 0345527968

Synopsis:  
For fans of Helen Fielding’s Bridget Jones’s Diary and Allison Pearson’s I Don’t Know How She Does It comes an irresistible novel of a woman losing herself . . . and finding herself again . . . in the middle of her life.
Maybe it was those extra five pounds I’d gained. Maybe it was because I was about to turn the same age my mother was when I lost her. Maybe it was because after almost twenty years of marriage my husband and I seemed to be running out of things to say to each other.
But when the anonymous online study called “Marriage in the 21st Century” showed up in my inbox, I had no idea how profoundly it would change my life. It wasn’t long before I was assigned both a pseudonym (Wife 22) and a caseworker (Researcher 101).
And, just like that, I found myself answering questions.
7. Sometimes I tell him he’s snoring when he’s not snoring so he’ll sleep in the guest room and I can have the bed all to myself.
61. Chet Baker on the tape player. He was cutting peppers for the salad. I looked at those hands and thought, I am going to have this man’s children.
67. To not want what you don’t have. What you can’t have. What you shouldn’t have.
32. That if we weren’t careful, it was possible to forget one another.
Before the study, my life was an endless blur of school lunches and doctor’s appointments, family dinners, budgets, and trying to discern the fastest-moving line at the grocery store. I was Alice Buckle: spouse of William and mother to Zoe and Peter, drama teacher and Facebook chatter, downloader of memories and Googler of solutions.
But these days, I’m also Wife 22. And somehow, my anonymous correspondence with Researcher 101 has taken an unexpectedly personal turn. Soon, I’ll have to make a decision—one that will affect my family, my marriage, my whole life. But at the moment, I’m too busy answering questions.
As it turns out, confession can be a very powerful aphrodisiac.
From the Hardcover edition.
 
 


My Review:  
Alrighty Then...  WOW! This is one that has me turned all around! I have just really started reading more Chick Lit books. And when I say I am loving some of them is the least of it. Wife 22 by author Melanie Gideon is absolutely right on top!

The story within this hhmm what or how to put this, is it a fiction, a online study or a chapter out of a mystery book or is it just a plain story about a woman who is going through life like all of us are at one time or another. 

I have absolute amazement for author Melanie Gideon and at the way she has written this story. I have fallen head over heart so to speak for her writing style. 

The questions, the love, and a whole lot more wrapped up in this beautiful cover. I will be on the look out for more from this amazing author. 

So there you have it for my thoughts on this book and author.

And for those reasons, I am giving this book and author my Breath of Life Rating:



FIVE CLOCK RATING!!  

 Disclosure: I did not received the above book in exchange for my honest opinion and review. Opinions are my own and yours may differ. 

______________________________  
About the Author:



Melanie Gideon is the author of the memoir The Slippery Year: A Meditation on Happily Ever After, an NPR and San Francisco Chronicle Best Book of 2009, and a New York Times bestseller, as well as three young adult novels. Her latest novel, Wife 22, will be translated into 26 languages and is currently in development with Working Title Films. She has written for the New York Times, the San Francisco Chronicle, More, Shape, Marie Claire, theLondon Times, the Daily Mail and other publications. She was born and raised in Rhode Island and now lives in the Bay Area with her husband and son. Wife 22 is her first novel for adults.  

0 comments:

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...