Friday, September 1, 2017

Book Blogger Hop #6


Book Blogger Hop is another post I'm going to be trying out and this one has a topic each week, which is something I've been trying to bring to the blog.  I'm really excited about this one because I have a hard time coming up with something fresh to talk about and I'm hoping this helps.

If you would be interested in doing your own post, please CLICK HERE to learn more about this great hop!

This Weeks Topic:  

Have you ever read a book written in a foreign language you might be fluent in, and then read the same book in English? (submitted by Maria @ A Night's Dream of Books)

My answer to this weeks topic is short and sweet. No, I have never read a book in a foreign language. Why? Because I do not know any other language other than a few and I do mean few words in Spanish.   

So what do you think? Have you ever read a book written in a foreign language? Leave me a comment below. Hope you all have a great Friday.

Friday, August 25, 2017

Book Blogger Hop # 5


Book Blogger Hop is another post I'm going to be trying out and this one has a topic each week, which is something I've been trying to bring to the blog.  I'm really excited about this one because I have a hard time coming up with something fresh to talk about and I'm hoping this helps.

If you would be interested in doing your own post, please CLICK HERE to learn more about this great hop!

This Weeks Topic:  

When you enter an unfamiliar house or apartment for the first time, do you feel disappointed if you don't see any bookshelves, or books on the coffee table? (submitted by Maria @ A Night's Dream of Books)

Wow, I will actually have to say "yes" I do feel a little disappointed. For one books open your heart and mind to so many things. I have always had books around me. And when I started having my children I stated them with the little golden books from one month on.   

So what do you think?  Do you feel disappointed if you don't see any bookshelves, or books on the coffee table? Leave me a comment below. Hope you all have a great Friday.

Friday, August 18, 2017

Book Blogger Hop # 4


Book Blogger Hop is another post I'm going to be trying out and this one has a topic each week, which is something I've been trying to bring to the blog.  I'm really excited about this one because I have a hard time coming up with something fresh to talk about and I'm hoping this helps.

If you would be interested in doing your own post, please CLICK HERE to learn more about this great hop!

This Weeks Topic:  

Do you participate in readathons and/or reading challenges? (submitted by Kristin @ Lukten av Trykksverte)

I do sometimes but the only one that I do every year so far is the Goodreads challenge that shows how many i want to read for the year.

So what do you think? Do you participate in readathons and/or reading challenges?  Leave me a comment below. Hope you all have a great Friday.

Friday, August 11, 2017

Book Blogger Hop # 3


Book Blogger Hop is another post I'm going to be trying out and this one has a topic each week, which is something I've been trying to bring to the blog.  I'm really excited about this one because I have a hard time coming up with something fresh to talk about and I'm hoping this helps.

If you would be interested in doing your own post, please CLICK HERE to learn more about this great hop!

This Weeks Topic:  

Do you ever go "way back" to when you first started blogging and look at your old review posts? Do you see any differences from then to now? (submitted by Elizabeth @ Silver's Reviews)

Well, I will have to say yes on this because for the most part when I first started blogging I had been reading books for the biggest part of my life. But I had never done reviews. I had talked and recommended books before but never even thought about writing about them. So Yes I do go back sometimes to the start and wow there are some differences. Like now I try to stream line a little more. Break it down to topic, style, etc.  

So what do you think? Do you ever go "way back" to when you first started blogging and look at your old review posts  Leave me a comment below. Hope you all have a great Friday.

Tuesday, August 8, 2017

Teaser Tuesday

Teaser Tuesdays is a weekly bookish meme, hosted by MizB of Should Be Reading. 
 Anyone can play along! Just do the following:
  • Grab your current read
  • Open to a random page
  • Share two (2) “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page
  • BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS! (make sure that what you share doesn’t give too much away! You don’t want to ruin the book for others!)
Share the title & author, too, so that other TT participants can add the book to their TBR Lists if they like your teas. 

Monday, August 7, 2017

It's Monday What are you reading?

Guess what...Its Monday! What are you reading this week?

This meme started with J Kaye's Blog   and then was taken up by Sheila from Book Journey. Sheila then passed it on to Kathryn at the Book Date.  It's a meme where you share what you read last week, what you're currently reading and what you plan on reading that week.

Thanks for stopping by. First let me just say that I have been in a little bit of a reading slump (for lack of a better word)... But I have regained some much needed reading pep,
and below is what I am still reading this week. But not much has changed since last week, but still enjoying these reads.  

Saturday, August 5, 2017

On My Wishlist

 On My Wishlist is a Meme created by Book Chick City.

   On My Wishlist is a weekly meme that allows us to share the books we haven't bought yet but are waiting to be bought and devoured. If you are anything like me then your wishlist is getting longer by the day! If you would like to take part and have your own 'On My Wishlist' post then you can more info here. (This post was inspired by the fab In My Mailbox by  Kristi at The Story Siren)


 My on My Wishlist includes books that are older and already out, or brand new. Today I am bringing you Three books that I am dying to read and get for my book shelves.

So lets see what we have here this week.. I well update when I get these books.

Thursday, August 3, 2017

Review: Surrender the Heart by MaryLu Tyndall

Title: Surrender the Heart
Author: MaryLu Tyndall
Category:  Christian Fiction
Pub. Date: 08/01/2010 
Publisher:  Barbour Publishing, Inc. 
Format:  Paperback
Pages:  368
ISBN#: 1602601658
Series: Surrender to Destiny #1


Synopsis:  
On the brink of the War of 1812, Marianne Denton must marry to unlock her inheritance. Without the money, her mother can't receive medical care and her sister will be destitute. But Noah Brenin needs to sail his cargo to England before the war commences in order to prove his worth to his father and make enough money so he won't have to marry at all.
Defying his father's wishes, Noah loathes the idea of marrying a woman he finds plain and pompous. Marianne wants nothing to do with the rogue who taunted her as a child, yet she must convince him otherwise or her mother will die.
But when Noah walks out on their engagement party, Marianne chases him down and ends up on his merchantman out at sea. The situation worsens when Noah's ship encounters a British man-of-war and the couple are impressed into the British navy. While a young lad's prophecy of destiny looms over them both, Marianne and Noah are forced to face their darkest fears as they desperately try to find a way to escape and fulfill their destinies-destinies that could change the course of the war and history forever.


Review: Into the Free by Julie Cantrell

Title: Into the Free
Author: Julie Cantrell
Category: Historical Fiction 
Pub. Date: 02/01/2012
Publisher: David C. Cook
Format:  Paperback
ISBN#: 078140424x

Synopsis:  

Just a girl. The only one strong enough to break the cycle.
In Depression-era Mississippi, Millie Reynolds longs to escape the madness that marks her world. With an abusive father and a “nothing mama,” she struggles to find a place where she really belongs.
For answers, Millie turns to the Gypsies who caravan through town each spring. The travelers lead Millie to a key which unlocks generations of shocking family secrets. When tragedy strikes, the mysterious contents of the box give Millie the tools she needs to break her family’s longstanding cycle of madness and abuse.
Through it all, Millie experiences the thrill of first love while fighting to trust the God she believes has abandoned her. With the power of forgiveness, can Millie finally make her way into the free? 

Tuesday, August 1, 2017

Review: Christmas at Pebble Creek by Vannetta Chapman

Title: Christmas at Pebble Creek
Author: Vannetta Chapman
Category: Amish Holiday
Pub. Date: 11/1/2013
Publisher: Harvest House
Format: Kindle
ISBN#: B00FQQ1A8Y
Series: The Pebble Creek Amish

Synopsis: 
This short story e-romance is an exclusive bonus from The Pebble Creek Amish Series by Vannetta Chapman. Fans of the series will enjoy this chance to briefly revisit Pebble Creek, and new readers will be introduced to an Amish community that is more deeply explored in the three full novels, A Promise for Miriam, A Home for Lydia, and A Wedding for Julia.
As a bonus, this eBook also includes Amish homestyle recipes for chicken and dumplings, green beans, and fresh bread. Heavy snow blankets the southwestern Wisconsin Amish community as nineteen-year-old Grace Miller closes the schoolhouse for Christmas break. She’s looking forward to having extra time to help the family prepare for the holiday, and she is hoping to get a few more drawings in of the beautiful, snowy Pebble Creek landscape. Her courtship with Adam Lapp is going on six months, and Grace can’t wait to give him his present: a blue-and-brown buggy blanket she crocheted for him. Yes, this Christmas is going to be especially joyful. Yet, amid the cheer of snowshoe outings, church potlucks, and holiday festivities, Grace is given a bittersweet reminder of the Christmas story. Grief is present with celebration, and though the future is rarely certain, she is given a heartwarming glimpse that God knows our needs before we do and will provide.

Teaser Tuesday

Teaser Tuesdays is a weekly bookish meme, hosted by MizB of Should Be Reading. 
 Anyone can play along! Just do the following:
  • Grab your current read
  • Open to a random page
  • Share two (2) “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page
  • BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS! (make sure that what you share doesn’t give too much away! You don’t want to ruin the book for others!)
Share the title & author, too, so that other TT participants can add the book to their TBR Lists if they like your teas.

Friday, July 28, 2017

Book Blogger Hop #2


Book Blogger Hop is another post I'm going to be trying out and this one has a topic each week, which is something I've been trying to bring to the blog.  I'm really excited about this one because I have a hard time coming up with something fresh to talk about and I'm hoping this helps.

If you would be interested in doing your own post, please CLICK HERE to learn more about this great hop!

This Weeks Topic:  

Do you read tie-in novels to movies or television series? If so, which ones? (submitted by Billy @ Coffee Addicted Writer

I will have to say no on this because for the most part my books like Twilight and etc. are the original covers for the book not the movies. I am not one who necessarily reads a book because it is a movie.   

So what do you think? Do you read tie-in novels? Leave me a comment below. Hope you all have a great Friday. 

Tuesday, July 25, 2017

Review: The One Year Be-Tween You & God devotional

Title: The One Year Be-Tween You & God
Author: Sandra Byrd
Category: Devotional 
Pub. Date: 10/01/2012
Publisher: Tyndale House Pub.
Format: Hardback 
ISBN#: 1414362455

Synopsis: 
This One Year book is a diary-style devotional for tween girls (9 to 14) that emphasizes their growing, special relationship with God. Each devotion begins with a statement, thought, or question to God. Every girl is likely to make these statements and ask such questions . . . many of which they may not want to share with other people.The book emphasizes that tween girls can have a relationship with God and that they can share their intimate thoughts, fears, insecurities, joys, etc. It lets girls know: it's between you and God. Questions/topics include the following: "I know I'm supposed to be close to you (God), but I don't really feel like it now. How can I change that?" "Everyone talks about how I'm supposed to have faith, which is fine, except I don't really understand what faith actually is." Each devotion gives biblically based insight into the subject.

Teaser Tuesday

Teaser Tuesdays is a weekly bookish meme, hosted by MizB of Should Be Reading. 
 Anyone can play along! Just do the following:
  • Grab your current read
  • Open to a random page
  • Share two (2) “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page
  • BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS! (make sure that what you share doesn’t give too much away! You don’t want to ruin the book for others!)
Share the title & author, too, so that other TT participants can add the book to their TBR Lists if they like your teas. 

Monday, July 24, 2017

Review: WEIRD! by Erin Frankel

Title: WEIRD!
Author: Erin Frankel
Category: Childrens
Pub. Date: 07/27/2012
Publisher: Free Spirit Pub.
Format: Kindle
Pages: 48
ISBN#: BOOALSO6RO
Series: WEIRD 

Synopsis: 
Luisa is repeatedly teased and called "weird" by her classmate Sam, even though she is simply being herself—laughing with her friends, answering questions in class, greeting her father in Spanish, and wearing her favorite polka-dot boots. Luisa initially reacts to the bullying by withdrawing and hiding her colorful nature. But with the support of her teachers, parents, classmates, and one special friend named Jayla, she is able to reclaim her color and resist Sam’s put-downs.
The Weird! SeriesThese three books tell the story of an ongoing case of bullying from three third graders’ perspectives. Luisa describes being targeted by bullying in Weird! Jayla shares her experience as a bystander to bullying in Dare! And in Tough!, Sam speaks from the point of view of someone initiating bullying. Kids will easily relate to Luisa, Jayla, and Sam, as each girl has her own unique experience, eventually learning how to face her challenges with the help of friends, peers, and caring adults.

It's Monday What are you reading?

Guess what...Its Monday! What are you reading this week?

This meme started with J Kaye's Blog   and then was taken up by Sheila from Book Journey. Sheila then passed it on to Kathryn at the Book Date.  It's a meme where you share what you read last week, what you're currently reading and what you plan on reading that week.

Thanks for stopping by. First let me just say that I have been in a little bit of a reading slump (for lack of a better word)... But I have regained some much needed reading pep,
and below is what I am still reading this week. But not much has changed since last week, but still enjoying these reads.  

Saturday, July 22, 2017

Sittin on The Shelf #1



Sittin on the Shelf is a posted by Ali's Bookshelf, she has given me permission to start posting this post as well. So in this post the main objective is to go through your books and find one that's been on your shelf for awhile. You are to read it within the next month or you have to unhaul it. 

This month will be my starting point and that will give me until the next month to read the book below. 




Title: Life and Death  Author: Stephenie Meyer
 Publisher: Atom

Published: October 6th 2015

Format: Hardcover
 Pages: 389 pages
 Celebrate the tenth anniversary of Twilight! This special double-feature book includes the classic novel, Twilight, and a bold and surprising reimagining, Life and Death, by Stephenie Meyer.
Packaged as an oversize, jacketed hardcover "flip book," this edition features nearly 400 pages of new content as well as exquisite new back cover art. Readers will relish experiencing the deeply romantic and extraordinarily suspenseful love story of Bella and Edward through fresh eyes.

This book has been on my shelf for two years. I purchased it right after it came out. I love author Stephenie Meyers Twilight Saga books as well as the movies. So I was excited when this came out. 

 As to why I haven't read it:

But due to every day issues, (Life,) I left the book at our home in the south and actually forgot about it. So going down for a few weeks here in July, and trying to get back into reading and blogging my daughter challenged me to do this post and to read this book. 


What I plan on doing: 
What I am planning on doing is for the next few weeks is first, make sure it goes back up north. And to start this weekend reading it. It will also be added to my TBR list for this next month. 



So What Do You Think?
Have you all picked this book to be on your tbr list? Have you all already read it? And if so is it worth my waiting to read it now? Just leave me a note down in the comments down below.
 

Friday, July 21, 2017

Snap-Shot Reviews: Hidden City #1 & #2 by Author Kyra Wheatley

Title: Lost in the Shadows
Author: Kyra Wheatley
Category: Fantasy
Pub. Date: 12/16/2016
Publisher: G5 Entertainment AB
Format: Kindle
Pages: 83
ISBN#: B01MRYLHXL


Synopsis:  
Lost in the Shadows is the first installment in a series of e-books inspired by the bestselling game Hidden City. In Kyra Wheatley's intriguing novellas, you'll discover the answers to mysteries and secrets that began within the game itself. Find this riveting series on Amazon and iBooks … and prepare to get hooked!
Nicole has no idea what brought her to an ordinary door in an ordinary office. After opening it and taking just one step, she falls onto the damp cobblestone of a deserted town square at night. Men in dark cloaks suddenly begin to hunt her, but Gumshoe, an old resident of the City, comes to her defense. Nicole has yet to figure out why she is so important to the dark ruler of the City’s catacombs. She is the key to everything happening here. The key to the City itself.




Title: The Shades of Silence
Author: Kyra Wheatley
Category: Fantasy
Pub. Date: 12/16/2016
Publisher: G5 Entertainment AB
Format: Kindle
Pages: 78
ISBN#:Bo1N7JCSZT

Synopsis: 
As Nicole begins adapting to life in the City, she tries to find the answer to her main question: why is she being stalked by the inhabitants of the City’s dungeons as well as the mysterious Dark Inquisitor? Only with the help of her friends will she be able to evade them. Nicole searches for the clues to riddles by exploring the City and meeting its unusual residents. She grows closest to Gumshoe, the detective who is always ready to protect her from the dark forces' attacks. At the same time, Nicole cannot get the piercing gaze of the Dark Inquisitor who suddenly kissed her out of her mind. What interest does he have in her? More importantly, what is hidden in Nicole's past that makes her a target for the City's supernatural forces?

Book Blogger Hop #1



Book Blogger Hop is another post I'm going to be trying out and this one has a topic each week, which is something I've been trying to bring to the blog.  I'm really excited about this one because I have a hard time coming up with something fresh to talk about and I'm hoping this helps.

If you would be interested in doing your own post, please CLICK HERE to learn more about this great hop!

This Weeks Topic:  
 

  What is your go-to drink and/or snack while reading? (submitted by Kristin @ Lukten av Trykksverte)
My go-to drink is water with crystal light peach mango green tea individual powder pack and shaken well. Now as for my snack it is first and for most, peanut butter filled pretzel bites with crispy m.m.s, plain m.m.s, and peanut butter m.m.s. all mixed together.  


What is your go to snack and drink? I would love to know, leave me a comment below! Hope you all have a great Friday!

Thursday, July 20, 2017

Review: Stardust by Carla Stewart

Title: Stardust
Author: Carla Stewart
Category: Fiction
Pub. Date: 05/15/2012
Publisher: FaithWorlds 
Format: Paperback
Pages: 320
ISBN#: 1455504289


Synopsis: 
Shortly after burying her unfaithful husband, Georgia Peyton unexpectedly inherits the derelict Stardust motel from a distant relative. Despite doubts from the community and the aunt who raised her, she is determined to breathe new life into it. But the guests who arrive aren't what Georgia expects: Her gin-loving mother-in-law; her dead husband's mistress; an attractive but down-on-his-luck drifter who's tired of the endless road; and an aging Vaudeville entertainer with a disturbing link to Georgia's past.
Can Georgia find the courage to forgive those who've betrayed her, the grace to shelter those who need her, and the moxy to face the future? And will her dream of a new life under the flickering neon of the Stardust ever come true?


Tuesday, July 18, 2017

Review: The Left Behind Series by Authors Tim LaHaye and Jerry B. Jenkins




Title: The Left Behind Series
Author: Tim LaHaye and Jerry B. Jenkins
Category: Christian
Pub. Date: 09/2000
Publisher: Tyndal House Puplisher
Format: Paperback

 
Synopsis: 
 A series on faith and those literally left behind.


Teaser Tuesday

Teaser Tuesdays is a weekly bookish meme, hosted by MizB of Should Be Reading. 
 Anyone can play along! Just do the following:
  • Grab your current read
  • Open to a random page
  • Share two (2) “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page
  • BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS! (make sure that what you share doesn’t give too much away! You don’t want to ruin the book for others!)
Share the title & author, too, so that other TT participants can add the book to their TBR Lists if they like your teas. 

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...