Monday, December 30, 2013

It's Monday! What Are You Reading?

Guess what...Its Monday! What are you reading this week? This is a weekly event to list the books completed last week, the books currently being reading, and the books to be finish this week. It is hosted by  Book Journey. 

I have been traveling the past couple of weeks so not  a lot has changed. Still working on these three books and hope to have them done soon. As well as some reviews. Thanks for stopping by. 


What I Read Last Week:  

A Ruby Christmas by Jerusha Agen, Dianne E. Butts, Jennifer Fromke, Marji Laine, Fay Lamb, J.A.Marx, Ruth O'Neil, Phee Paradise, and Debbie Roome

Amish Christmas on Goose Pond by Samantha Jillian Bayarr 

Sunday, December 29, 2013

The Scent of Fear blog tour

the scent of fear by susan j. reinhardt
First came The Moses Conspiracy, now comes..... The Scent of Fear.
The Zimmermans enjoy the tenuous peace in the wake of their hair-raising year battling the New Patriots. Unexpected visitors once again throw them into turmoil.
Jim Kenneman, Director of National Security, masterminded the plan to break up a hate group ravaging the Christian community. Now, his enemies are out to eliminate him. Should he make a run for it or stick by his tried-and-true negotiating skills?
Monty Addison, a topnotch operative, carried out his assignment in Bird-in-Hand. A plot to destroy his boss sends him on a mission. Without agency sanction, it may cost him everything - his career, his family, and maybe his life.
Dr. Abby Weaver strives to save infants and toddlers in Holmes County, Ohio. When she meets two strangers, she can't get the tall, handsome one out of her mind. Will their paths intersect again or will dangerous times keep them apart?


The Scent of Fear is available at:
~~~Amazon~~~

Monday, December 16, 2013

It's Monday! What Are You Reading?

Guess what...Its Monday! What are you reading this week? This is a weekly event to list the books completed last week, the books currently being reading, and the books to be finish this week. It is hosted by  Book Journey. 

I have been traveling the past couple of weeks so not  a lot has changed. Still working on these three books and hope to have them done soon. As well as some reviews. Thanks for stopping by. 


What I Read Last Week:   
THE LIGHTNING THIEF by RICK RIORDAN
Unexpected Christmas Hero by Kathi Macias


Tuesday, December 10, 2013

TEASER TUESDAY


Teaser Tuesdays is a weekly bookish meme, hosted by MizB of Should Be Reading. Anyone can play along! Just do the following:
  • Grab your current read
  • Open to a random page
  • Share two (2) “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page
  • BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS! (make sure that what you share doesn’t give too much away! You don’t want to ruin the book for others!)
Share the title & author, too, so that other TT participants can add the book to their TBR Lists if they like your teas.   

Monday, December 9, 2013

It's Monday! What Are You Reading?

Guess what...Its Monday! What are you reading this week? This is a weekly event to list the books completed last week, the books currently being reading, and the books to be finish this week. It is hosted by  Book Journey. 

I have been traveling the past couple of weeks so not  a lot has changed. Still working on these three books and hope to have them done soon. As well as some reviews. Thanks for stopping by. 


What I Read Last Week:   
The Atria Holiday Cooking Collection: 40 Delicious Recipes
Homemade Christmas Gifts: 14 gift ideas & DIY Home Decor
Rebecca's Christmas Gift by Emma Miller
A Ragdoll Christmas & other short stories by B.J.ROBINSON

Outlaw, Preacher, Miracle, Shoot First, Ask Questions Later!

Title: A Lady Like SARAH
Author: Margaret Brownley
Category: Christian, Fiction, Romance
Pub. Date: 12/01/2009
Publisher: Thomas Nelson Pub.
Format: Paperback
Pages: 313
ISBN#: 1595548092
Series: A Rocky Creek Romance #1

Synopsis:  
She's an outlaw.
He's a preacher.
Both are in need of a miracle.
Sarah Prescott has never known a respectable life. Just a hardscrabble childhood and brothers who taught her to shoot first and ask questions later.
Justin Wells left Boston in disgrace, heading out alone on the dusty trail to Texas. But when the once-respected clergyman encounters a feisty redhead in handcuffs with a dying U.S. Marshal at her side, their journey takes a dramatic turn.
His high-society expectations and Sarah's outlaw habits clash from the start. With a price on her head and towing an orphaned baby rescued from the brink of starvation, Justin and Sarah make the difficult journey toward Rocky Creek. There, justice will be meted out. Perhaps--they hope--with a healthy portion of grace.
Filled with mishaps, laughs, and adventure, Margaret Brownley's inspiring romance will keep readers cheering for Sarah as she struggles to become a true lady.
 
 

Wednesday, December 4, 2013

What Big Eyes, Better To See You For Who You Realy Are!

Title: Be-U-Tee-Full! (Cali and the BF Crew)
Author: Journi Roe
Illustrator: Pedro Perez
Pub. Date: 10-25-2013
Format: Kindle
Pages: 34
ISBN#: B0067XHMIE

Synopsis:  
One of Cali's bestie friends, Lyvia, is feeling pretty icky. Lyvia had to get glasses, and she is sure the glasses make her look yucky. Lyvia does not even want to wear them, but Cali has a better idea, and a great lesson to teach her bestie: you are be-u-tee-full for simply being you.
  


Tuesday, December 3, 2013

Guest Post by Author Violet Patterson



So today I have a great guest post from author Violet Patterson and I will be reviewing her book shortly as well.  Let's see what a day in her life is like. 


Day in the Life of author Violet Patterson




No day is the same for me.  Truly, I try to have a routine because I know it is best for my kids but it is because of them that I never really have one.  As a parent I never know what is going to happen and I cherish the days when no fires need to be extinguished from sunrise to sunset.  During the week the kids have school and I have my day job at a Visitors and Convention Bureau so there is something static about that.  My kids are old enough to have activities after school and homework, old enough to require significant prompting to complete their chores and old enough to have a lot of silly fun.  

Thursday, November 14, 2013

Are They Dead... or Are they Alive... What are THEY???

Title: Jade ONCE UPON A ZOMBIE APOCALYPSE
Author: Jennifer Malone Wright
Category: Horror/Zombies
Pub. Date: 03/12/2013
Publisher: Amazon Digital Services, Inc.
Format: E-Book
Pages: 50
ISBN#: B00BSLD8LI

Synopsis:  
***Mature audience ONLY. This series includes graphic language and violence.***
****This book is NOT intended for a young adult audience****
Chemical Warfare has turned most of the world’s population into flesh eating Zombies. These are the accounts of two survivors.
Kylee and Jade are on their way from one author convention to another. After saying goodbye to all their friends, they never dreamed the plane would land with them fighting for their lives.
Jade Warwick has been preparing for the end of the world for years, but she never thought the world would end with zombies. The only thing salvaging her almost lost sanity is the fact that she is with her best friend, Kylee.
With their first mission being to find their families, will the girls manage to save their families while trying to save each other?
***Once Upon A Zombie Apocalypse or (OUAZA) as the fans call it, is a short story episodic saga written by K.B. Miller and Jennifer Malone Wright. The first episode is from both Jade and Kylee's perspective and is two separate novella's. The same story, but from two different characters. It is done this way with the first episode only, so that you can meet our girls and really get to know and love them like we do.Each following episode is written solely by one of the authors and available through their links.
Novella 1. KB. Miller and Jennifer Malone Wright
Novella 2. Jennifer Malone Wright
Novella 3. K.B. Miller
Novella 4. Jennifer Malone Wright
Novella 5. K.B Miller
and so on...
 
 

Wednesday, November 13, 2013

Have You Every Picked Wildflowers?

Title: Wildflowers from WINTER
Author: KATIE GANSHERT
Category: Christian Fiction
Pub. Date: 05/08/2012
Publisher: Waterbrook Press
Format: Paperback
Pages: 320
ISBN#: 0307730387  


Synopsis:  
Like the winter, grief has a season. Life returns with the spring.
 
A young architect at a prestigious Chicago firm, Bethany Quinn has built the life she dreamed of during her teen years in a trailer park.  An unexpected interruption from her estranged mother reveals that tragedy has struck in her hometown and a reluctant Bethany is called back to rural Iowa.
Determined to pay her respects to her past while avoiding any emotional entanglements, she vows not to stay long. But the unexpected inheritance of five hundred acres of farmland and a startling turn of events in Chicago forces Bethany to come up with a new plan.
Handsome farmhand Evan Price has taken care of the Quinn farm for years.  When Bethany is left the land, Evan must fight her decisions to realize his dreams. But even as he disagrees with Bethany’s vision, Evan feels drawn to her and the pain she keeps so carefully locked away.
For Bethany, making peace with her past and the God of her childhood doesn’t seem like the path to freedom. Is letting go the only way to new life, love and a peace that she’s not even sure exists.  


Tuesday, November 12, 2013

TEASER TUESDAY!


Teaser Tuesdays is a weekly bookish meme, hosted by MizB of Should Be Reading. Anyone can play along! Just do the following:
  • Grab your current read
  • Open to a random page
  • Share two (2) “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page
  • BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS! (make sure that what you share doesn’t give too much away! You don’t want to ruin the book for others!)
Share the title & author, too, so that other TT participants can add the book to their TBR Lists if they like your teas.   


Tuesday, October 29, 2013

Love & The Goddess Blog Tour: Author Interview



So today I have a great post for you all.  The author of Love & The Goddess is here to share an author interview with you.  I reviewed this wonderful book in September of this year.  To see my review CLICK HERE.



     Where did the idea for your new  book  come from?
My time working as a fashion stylist and p.r. consultant.

    Are any of the characters inspired by someone in real life?
All my characters are composites of several people I’ve met. The more exaggerated traits in an individual make for interesting characteristics.

     Do you listen to music while you write, or do you prefer quiet?
Yes I sometimes listen to music. It depends on the mood and can vary from Annie Lennox to  Loreena McKennit or something classical. And sometimes I prefer quiet.

     If you could jump in to any book and live there, which book would you choose?
I like the idea of time travel and going between alternate universes so I’d choose The Time traveler’s Wife or Philip Pullman’s His Dark Materials.

    What was last book you bought?
The Perfume collector by Kathleen Tessaro

Why did you choose to write about Goddesses?
I was obsessed by the Greek myth of the triple goddess and they say obsession is a good thing for a writer as it inspires passion. Also I love Carl Jung’s  work on identification with archetypes. The goddesses in the triple myth are powerful archetypes, present in all women. It was fun to play with an intellectual concept and write an easy to read, humorous story around it.


Tuesday, October 22, 2013

Blog Tour: Last Call by Michele G. Miller Guest Post






 So today I have a great blog tour for you, Last Call by Michele G. Miller.  Enjoy this guest post, blurb and author information. 

 


The Blurb:


“You are cordially invited…” 

Four words that spark the fear of God into any gently bred, single southern woman. 

When Savannah Guthry receives an invitation to her cousin’s wedding back home in Charleston, South Carolina, her first thoughts aren’t of flowers and dresses. Instead, she's reminded of the groom: her first love and the reason she ended up at a college 500 miles away from home. 

Determined to show up and dazzle not only her ex but her spoiled cousin too, Savannah allows her friends to set her up on a series of dates looking for Mr. Right. 

Wrapped up in her memories of the past and the drama of her new romances, Savannah doesn’t see the dangerous threat to her life coming… 

She might not land her Prince Charming before her Last Call.

**This book is a New Adult Romantic Suspense. It is intended for mature (17+) audiences due to sexual situations and mild language


TEASER TUESDAY


Teaser Tuesdays is a weekly bookish meme, hosted by MizB of Should Be Reading. Anyone can play along! Just do the following:
  • Grab your current read
  • Open to a random page
  • Share two (2) “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page
  • BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS! (make sure that what you share doesn’t give too much away! You don’t want to ruin the book for others!)
Share the title & author, too, so that other TT participants can add the book to their TBR Lists if they like your teas.   


Wednesday, October 16, 2013

Come Along for Some POWERFUL ADVICE FROM THE PROS!

Title: WRITING FANTASY HEROES
Edited by Jason M. Waltz
Category: Fantasy
Pub. Date: 02/28/2013
Publisher: Rogue Blades Entertainment
Format: Kindle
Pages: 214
ISBN#: 0982053681

Synopsis:   
Fantasy heroes endure. They are embedded in our cultural fabric, dwarfing other literary figures and the mere men and women of history. Achilles and Odysseus, Gilgamesh and Beowulf. King Arthur and Robin Hood, Macbeth and Sherlock Holmes, Conan and Luke Skywalker. They dominate our legends, and tower over popular culture.

The stories we tell each other begin and end with fantasy heroes, and the 21st Century is as thoroughly captivated with them as ever. From Batman to Gandalf, Harry Potter to Tyrion Lannister, the heroes of fantasy speak to—and for—whole generations.

But what makes a fantasy hero? How do the best writers create them, and bring them to life on the page? In WRITING FANTASY HEROES some of the most successful fantasy writers of our time--Steven Erikson, C.L. Werner, Brandon Sanderson, Janet & Chris Morris, Cecelia Holland, Alex Bledsoe, Jennifer Brozek, Ian C. Esslemont, Orson Scott Card, Ari Marmell, Cat Rambo, Howard Andrew Jones, Paul Kearney and Glen Cook--pull back the curtain to reveal the secrets of creating heroes that live and breathe, and steal readers' hearts.

Whether you're an aspiring writer or simply a reader who loves great fantasy and strong characters, this book is for you.  

Can you say "Egytian Paranormal"?

Title: New Beginnings
Author: Melissa Crowe
Category: Paranormal
Pub. Date: 05/21/2013 
Format: Kindle
Pages: 143
ISBN#: 9781301652761
Series: Ivory Series #2

Synopsis:    
Vaughan and Nicola have survived a vampire turf war, now they face a much greater threat.
“So, when you say you need to go to Egypt and find The Creator. What does that mean exactly?”
After 66 years as a blood drinker, Vaughan makes moves to regain the mortality that was stolen from him.
“It is time for you to show your loyalty to me. I have a task I wish for you to undertake in exchange for what you request.”
He and the seductress Cleopatra embark on a doomed mission to find Clara and take her to Egypt for punishment.
When you make a deal with the devil, there’s sure to be consequences.  

Monday, October 14, 2013

TEASER TUESDAY


Teaser Tuesdays is a weekly bookish meme, hosted by MizB of Should Be Reading. Anyone can play along! Just do the following:
  • Grab your current read
  • Open to a random page
  • Share two (2) “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page
  • BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS! (make sure that what you share doesn’t give too much away! You don’t want to ruin the book for others!)
Share the title & author, too, so that other TT participants can add the book to their TBR Lists if they like your teas.   

Sunday, October 13, 2013

"Haunted by the Past" Book Launch


Oh my, I was just given the chance to read and review this awesome sounding book that is just become available. So I am sending this out to you all today to spread the word about a book that just the title alone has intrigue me. I mean, wow, don't we all have something in our past that sometimes creeps up and we just relive it all again. I am very curious as to how this young character, Nadia deals with this issue. 

Friday, September 27, 2013

Guest Post: Finding Our Way, Figuring it Out by Deb DeArmond




Hello to everyone today. I have the opportunity today to bring to you all a wonderful Guest Post from Deb DeArmond on the topic pertaining to National Daughter-n-Law Day. Did not realize that it was actually yesterday, but I thought it would still be nice to post today. Don't know about you all but I have some sweet gals that are part of my family. And I love them all. 

So here we go with our sweet guest post, enjoy and leave some love for Deb. 
 
Finding Our Way, Figuring it Out
 By Deb DeArmond

September 26 is National Daughter-in-Law Day. I’m blessed with three wonderful DILs. I’ve also authored a book on relationships between Daughters-in-Law and Mothers-in-Law. Related By Chance, Family By Choice, releasing November 1. This article is written as a reminder to mother-in-laws to honor those sometimes considered “the other woman.”

“You know what I love about you?” asked my daughter-in-law Sarah as we sat in our favorite coffeehouse. “You don’t have an opinion about everything we do.”

Wednesday, September 25, 2013

An Amazing YA First Book In A Fantasy Series.

Title: THE SIX
Author: K.B. Hoyle
Category: YA/Fantasy
Pub. Date: 04/04/2012
Publisher: The Writers Coffee Shop
Format: Kindle
Pages: 230
ISBN#: 1612130526
Series: The Gateway Chronicles #1

Synopsis:   
Darcy Pennington hates her life. She is an insufferably average teenager with no real friends, crushing social anxiety, and an indescribable sense of being out of place in the world around her. when Darcy is forced to attend Cedar Cove Family Camp for an entire week, she once again finds herself on the outside of an already existent social circle of friends. It is only when she unwittingly stumbles upon a gateway to a new world that Darcy begins to realize that there might be a higher purpose for her life. She suddenly finds herself the leader of the small group of teens in the world called Alitheia, and in the end, their lives, and hte lives of countless others, will hinge on the decisions she makes. Will Darcy have what it takes to fulfill her mysterious purpose? Or will she fall prey to a deadly foe?  

Tuesday, September 24, 2013

Guest Post: Why I Wrote The Word By Steps by Dave Gutknecht


Today I would like to welcome author Dave Gutknecht. We asked him to tell us Why he wrote his book The Word By Steps.



So please welcome him to Breath of life and lets see what his answer is.

 

Monday, September 23, 2013

Three in One Awesome Mysteries Set!

Title: The Camilla Randall Mysteries Set
Author: Anne R. Allen
Category: Mysteries
Pub. Date: 03/20/2012
Publisher: Mark Williams International Digital Pub.
Format: Kindle
Pages: 827
ISBN#: B007N6GJNQ

Synopsis:  
The Camilla Randall Mysteries…
If this is your first time with author Anne R. Allen then there can be no better way to hit the ground running than with this delightful Camilla box-set.
The Best Revenge is actually a prequel to the highly acclaimed Ghostwriters In The Sky, and takes us back to Camilla Randall’s early years, when she first met Plantagenet Smith.
Ghostwriters In The Sky fasts forward to a more mature Camilla Randall, hoping to have an easy ride at a writers’ conference in California. Needless to say fate has other ideas.
In Sherwood Ltd. Anne R. Allen conveys Camilla to the merry England of Robin Hood legend, where of course Camilla once again ends up in the most improbable, but always believable, circumstances.
Together, these three novels make up the Camilla Randall Mysteries. So far. But Anne will be bringing us more Camilla in the future, fear not.
 
 

Saturday, September 21, 2013

Join the Club of People that have Read This Amazing Read

Title: Everlast
Author: ANDRIA BUCHANAN
Category: Fantasy/Fairy Tale
Pub. Date: 08/27/2013
Publisher: Entangled Teen
Format: Kindle
Pages: 320
ISBN#:B00BQMLIPM
Series: The Chronicles of Nerissette #1

Synopsis:  
Allie Munroe has only ever wanted to belong, maybe even be well liked. But even though she’s nice and smart and has a couple of friends, she’s still pretty much the invisible girl at school. So when the chance to work with her friends and some of the popular kids on an English project comes up, Allie jumps at the chance to be noticed.

And her plan would have worked out just fine…if they hadn’t been sucked into a magical realm through a dusty old book of fairy tales in the middle of the library.

Now, Allie and her classmates are stuck in Nerissette, a world where karma rules and your social status is determined by what you deserve. Which makes a misfit like Allie the Crown Princess, and her archrival the scullery maid. And the only way out is for Allie to rally and lead the people of Nerissette against the evil forces that threaten their very existence.
 
  

Saturday, September 14, 2013

Book Review: IN BETWEEN SEASONS by CASSANDRA GIOVANNI

Title: IN BETWEEN SEASONS
Author: Cassandra Giovanni
Category: YA, Romance, Post-Apocalyptic
Pub. Date: 05/05/2012
Publisher: Self pub
Format: e-book
Pages: 290
ISBN#: 1230000037859

Synopsis:  
At eighteen there is one thing Kate Ericson is certain of—the world is at war and has been since she was two years old. That was when her father pulled her family and a group of close friends to a God forsaken place in the middle of nowhere. For Kate there is no escape from the sea of lies she is drowning in until her world collides with Hunter Marks—the son of her father's biggest opponent. An opponent that Kate didn't even know existed. What Hunter kidnaps Kate for, and what her family will try to kill her to keep secret, is a knowledge that she doesn't have. Now Kate’s innocence seems to becoming undone at the seams of reality. Hunter then finds himself fighting the hopelessness that is creeping into the edges of her heart as she learns more about the corruption that has devoured their lives. As Hunter and Kate forge a strong and unique relationship it becomes clear that their love is something that the bureaucracy never expected, and that Hunter's father will do whatever he can to destroy it. Hunter believes he must sacrifice love in order to teach Kate that the world's deadliest weapon is her. Hunter and Kate will have to find the strength to rise above a deception that is so great, even the ones who created it don't realize its depth.

In Between Seasons is a new kind of post-apocalyptic novel, one that focuses on the characters and uses the lack of understanding of a corrupt world as the backdrop to shape them into who they are as people.
 

Book Review: Twice Loved by Wanda E. Brunstetter

Title: Twice Loved
Author: Wanda E. Brunstetter
Category: Holiday/Christmas
Pub. Date: 08/15/2013
Publisher: Barbour Book
Format: Kindle
Pages: 146
ISBN# 1624162673


Synopsis:  
Bestselling author Wanda E. Brunstetter brings you a touching story of a single mother widowed after World War II. Bev Winters’s new job is an answer to prayer and just in time for Christmas—until her boss’s kindness awakens an old longing. Will her pride allow love after loss? Also enjoy a collection of 1940s recipes and handcrafts along with stories and trivia about Christmas 1946.  

Book Review: ETERNAL DARK by ALEXANDDRA LANC

Title: ETERNAL DARK
Author: ALEXANDRA LANC
Category: Paranormal/Fantasy
Pub. Date: 06/12/2013
Publisher: Alexandra Lanc Publisher
Format: kindle
Pages: 150
ISBN#: B00DDx9P20
Series: Knight Blood 0.5

Synopsis:  
Zarrod Kingsbury has lived at least twelve human lifetimes, and has seen the world pass through the centuries. But how did he come to be the enigmatic vampire he is now, head of the Kingsbury line? The truth is about to be unveiled...
Journey into the past with Zarrod as he recounts, in his own words, the tale of how his life changed. Intrigue, heartbreak, and betrayal abound as the mystery unfolds, and what once was is swallowed forever in flames.
A prequel to Midnight, Eternal Dark uncovers the secrets behind one of the most intriguing vampires in existence.
 
 

Book Review: MIDNIGHT by ALEXANDRA LANC

Title: MIDNIGHT
Author: Alexandra Lanc
Category: Paranormal/Vampire
Pub. Date: 03/25/2013
Publisher: Alexandra Lanc Publisher
Format: Kindle
Pages: 224
ISBN#: B00C108JTC
Series: Knight Blood #1

Synopsis:  
Life has always seemed impossible for IxBryn Rowan, and it's about to get even more complicated.
IxBryn is a Knight Blood, an immortal human rendered by science to bring about harmony between the two races of Earth, the humans and the vampires -- at least, that was the plan. A terrible tragedy occurred, and IxBryn is now the only surviving Knight, hunted for the potency of her blood, which will render any Immortal nearly unstoppable for a time.
With nowhere left to turn, IxBryn makes her way to Variance, the most prestigious and important City on Earth, to stay with her cousin Bristol, the only person alive who truly understands her, and in turn stumbles upon a secret war breeding within the shadows -- a struggle in which she soon becomes the prize.
With danger at every turn, IxBryn may have to learn to rely on those who appear untrustworthy -- even the labeled sociopath Zarrod Kingsbury, an Ancient vampire, and one of the Elite, who has interests of his own.
The first novella in the Knight Blood series, a new Urban Fantasy with a splash of Dystopia, Midnight introduces readers to a parallel Earth, where vampires roam free, fate is never concrete, and where home can be found in the strangest of places.
Please note: This novella series contains violence and some suggestive material, and may not be suitable for all readers.  

On My Wishlist

On My Wishlist is a Meme created by Book Chick City.
  
On My Wishlist is a weekly meme that allows us to share the books we haven't bought yet but are waiting to be bought and devoured. If you are anything like me then your wishlist is getting longer by the day! If you would like to take part and have your own 'On My Wishlist' post then you can more info here. (This post was inspired by the fab In My Mailbox by  Kristi at The Story Siren


Friday, September 13, 2013

Book Review: Absolution by Jennifer Laurens

Title: Absolution
Author: Jennifer Laurens
Category: Paranormal/Fantasy
Pub. Date: 10/10/2011
Publisher: Grove Creek Publisher
Format: e-book
Pages: 220
ISBN#: B00466100G
Series: Heavenly #3

Synopsis:  
Zoe's secret is out. And the powers of Hell are ravenous to claim her soul. Her brother, Luke, knows her secret: that she sees both good and evil spirits. Her boyfriend knows. At least Matthias is her guardian angel again. But now Hell's most ruthless leader will stop at nothing to have her soul.
Albert, Matthias' father, is relentless in his hunger for Zoe. He wants to destroy Matthias and will use Zoe to do so.
The battle between Heaven and Hell tests everything Zoe has. As she witnesses everyone important in her life suffering, she's brought to the ultimate choice: will she sacrifice her soul to save the ones she loves? 

Book Review: PENITENCE by JENNIFER LAURENS

Title: PENITENCE
Author: JENNIFER LAURENS
Category: Paranormal/Fantasy
Pub. Date: 11/10/2010
Publisher: Grove Creek Publisher
Format: Kindle
Pages: 320
ISBN#: 1933963832
Series: Heavenly #2

Synopsis:  
Seeing good and evil spirits is a gift Zoe guards with her life.
Despite her guardian angel’s disappearance, Zoe forces herself to accept that she still has a purpose—but how does she carry the weight of her brother’s drug abuse, the hardship of living with an autistic sister, and a best friend who’s obsessed with a guy who only wants Zoe?
She’s never felt more alone.
When a mysterious spirit appears, Zoe thinks she has a new guardian angel. Instead, her brother’s addiction worsens, her parents are on the brink of separation, and her best friend tries to kill her. The spirit she thinks is her new guardian isn’t there to protect her: he’s out to destroy her family and seize Zoe’s soul. . . for Hell.
Will Matthias’ return mean that he is Zoe’s guardian angel again? Or is their love the reason the jaws of Hell now gape open?
 

Book Review: HEAVENLY by JENNIFER LAURENS

Title: Heavenly
Author: Jennifer Laurens
Category: Paranormal/Fantasy
Pub. Date: 08/15/2009
Publisher: Grove Creek Publisher
Format: Kindle
Pages: 294
ISBN#: B003WEAJ8E
Series: Heavenly #1


Synopsis:  
I met someone who changed everything. Matthias. My autistic sister's guardian angel. Honest. Inspiring. Funny. Hot. And immortal. That was the problem. What could I do? I did what any other girl would do-I fell in love with him. Zoë's sister darts in front of cars. Her brother's a pothead. Her parents are so overwhelmed; they don't see Zoë lost in her broken life. Zoë escapes the only way she knows how: partying. Matthias, a guardian sent from Heaven, watches over Zoë's autistic sister. After Zoë is convinced he's legit, angel and lost girl come together in a love that changes destiny. But Heaven on Earth can't last forever.

Book Review: Wife 22 by Melanie Gideon

Title: Wife 22
Author: Melanie Gideon
Category: Women's Fiction/Chick Lit
Pub. Date: 02/12/2013
Publisher: Ballantine Books
Format: Paperback
Pages: 416
ISBN#: 0345527968

Synopsis:  
For fans of Helen Fielding’s Bridget Jones’s Diary and Allison Pearson’s I Don’t Know How She Does It comes an irresistible novel of a woman losing herself . . . and finding herself again . . . in the middle of her life.
Maybe it was those extra five pounds I’d gained. Maybe it was because I was about to turn the same age my mother was when I lost her. Maybe it was because after almost twenty years of marriage my husband and I seemed to be running out of things to say to each other.
But when the anonymous online study called “Marriage in the 21st Century” showed up in my inbox, I had no idea how profoundly it would change my life. It wasn’t long before I was assigned both a pseudonym (Wife 22) and a caseworker (Researcher 101).
And, just like that, I found myself answering questions.
7. Sometimes I tell him he’s snoring when he’s not snoring so he’ll sleep in the guest room and I can have the bed all to myself.
61. Chet Baker on the tape player. He was cutting peppers for the salad. I looked at those hands and thought, I am going to have this man’s children.
67. To not want what you don’t have. What you can’t have. What you shouldn’t have.
32. That if we weren’t careful, it was possible to forget one another.
Before the study, my life was an endless blur of school lunches and doctor’s appointments, family dinners, budgets, and trying to discern the fastest-moving line at the grocery store. I was Alice Buckle: spouse of William and mother to Zoe and Peter, drama teacher and Facebook chatter, downloader of memories and Googler of solutions.
But these days, I’m also Wife 22. And somehow, my anonymous correspondence with Researcher 101 has taken an unexpectedly personal turn. Soon, I’ll have to make a decision—one that will affect my family, my marriage, my whole life. But at the moment, I’m too busy answering questions.
As it turns out, confession can be a very powerful aphrodisiac.
From the Hardcover edition.
 
 

Thursday, September 12, 2013

Book Review: THE WORD BY STEPS by DAVID M. GUTKNECHT

Title: THE WORD BY STEPS
Author: DAVID M. GUTKNECHT
Category: Spiritual Growth
Pub. Date: 11/23/2012
Publisher: Outskirts Press
Format: Paperback
Pages: 246
ISBN#: 147871834X

Synopsis:  
Can you think of a better goal than to develop and grow your spiritual life? When confronted with the challenge of reading the Bible, many Christians balk at the huge undertaking of the task. Where should you start? How do you tackle the dense material of the Old Testament? What was the historical and cultural context of the text? Whether you are new to the faith or a seasoned veteran, The Word by Steps is designed to introduce God's Word to your life in a way that is meaningful, practical, and life changing. A clear and simple commentary for each week gives you an introduction to the Biblical text you're reading. Paired with a simple and manageable reading plan, this guide not only makes the Word of God part of your daily spiritual path, but can also stimulate growth in your Bible studies, small groups, and friendships. No longer does the Bible have to be a daunting challenge. Dive into the depth and mystery of God's Word today -- and see life around you transformed.   

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...