Sunday, December 30, 2012

Book Review: MERRY CHRISTMAS COLORING CUTOUTS by Energy & Sciences and Jennise Conley

Title: MERRY CHRISTMAS COLORING CUTOUTS
Author: Energy & Sciences & Jennise Conley
Category: Christmas
Pub. Date: 08/28/2012
Publisher: Energy and Sciences
Format: E-Book
Pages: 24
ISBN#: 1479207276    

Synopsis:   
This purchase includes a Christmas Coloring and Cutouts Book. It provides 12 adorable coloring pages including 9 unique images. This is the perfect activity book for our youngest artists. They can color, trace, cut and paste their favorite holiday pictures.

All proceeds benefit educational research. Teachers are welcome to make copies for personal classroom use.   



Book Review: Momnesia by Lori Verni-Fogarsi

Title: Momnesia
Author: Lori Verni-Fogarsi
Category: Women's Fiction/Chick lit 
Pub. Date: 03/16/2012
Publisher: Brickstone Pub.
Format: Paperback
Pages: 288
ISBN#: 0984028463

Synopsis:  
FROM THE BACK COVER:
She's smart, pretty, and runs her own business. So then why does she feel so dead inside? Between work, two kids, and a husband who finds her about as exciting as furniture shopping, this is the story of a (formerly-exciting but now way-too-typical) suburban mom who diagnoses herself with "Momnesia" and sets about finessing a new version of her old vivaciousness:

MOMNESIA (mahm-nee-zhuh) -noun-
Loss of the memory of who you used to be. Caused by pregnancy, play dates, and trying to keep the house cleaner than the Joneses.

She finds some adventure pursuing her own interests, and does make some new friends (including the battery operated variety), but still feels like nothing more than a caretaker.

In between dealing with her husband's manic-depressive behavior, drama with her friends, and some naughty Internet escapades, she keeps facing the question, "Is it that I haven't been myself? Or is it that I am being myself but just different than I used to be?" It isn't until she tosses the Invisible Rule Book altogether that she discovers life--and love--have more to offer than she ever imagined!

Wednesday, December 19, 2012

Book Review: Holly AND Ivy by SELAH JANEL

Title: Holly AND Ivy
Author: SELAH JANEL
Category: Novelet/Christmas/Fantasy
Pub. Date: 11/30/2012
Publisher: Mocha Memoirs Press, Inc
Format: E-Book
Pages: 40
ISBN#: B00AG111UU
SYNOPSIS: After losing her job and her boyfriend, Holly returns to her parents’ farm. Embarrassed and hopeless, she doesn’t expect to bump into a forgotten childhood friend that wasn’t supposed to exist. Ivy is not only a dryad, but she lives in the pine trees Holly’s family grows to sell at Christmas. As the old friends reconnect, Ivy not only shares her strong opinions, but gives Holly a charm that will change both their lives. As days melt into weeks and the seasons change, Holly’s life magically turns around. Christmas not only brings surprises, but a choice for the human woman. What’s more important: stability, success, and love, or keeping a promise to an old friend? 

Monday, December 17, 2012

Book Review: Sugarplum Dreams by Lisa Bilbrey, M.B. Feeney, R.E. Hargrave, Michele Richard

Title: Sugarplum Dreams
Author: Lisa Bilbrey, M.B. Feeney, R.E. Hargrave, Michele Richard
Category: Christmas
Pub. Date: 12/11/2012
Publisher: Renaissance Romance Publisher
Format: E-Book
Pages:
ISBN#: 0615729738

Synopsis:      
A late night reunion on the beach, warm cookies fresh from the oven, the overwhelming world of online dating, and a one-night stand that changes of the lives of three people — Sugarplum Dreams, Book Four of the Candy Collection, wields a voyage of self-discovery, new beginnings, new loves, and admirable courage.

Broken Roads & Dusty Dreams

Riley Farris and Natalie Sloane were the best of friends who spent every summer together on the sandy beach of Mustang Island. Then, just when Riley is getting set to spend another summer with Natalie, she disappears. As the years pass, he struggles to understand what happened to the girl he knew. Until, one night while walking on the beach, he stumbles upon a woman who is broken and lost.

Right Click, Love

Disheartened about not being able to find “Mr. Right” on the London dating scene, best friends Jodie Lynch and Louise Hewson create a blog to not only document their disastrous dates with the numerous “Mr. Wrongs” and “Mr. Okay-for-nows” but also to help those going through the same experiences and to see where they’re going wrong. How will they deal with everything the dating scene has to throw at them — planned or otherwise?

Sugar & Spice

Lacey Harrison has been dealt an unexpected hand in life: being a single mom. With her father's help and that of the residents at Royal Hills Nursing Home, she thrives and goes on to become a successful baker. She is content with her life but knows that she and her daughter Candy are missing something. Will things change for the better when Trent Childress moves into town and adds some spice to her sugar?

The Roommates

Spring break changes everything for Daphne Hobbs. A one-night stand leaves her pregnant and alone. She soon discovers that the father is an identical twin, and she's unsure of which one turned her world upside down. She’ll be forced to share her apartment with them until she can discover the truth. Julius and Jordan Sweet share everything in their lives — almost to the point of living one life. Will Daphne uncover who’s the daddy?
  

Wednesday, December 12, 2012

Book Review: the SECRET KEEPER by KATE MORTON

Title: the SECRET KEEPER
Author: KATE MORTON
Category: Historical Fiction
Pub. Date: 10/09/2012
Publisher: Ateia
Format: Hardback
Pages: 481
ISBN#: 1439152802

Synopsis:  
1961 England. Laurel Nicolson is sixteen years old, dreaming alone in her childhood tree house during a family celebration at their home, Green Acres Farm. She spies a stranger coming up the long road to the farm and then observes her mother, Dorothy, speaking to him. And then she witnesses a crime.

Fifty years later, Laurel is a successful and well-regarded actress, living in London. She returns to Green Acres for Dorothy’s ninetieth birthday and finds herself overwhelmed by memories and questions she has not thought about for decades. She decides to find out the truth about the events of that summer day and lay to rest her own feelings of guilt. One photograph, of her mother and a woman Laurel has never met, called Vivian, is her first clue.

The Secret Keeper explores longings and dreams, the lengths some people go to fulfill them, and the strange consequences they sometimes have. It is a story of lovers, friends, dreamers and schemers, play-acting and deception told against a backdrop of events that changed the world.
 

Book Review: The Christmas Quilt by Patricia Davids

Title: The Christmas Quilt
Author: Patricia Davids
Category: Christmas
Pub. Date: 11/15/2011
Publisher: Love Inspired
Format: Paperback
Pages: 224
ISBN#: 0373877099

Synopsis:  
Years ago, Rebecca Beachy kept her reasons for rejecting Gideon Troyer's marriage proposal a secret. Then Gideon left their Amish community. Now, Rebecca crafts quilts to raise money to cure her blindness. She's also busy guarding her heart against love. Until Gideon returns, at risk of being shunned, to make the winning bid on one of her exquisite quilts. Will the quilt—a patchwork promise of rediscovered love—bring Gideon and Rebecca back together again? 

Book Review: A Simple Amish Christmas by Vannetta Chapman

Title: A Simple Amish Christmas
Author: Vannetta Chapman
Category: Holiday/Christmas
Pub. Date: 10/01/2010
Publisher: Abingdon Press
Format: E-Book
Pages: 256
ISBN#: 1426710666

Synopsis:  
Annie Weaver always planned to return home, but the 20-year old RN has lived in Philadelphia for three years now. As her time of rumschpringe is about to come to an abrupt end, bringing for Annie an overwhelming sense of loneliness. She returns home and finds herself face-to-face with a budding romance with an Amish farmer and important choices to make.

Thursday, December 6, 2012

Book Review: Amelia in Pink, the Sleepless Cat by Jimerna Pinto-Kroujiline

Title: Amelia Pink, the Sleepless Cat
Author: Jimena Pinto-Kroujiline
Category: Childrens
Pub. Date: 11/12/2012
Publisher: CreateSpace Independent Publishing
Format: Paperback
Pages: 32
ISBN#: 1480267899
Amazon Link: Click Here
Synopsis:  
Amelia and her older sister Sofia have a cat. His name is Pink and he loves sleeping. During the day, Amelia and Sofia try almost everything to wake him up, as they only wish to play with him. The girls will learn what a heavy sleeper Pink is and how fun it is to play tricks on him while he is sleeping. These funny tricks, however, leave a very tired and confused Pink. Will Pink finally find out who was playing tricks on him and teach them a lesson?  

Promo Post: Behind Closed Doors by Sherri Hayes

 Behind Closed Doors by Sherri Hayes

Summary:
Elizabeth Marshall spent the last nine years doing all the things she was supposed to do. She went to a good college. Married a man with a promising future. Elizabeth even had a nice house in a respectable part of town. There was even the promise of 2.4 kids in her future. From the outside everything looked picture perfect.

Then one night, the world she lived in came crashing down. Six months later with her husband dead and her friends gone, Elizabeth moves to the small town of Springfield, Ohio to start a new life where no one knows who she is or about her past.

Christopher Daniels enjoys the simplicity of his bachelor life. After his divorce three years ago, he swore off women. He has no desire to change that philosophy.

When Elizabeth Marshall moves into the apartment below his in the small Victorian house, she makes him reconsider the motto he’s lived by for the last three years: women are trouble. She is everything his ex-wife is not, and it doesn’t help that she is his fantasy come to life.

He is determined to resist her charms; however, when someone sends threatening messages to Elizabeth, he finds himself in the role of protector. Can he protect Elizabeth and still resist the pull she has on his body and his heart?

Author Bio:

 Author Sherri Hayes
Sherri is the author of several novels, and a short story, A Christmas Proposal. She lives in central Ohio with her husband and three cats. Her mother fostered her love for books at a young age by reading to her as a child. Stories have been floating around in her head for as long as she can remember; however, she didn’t start writing them down until she was thirty. It has become a creative outlet that allows her to explore a wide range of emotions while having fun taking her characters through all the twists and turns she can create. When she’s not writing, she can usually be found helping her husband in his woodworking shop.

 Links:

Goodreads (Behind Closed Doors): http://www.goodreads.com/book/show/13003360-behind-closed-doors
Goodreads (Hidden Threat): http://www.goodreads.com/book/show/9846485-hidden-threat
Goodreads (Author): http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/4496779.Sherri_Hayes
Amazon Author Page:  http://www.amazon.com/Sherri-Hayes/e/B004MIO9O4/ref=sr_ntt_srch_lnk_1?qid=1354749081&sr=8-1
Author Twitter:  https://twitter.com/Sherri_Hayes
Author Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Sherri-Hayes/122511444477280?ref=hl


Wednesday, December 5, 2012

Release Day Blitz: Holly and Ivy


Release Day Blitz: Holly and Ivy by Selah Janel


I'm so excited, yes I know I get excited a lot, but today its for a great reason.  Today is the release day of Holly and Ivy by Selah Janel! YAY!!! I want to first say congrats to Selah, you know how awesome I think you are and I hope you have a great release day today! 

Below you will find the book information, author bio and links, buying links for this great new release and a giveaway. 





After losing her job and her boyfriend, Holly returns to her parents’ farm. Embarrassed and hopeless, she doesn’t expect to bump into a forgotten childhood friend that wasn’t supposed to exist. Ivy is not only a dryad, but she lives in the pine trees Holly’s family grows to sell at Christmas. As the old friends reconnect, Ivy not only shares her strong opinions, but gives Holly a charm that will change both their lives. As days melt into weeks and the seasons change, Holly’s life magically turns around. Christmas not only brings surprises, but a choice for the human woman. What’s more important: stability, success, and love, or keeping a promise to an old friend?





Tuesday, December 4, 2012

Book Review: JACK TEMPLAR MONSTER HUNTER BY Jeff Gunhus

Title: JACK TEMPLAR MONSTER HUNTER
Author: Jeff Gunhus
Category: Fantasy
Pub. Date: 10/10/2012
Publisher: Seven Guns Press
Format: E-Book
Pages: 196
ISBN#: 0988425904

Synopsis:   
Orphan Jack Templar has no memory of his parents and only the smallest details from his Aunt Sophie about how they died. The day before Jack's fourteenth birthday, things start to change for him. At first it's great: A sudden new strength helps him defend his nose-picking friend "T-Rex" from the school bully, and even his crush, Cindy Adams, takes notice. But then a mysterious girl named Eva arrives and tells him two facts that will change his life forever. First, that he's the descendent of a long line of monster hunters and he's destined to be in the family business. Second, that there's a truce between man and monster that children are off-limits...until their fourteenth birthday! Jack has only one day before hundreds of monsters will descend on his little town of Sunnyvale and try to kill him.

As if that weren't enough, things get even more complicated when Jack discovers that the Lord of the Creach (as the monsters are collectively known) holds a personal grudge against him and will do anything to see that Jack has a slow and painful death. To stay alive and save his friends, Jack will have to battle werewolves, vampires, harpies, trolls, zombies and more. But perhaps the most dangerous thing he must face is the truth about his past. Why do the other hunters call him the last Templar? Why do they whisper that he may be the "One?" Why do the monsters want him dead so badly? Even as these questions plague him, he quickly discovers survival is his new full-time job and that in the world of monster hunters, nothing is really what it seems.  

My Review:  
My honest thoughts and opinions on this wonderful, mysterious, fantasy and a book that I would give to any one of my grandchildren to read, is a guaranteed book and author that I would recommend to all who love some amazing fantasy in their lives. 

Okay with that being said, you can understand that this was an amazing book for me. I really loved the characters and the story line is so well written that it flows so well from the start to the finish. 

To say that I enjoyed this book is an understatement. I was enthralled in Jacks life. At times I was scared and then at times I was rooting him on to finish his task at hand. He kept me so engrossed that there was nothing that could take my attention away from it. 

I truly believe that my first grandson that is 8yrs old will also love  this book. And to that fact I will be purchasing him one for Christmas and will also make sure he keeps up with any new books by Jeff Gunhus on this line. Not to mention that I have several other grandchildren that I will also purchase this book for them.. two being girls that I feel will also enjoy reading this book. 

Alright, as you know I do not really get into the actually book, due to the fact that I feel You need to check it out for yourself. 


So due to the above, I am giving this book a Breath of Life ratings of: 

Five Clock Rating!!!  
Disclosure: I received this book for my honest opinion and review. Opinions are my own and yours may differ. 

________________________
About the Author:   

Jeff Gunhus is the co-founder of National Services Group, a service business with over 2000 employees. One of his companies, College Works Painting, is the leading student internship program in the United States. In addition to his series of motivational career guides for college students, Jeff is the author of several novels and screenplays. Check out his new MIddle Grade novel, Jack Templar Monster Hunter at www.jacktemplar.com
twitter username JTmonsterhunter

Blog Tour: Jack Templar Monster Hunter Guest Post




Today, I have a great middle grade book tour for you.  I'm excited to share this one with you.  Jack Templar Monster Hunter is a great book! Today I have a guest post, giveaway and a review of this book for you.  Below you will find the guest post and the giveaway! Enjoy.  



Hi, Jack Templar here.

I’ve been asked to share a few thoughts with you here on Breath Of Life. I assume if you’re reading this that you are either already a monster hunter or well on your way to becoming one. I say this out front because if you’re not a monster hunter and you just happened across this website by accident, then you should go away right now.

Monday, December 3, 2012

Cover Reveal: Holly and Ivy by Selah Janel


Cover Reveal: Holly and Ivy by Selah Janel


Happy Monday everyone, today I have a great cover to reveal for you.  This cover is for an upcoming release, well it actually is being released in two days! Its by Selah Janel and called Holly and Ivy.  Yep its a Christmas book!!! 

So below you will find the new cover and book summary. Also you will find all the author information and some more links for the authors Twitter Party and upcoming Tour! 


Friday, November 30, 2012

Book Review: A Wallflower Christmas by Lisa Kleypas

Title: A Wallflower Christmas 
Author: Lisa Kleypas
Category: Historical Romance
Pub. Date: 10/14/2008
Pulisher: St. Martin's Press
Format: E-Book 
Pages: 213 
ISBN#: 0312533780    
Synopsis:     
The Wallflowers are four young ladies in London who banded together in their wild and wickedly wonderful searches for true love. Now happily married, they join together once again to help one of the world’s most notorious rogues realize that happiness might be right under the mistletoe.…

It’s Christmastime in London and Rafe Bowman has arrived from America for his arranged meeting with Natalie Blandford, the very proper and beautiful daughter of Lady and Lord Blandford. His chiseled good looks and imposing physique are sure to impress the lady in waiting and, if it weren’t for his shocking American ways and wild reputation, her hand would already be guaranteed. Before the courtship can begin, Rafe realizes he must learn the rules of London society. But when four former Wallflowers try their hand at matchmaking, no one knows what will happen. And winning a bride turns out to be more complicated than Rafe Bowman anticipated, especially for a man accustomed to getting anything he wants. However, Christmas works in the most unexpected ways, changing a cynic to a romantic and inspiring passion in the most timid of hearts.

A Wallflower Christmas takes a trip to Victorian London, under the mistletoe, and on a journey of the heart. With her trademark charm, sensuality, and unforgettable characters, there’s no one like Lisa Kleypas to make you believe in the magic of Christmas. 

Thursday, November 29, 2012

Christmas Challenge Update:


I am sending out this Christmas Challenge to invite all my readers to see who can read the most Christmas Books between now and December the 25th, at midnight. I have placed a list of my Christmas books that I will be trying to read myself. They are under "Christmas list" 

So if you are interested in participating in this Challenge please leave a comment here with you name and what book or books you will be starting with.  And at lest once a week please let us know where you are at. I will do a post at least every other day if not daily on here. 


Book Review: Priceless Christmas by Connie Neal

Title: Priceless Christmas
Category: Connie Neal
Pub. Date:
Publisher:
Format:
Pages:
ISBN#:

Synopsis:  
Priceless Christmas combines the joys of Christmas with the joy of saving money. It will more than pay for itself with the first idea you use! It is chock-full of FREE stuff, inspiring ideas for Christmas gifts, holiday happenings, crafts, low-cost or no-cost handmade gift ideas, family-friendly activities, outings, games, contests, and creative Christmas ideas for shopping, dressing-up for special occasions, and throwing great parties your guests will remember forever (like the Whoville Whobilation Celebration based on classic tale How the Grinch Stole Christmas by Dr.Seuss, )

This is not a hodge-podge of ideas collected from the internet. Each idea that made the cut for this book has been a raving success for the author’s own family and friends. This is the best of the best from a best-selling author who wanted to bring together her Christmas best-of collection to help her readers make the most of the season she loves best.

Special Features & Formatting
The author carefully designed this Kindle version with formatting and features to make your reading experience more rewarding and enjoyable:
• Each idea comes with:
o Cost, Work/Effort Involved
o What It Is Description
o Step-by-Step How-To Instructions
o List of Things You Will Need (many with active links to where you get it)
o Benefits You Can Reap
o Some even link to online How-To Videos that show you how to do it
• Entertaining examples and stories to illustrate or inform
• Lots of illustrative photos
• A complete cross-referenced index that categorizes sections into:
o FREE
o Crafts
o Fun
o Family-Friendly Activities
o Family-Friendly Outings
o Holiday Parties and Get-Togethers

Additional Benefits
The benefits of this book go way beyond saving money to include:
• Giving more meaningful gifts
• Inspiring a spirit of generosity in children
• Religious experiences and resources that will illuminate the reason for the season, like reading the Christmas story by firelight (a script from the Bible story is included translated at a 3rd grade reading level)
• Escaping materialism and helping those less fortunate (which will make you feel rich no matter what’s in your bank account)

So, if you are thrifty, crafty, strapped for cash, budget-minded, discount-driven, trying to escape materialism that can overtake Christmas, bored with the same old traditions, or you’re longing for Christmas celebrations that will be priceless – regardless of how much or little you spend, this book is for you. It also offers sage advice and wisdom gained while raising a family.


Book Review: Driving the Saudis: by JAYNE AMELIA LARSON

Title: Driving the Saudis
Author: Jayne Amelia Larson
Category: Autobiography/Memoir
Pub. Date: 10/16/2012
Publisher: Free Press
Format: Paperback
Pages: 224
ISBN#: 1451640013

Synopsis:  
Actress, producer, and occasional chauffeur Jayne Amelia Larson offers a funny and insightful memoir about the time she spent as a driver for members of the Saudi royal family visiting Beverly Hills, detailing her invitation inside one of the world’s most closely guarded monarchies.

When the Saudi royal family vacationed in Los Angeles, they hired Jayne Amelia Larson, an actress struggling to make ends meet, to be their personal chauffeur. She’d heard stories of the Saudis’ outrageously generous gratuities and figured that several weeks at their beck and call might be worth her time. But when the family arrived via their private jet with an entourage of forty and millions of dollars in cash, Jayne Amelia realized she might be getting into more than she bargained for.

For weeks, Larson observed the family’s opulent lifestyle: they occupied four luxury hotels, enjoyed day in and day out shopping binges, and servants catered 24/7 to Princess Zaahira and her entourage. From the thirteen-year-old princess who slapped down $100 dollar bills at a supermarket and didn’t bother to wait for her change to the nanny who ran away in the airport the moment she was handed her passport, the stories Larson shares are bizarre, poignant, and illustrative of the profound contradictions and complications that only such massive wealth can create.

Driving the Saudis, based on the author’s successful one-woman stage show, is a vivid portrait of the Saudi royals as few ever get to see them. As funny as it is insightful, this is a true-to-life fable for our times. But at its heart, it’s a story about the corruption that infinite wealth creates, and about what we all do for money.  

Wednesday, November 28, 2012

Book Review: ANOTHER SECOND CHANCE by TROY LEWIS

Title: ANOTHER SECOND CHANCE
Author: Troy Lewis
Category: True Story/Christian
Pub. Date:12/06/2011
Publisher: Writing Career Coach Press
Format: Paperback
Pages: 220
ISBN#: 0983360774
Synopsis:   
Another Second Chance
…God’s Story
How a stranger's kidney saved my life
...and my brothers too!
An inspiring true story that will renew your belief in miracles!
"Whoever says miracles don't happen hasn't met the Lewis brothers.." -Jessica Harthorn, WWMT News Channel 3 West Michigan
“Troy Lewis hit a grand slam with “Another Second Chance…God’s Story” His honest telling of our miracle working God that touched him will be a delight to all!
-Lori Young, Anchored to the Rock Owner, Fremont, OH
“As I lay on deaths door step, Hope showed up in a miraculous way” –Troy Lewis
Troy played Jesus Christ in a local passion drama for 9 years, successfully coached girls fastpitch softball for 7 years. He is married to a lovely lady and a father of 2 beautiful girls, and resides in Fremont, OH.
But in January of 2010, after being blindsided with the news of kidney failure, he would come to the realization that life as he knew it was over…
Troy would begin a race against time and odds that are nothing short of amazing! He would face struggles at every turn, detours that didn’t make sense, and roadblocks that tested his faith. Just when things looked absolutely hopeless, Hope showed up in a miraculous way!
He thought it was a brother’s love that would save him, but it was a Father’s love that saved them both. A thousand miles away a stranger felt a call to courageously give with nothing expected in return, not knowing that he had the rarest of kidneys.
Troy couldn’t have imagined what God had in store for all who were part of this story and Hollywood couldn’t have scripted it. He humbly encourages everyone reading this book that no matter what we are facing in life; we can all experience the revelation of what God has in store for our lives.
This book will speak to anyone facing challenges larger than themselves, whether it’s job loss, financial ruin, family pain, or your own battle with illness. Miracles still happen and there is always “Another Second Chance”.

Book Review: Willow Pond by Carol Tibaldi

Title: WILLOW POND
Author: Carol Tibaldi
Category: Historical History
Pub. Date: 12/12/2012
Publisher: Self Published
Format: E-Book
Pages: 318
ISBN#:  9781468111729


Synopsis:  
The Roaring Twenties crumble into the Great Depression, but Virginia Kingsley, New York's toughest and most successful speakeasy owner, is doing just fine. Now that the world is falling apart, bootlegging is a flourishing business, and she's queen of that castle.

Then her infant nephew is kidnapped. Her niece, Laura, and Laura's philandering movie star husband, are devastated. The police have few leads, and speculation and rumors abound in the media circus that follows the celebrity abduction.

Only one reporter, Erich Muller, seems to care enough about the child's welfare and the parents' feelings to report the case responsibly. Over the course of the investigation, Erich Muller and Laura fall in love, but their relationship is doomed to failure since he suspects her beloved aunt Virginia is behind the kidnapping. Laura, jaded when it comes to men, sides with Virginia.

But Virginia has figured out the truth, and she can't tell anyone for fear of losing her niece's affections and having the police ransack her life. So she pursues her own investigation, shaking down, threatening, and killing one petty crook after another during her search.

Little Todd's absence shapes everyone's lives. When he is finally found, the discovery will bring disaster for some and revelation for others.

Book Review: THE SELF HEALTH REVOLUTION by J. Michael Zenn

Title: THE SELF HEALTH REVOLUTION
Author: J. Michael Zenn
Pub. Date: 11/27/2012
Publisher: Free Press
Format: E-Book
Pages: 192
ISBN#: 1476704007

Synopsis:  
Newly revised and updated, this electrifying guide has been praised by doctors, health experts, and readers who have taken their own self-health challenge. Describing himself as “an ordinary guy who discovered an extraordinary secret,” which he now feels compelled to share with everyone, J. Michael Zenn completely changed his own life when he began a quest to get healthy. With some simple but profound improvements to his diet and everyday habits, Zenn lost fifty pounds and six inches off his waist and—within just a few months—felt and looked younger than he had in two decades. So he quit his job and spent a year reading 200 books and interviewing experts in order to write about the powerful message he calls “the self-health revolution.” In this inspiring book, Zenn reveals:

• The hidden ingredient in our food that makes us fat

• The Tsunami of Diabesity (obesity + diabetes) that threatens our health, our health-care system, and our economy

• Three simple things you can do to get fit and stay thin

• A forgotten remedy that can get rid of your aches and pains

• One thing you can do now to help extend your life

• The little-known reason most people feel tired and run down

• How unhappiness and stress can take years off your life

• The Number 3 killer that nobody wants to talk about

• A cure that your doctor may not know about or can’t tell you

Now you can join the revolution of self-health throughout America. Take the 10-day challenge. You’ll lose weight, keep it off, feel better, and have more energy than you thought possible.


Book Review: SOMETHING BLUE by DIANNE CHRISTNER

Title: SOMETHING BLUE
Author: DIANNE CHRISTNER
Category: Christian Fiction
Pub. Date: 08/01/2012
Publisher: Barbour Books
Format: Paperback
Pages: 320
ISBN#: 1616262338
Series: Plain City Bridesmaids

Synopsis:  
Life is going well for Megan. She’s always wanted to marry a missionary and now she’s working with Chance, a charming and daring missionary pilot. Then Micah Zimmerman moves into her parent’s home as a pastoral candidate for their Conservative Mennonite church—and he doesn’t look anything like the gawky young man who had a crush on her in college. As Megan struggles with her own personal identity and faith, she begins to see the true difference between Chance and Micah. Will her insight come too late, or is there still time to find the hero of her dreams?

Tuesday, November 27, 2012

Book Review: dog-ma the zen of slobber by Barbara Boswell Brunner

Title: dog-ma the zen of slobber
Author: Barbara Boswell Brunner
Pub. Date: August 1, 2012
Publisher: CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform
Format: E-Book
Pages: 326
ISBN#: 9781478106586

Synopsis:
Barbara's vivid and dramatic stories, told with a wicked sense of humor, will make you laugh out loud. She definitely gets what living with rescued dogs (nine of them!) is all about.
When Barbara meets her future husband, Ray, it is love-and dog-at first sight. Over the course of thirty-two years, seventeen relocations and nine dogs, their mutual love of dogs guides them on their unconventional path. The love that Barbara and Ray get in return is literally lifesaving, with one dog attacking a lethal intruder and another discovering Barbara’s cancer. Her own survival story underscores the story of how her dogs become survivors themselves.
Each new dog adds its own dynamic to the family, sometimes upending it. From Turbo (whose Spock-like ears may have provided super powers), Barbara learns about the will to live; Lexington demonstrates incredible patience and an inexplicable love of golf; Madison teaches that laughter is truly the best medicine and that the whole “nine lives thing” is not reserved just for cats; Morgan should be sainted for tolerating Izzy, who is as cute as she is bad.
Barbara is certain that somewhere in doggie heaven there is a poster that says “If you are sick, injured or in need of really expensive medical care, FIND THESE HUMANS!”

Blog Tour: Dog-Ma: The Zen of Slobber Guest Post






Today I have a great tour to share with you all.  The author of Dog-Ma: The Zen of Slobber, has sent me a great guest post on Covers.  I hope you enjoy! Later today I will be posting my review of this book as well, so make sure you stick around to check out what I think of this book. 




Getting The Elusive Book Cover Blurb

When I got to the point in the life of my book  that I was starting to think about a cover I knew I needed blurbs to help make the sale. Blurbs provide enticement for the casual book browser to pick up the book and look at it more closely. Blurbs from celebrities are very helpful. When a prospective reader sees a name they recognize, they may think “I like this person, so I will probably like the book they are endorsing”. It can give the reader a sense of “celebrity six degrees of separation”.

I have a few minor celebrity friends and they were first on my hit lit for blurbs; a film producer, a marketing genius and a celebrity chef. All were dog lovers and I thought each would be a shoe in for a blurb.  How much time could it take, I thought? Read a couple of chapters, write something appropriately insightful and sign it. Simple?

TEASER TUESDAY

Teaser Tuesdays is a weekly bookish meme, hosted by MizB of Should Be Reading. Anyone can play along! Just do the following:
  • Grab your current read
  • Open to a random page
  • Share two (2) “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page
  • BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS! (make sure that what you share doesn’t give too much away! You don’t want to ruin the book for others!)
  • Share the title & author, too, so that other TT participants can add the book to their TBR Lists if they like your teas.      

Sunday, November 25, 2012

A Christmas Challenge!!!


I am sending out this Christmas Challenge to invite all my readers to see who can read the most Christmas Books between now and December the 25th, at midnight. I have placed a list of my Christmas books that I will be trying to read myself. They are under "Christmas list" 

So if you are interested in participating in this Challenge please leave a comment here with you name and what book or books you will be starting with.  And at lest once a week please let us know where you are at. I will do a post at least every other day if not daily on here. 


Sundays with Rev. Kim


Welcome to my feature. It's my prayer that you will be encouraged and blessed by following and becoming involved in this journey to love the Lord and His word.

I invite you to visit often. The Welcome mat is always here, as my ideas, insights from Gods word is blogged as often as I can.  Rev. Kim 
 Sunday's with Rev. Kim is a feature that I created here on Breath of Life.





Saturday, November 24, 2012

A Christmas Challenge!!!


 
I am sending out this Christmas Challenge to invite all my readers to see who can read the most Christmas Books between now and December the 25th, at midnight. I have placed a list of my Christmas books that I will be trying to read myself. They are under "Christmas list" 

So if you are interested in participating in this Challenge please leave a comment here with you name and what book or books you will be starting with.  And at lest once a week please let us know where you are at. I will do a post at least every other day if not daily on here. 


Okay, here I go on my first set of "Christmas Books" that I am starting with.


A Simple Amish Christmas by Vannetta Chapman
Annie Weaver always planned to return home, but the 20-year old RN has lived in Philadelphia for three years now. As her time of rumschpringe is about to come to an abrupt end, bringing for Annie an overwhelming sense of loneliness. She returns home and finds herself face-to-face with a budding romance with an Amish farmer and important choices to make.
 _______________________________

  The Christmas Quilt by Patricia Davids
Years ago, Rebecca Beachy kept her reasons for rejecting Gideon Troyer's marriage proposal a secret. Then Gideon left their Amish community. Now, Rebecca crafts quilts to raise money to cure her blindness. She's also busy guarding her heart against love. Until Gideon returns, at risk of being shunned, to make the winning bid on one of her exquisite quilts. Will the quilt—a patchwork promise of rediscovered love—bring Gideon and Rebecca back together again?
_________________________________

 A Wallflower Christmas by LISA KLEYPAS
The Wallflowers are four young ladies in London who banded together in their wild and wickedly wonderful searches for true love. Now happily married, they join together once again to help one of the world’s most notorious rogues realize that happiness might be right under the mistletoe.…

It’s Christmastime in London and Rafe Bowman has arrived from America for his arranged meeting with Natalie Blandford, the very proper and beautiful daughter of Lady and Lord Blandford. His chiseled good looks and imposing physique are sure to impress the lady in waiting and, if it weren’t for his shocking American ways and wild reputation, her hand would already be guaranteed. Before the courtship can begin, Rafe realizes he must learn the rules of London society. But when four former Wallflowers try their hand at matchmaking, no one knows what will happen. And winning a bride turns out to be more complicated than Rafe Bowman anticipated, especially for a man accustomed to getting anything he wants. However, Christmas works in the most unexpected ways, changing a cynic to a romantic and inspiring passion in the most timid of hearts. 

A Wallflower Christmas takes a trip to Victorian London, under the mistletoe, and on a journey of the heart. With her trademark charm, sensuality, and unforgettable characters, there’s no one like Lisa Kleypas to make you believe in the magic of Christmas.
_______________________
So come on and join in on the fun!!  
Also if you have your own blog, let's add it here and connect together so everyone can check out and encourage either other as well. Then on December the 26th, we will tally up the reads and see who has read the most "Christmas Books"! And "YES" they have to be books pertaining to Christmas some how. 




Tuesday, November 6, 2012

TUESER TUESDAY

Teaser Tuesdays is a weekly bookish meme, hosted by MizB of Should Be Reading. Anyone can play along! Just do the following:
  • Grab your current read
  • Open to a random page
  • Share two (2) “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page
  • BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS! (make sure that what you share doesn’t give too much away! You don’t want to ruin the book for others!)
  • Share the title & author, too, so that other TT participants can add the book to their TBR Lists if they like your teas.                           

Monday, November 5, 2012

It's Monday! What Are You Reading?

Guess what...Its Monday! What are you reading this week? This is a weekly event to list the books completed last week, the books currently being reading, and the books to be finish this week. It is hosted by  Book Journey. 

I have been traveling the past couple of weeks so not  a lot has changed. Still working on these three books and hope to have them done soon. As well as some reviews. Thanks for stopping by. 


What I Read Last Week:  
Sunrise on the Battery by Beth Webb Hart
Something Blue by Dianne Christner


Friday, November 2, 2012

Book Review: FORGED by Becky Banks

Title: FORGED
Author: Becky Banks
Category: Adult/Romance
Pub. Date: 10/26/2012
Publisher: Ha"iku Press
Format: Paperback
Pages: 266
ISBN#: 9780988161402

Synopsis:  First loves, dark pasts, and fast cars collide in this high-octane adventure.
Eva Lynn Rodgers, the daughter of a mechanic, grew up with a need for speed. So did her best friend, and later boyfriend, Nathaniel Vellanova. But when Eva left the drizzling rain of Portland, Oregon, for a high-powered career in New York, she left both Nathaniel and her past behind.
Now Eva's back, and her BMW—like her life in general—could use a little love. Her new mechanic is the right man for the job, but he's got some scores to settle with the girl who peeled out for the East Coast when he needed her most.
It's time for Eva and Nathaniel to confront their demons. Passionate and dangerous sparks ignite as Nathaniel's brutal youth rises up and pulls Eva Lynn back to him—forging a bond that, this time, won't be denied.

Wednesday, October 31, 2012

Book Review: Parasouls by Michele Richard

Title:  Parasouls
Author: Michele Richard
Category: Romance/Fiction
Pub. Date: 04/03/2012
Publisher: Renaissance Romance Pub.
Format: E-Book
Pages: 263
ISBN#: 1475064152

Synopsis:  Born amongst the humans, yet not being one, the parasouls fight to remain hidden. Using the ancient tunnels and abandoned, buried basements as their homes parasouls live in the underbelly of society in their own world, they've created a world where they don’t need to pretend they’re normal. Their gifts remind them that they’re not. When you can produce electric blue flames from your fingertips, there’s no way to deny it. Damian McNamara built and rules the world they thrive in.
Angelique is the leader of a special team whose job it is to keep the “normals” from knowing of the parasouls’ existence. Her gift is also a curse, leaving her physically unable to touch another living soul without inflicting indescribable pain upon them.
The Parasoul Acquisition Control Taskforce hunts them for what they are.
Shane is the headhunter for the taskforce. Like Angelique, he’s never been able to touch anyone due to his gift of red and orange flames that singes the flesh of others.
The moment Shane and Angelique meet, the heavens open and connect their souls forever. So what happens when Shane finds himself trapped between the only thing he’s ever desired and his job? He has no choice but to deliver the one person who owns his soul over to his bosses, the government’s taskforce? Which side is the good, the bad, and the dictators?
They’re both in for a rude awakening.
Can love conquer all when you’re supposed to hate the one soul you cannot live without? How long can they fight the urge to give in to their connection? Can two parasouls on opposite sides find common ground and forge a future?

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...