Wednesday, October 31, 2012

Book Review: Parasouls by Michele Richard

Title:  Parasouls
Author: Michele Richard
Category: Romance/Fiction
Pub. Date: 04/03/2012
Publisher: Renaissance Romance Pub.
Format: E-Book
Pages: 263
ISBN#: 1475064152

Synopsis:  Born amongst the humans, yet not being one, the parasouls fight to remain hidden. Using the ancient tunnels and abandoned, buried basements as their homes parasouls live in the underbelly of society in their own world, they've created a world where they don’t need to pretend they’re normal. Their gifts remind them that they’re not. When you can produce electric blue flames from your fingertips, there’s no way to deny it. Damian McNamara built and rules the world they thrive in.
Angelique is the leader of a special team whose job it is to keep the “normals” from knowing of the parasouls’ existence. Her gift is also a curse, leaving her physically unable to touch another living soul without inflicting indescribable pain upon them.
The Parasoul Acquisition Control Taskforce hunts them for what they are.
Shane is the headhunter for the taskforce. Like Angelique, he’s never been able to touch anyone due to his gift of red and orange flames that singes the flesh of others.
The moment Shane and Angelique meet, the heavens open and connect their souls forever. So what happens when Shane finds himself trapped between the only thing he’s ever desired and his job? He has no choice but to deliver the one person who owns his soul over to his bosses, the government’s taskforce? Which side is the good, the bad, and the dictators?
They’re both in for a rude awakening.
Can love conquer all when you’re supposed to hate the one soul you cannot live without? How long can they fight the urge to give in to their connection? Can two parasouls on opposite sides find common ground and forge a future?

Tuesday, October 30, 2012

Book Review: SHIVER by Amber Garza

Title: SHIVER
Author: Amber Garza 
Pub. Date: 07/19/2012
Publisher: Amazon Digital
Format: E-Book
Pages: 20
ISBN#: 9781476412610

Synopsis:  ***This is a short teaser story which includes the first two chapters of PROWL***   Mackenzie Smith has been plagued with horrible nightmares since she was a small child. In them there is an evil voice, whispering deadly threats. Only now she is seventeen and the man from her dreams is making appearances while she is awake. Is it just a figment of her imagination or something more sinister?  

Book Review: Burning Hearts by Nike Chillemi

Title: Burning Hearts
Author: Nike Chillemi
Category: Inspirational
Pub. Date: 05/12/2011
Publisher: Dessert Breeze Pub. 
Format: E-Book
Pages: 241
ISBN#: B005PJSTY

Synopsis:  Historical Romance Thriller (set South Shore of Long Island,NY in 1947)
Can a sheltered young seamstress, disillusioned by the horrors of WWII, escape an arsonist/murderer who has killed her employer and mentor, while trying to decide if she can trust the dashing war hero who’s ridden into town on his Harley—who some say is the murderer?
Erica Brogna’s parents doted on her and taught her to think for herself. Many boys she grew up with had fallen in the WWII, shaking her childhood faith. In rides a handsome stranger, at the hour of her most desperate need. A woman who is her close friend and mentor is trapped in a burning house. After making an unsuccessful rescue attempt, Erica stands by as this man rushes into the inferno and carries her friend’s lifeless body out.
Lorne Kincade can’t out run his past on his Harley Davidson WLA, the civilian model of the motorcycle he rode in the war. He’s tried. He’s been a vagabond biker in the year since the war ended. His Uncle Ivar bequeathed him a ramshackle cottage in Sanctuary Point, on the Great South Bay of Long Island, NY and now he’d like to hope for a future again, repair the miniscule place, and settle down. The only problem is, a young woman with hair the color of mink is starting to get under his skin and that’s the last thing he needs.
 

Book Review: INESCAPABLE by NANCY MEHL

Title:  INESCAPABLE
Author: NANCY MEHL
Category: Christian Fiction
Pub. Date: 07/01/2012
Publisher: Bethany House Publisher
Format: E-Book
Pages: 333
ISBN#: 0764209272
Synopsis:    Page-Turning Romantic Suspense Set Against the Backdrop of a Small Mennonite Town Lizzie Engel is used to running away. At eighteen, she left her Mennonite hometown, her family, and her faith with plans never to return. Five years later, Lizzie finds she'll have to run again. False accusations at her job, a stalker, and a string of anonymous threatening letters have left her with no other options. This time, however, her escape is back to Kingdom, her hometown. As Lizzie becomes reacquainted with Kingdom, she realizes she may not have left her Mennonite roots and her faith as firmly in the past as she thought. She draws on the support of Noah Housler, an old friend, as she hides out and attempts to plan her next steps. When it becomes painfully clear that the danger has followed Lizzie to Kingdom, suspicions and tensions run high, and she no longer knows who to trust. With her life and the lives of those she loves at risk, Lizzie will have to run one last time--to a Father whose love is inescapable.  

Book Report: Sunrise ON THE Battery by BETH WEBB HART

Title: Sunrise ON THE Battery
Author: BETH WEBB HART
Category: Christian Ficition
Pub. Date: 10/11/2011
Publisher: Thomas Nelson Publisher
Format: E-Book
Pages: 304
ISBN#: 1595542000

Synopsis:    She wanted her husband to attend the town's society-driven church. God answered her prayer in a radical way.
An emptiness dogs Mary Lynn Scoville. But it shouldn't.
After all, she's achieved what few believed possible. Born in the rural south, she has reached the pinnacle of worldly success in Charleston, South Carolina. Married to a handsome real estate developer and mother to three accomplished daughters, Mary Lynn is one Debutante Society invitation away from truly having it all.
And yet, it remains-an emptiness that no shopping trip, European vacation, or social calendar can fill.
When a surprise encounter leads her to newfound faith, Mary Lynn longs to share it with her husband. But Jackson wrote God off long ago.
Mary Lynn prays for him on Christmas Eve . . . and her husband undergoes a life-altering Damascus Road experience. As Jackson begins to take the implications of the Gospel literally, Mary Lynn feels increasingly isolated from her husband . . . and betrayed by God. She only wanted Jackson beside her at church on Sunday mornings, not some Jesus freak who evangelizes prostitutes and invites the homeless to tea.
While her husband commits social suicide and the life they worked so hard for crumbles around them, Mary Lynn wonders if their marriage can survive. Or if perhaps there really is a more abundant life that Jackson has discovered, richer than any she's ever dreamed of.
 

Book Review: WHAT THIS COUNTRY NEEDS by JOHN F. KIMBERLING

Title: WHAT THIS COUNTRY NEEDS
Author: JOHN F. KIMBERLING
Category: Political
Pub. Date: 07/26/2012
Publisher: Polimedia Publisher
Format: E-Book
Pages: 188
ISBN#: B009CHBMYK

Synopsis:    NOT A FIVE CENT CIGAR An obscure U.S. vice-president once said "What this country needs is a good five cent cigar." But in this frank, outspoken book, author John Kimberling argues that what this country really needs is a new political party. Both the Republican and Democratic parties have failed the American people. Uncontrolled campaign contributions put millions of dollars in the pockets of politicians in both parties and make them the servants of the rich and powerful, who own the government and make it operate for their benefit, not for the people. It is the reason for our foreign policy which has earned us the hatred and fear of the rest of the world and brought terrorism to our shores. It is the reason we have a failing health care system not available to millions of our citizens. It is the reason our prisons are overflowing, but not with the real criminals. Income tax laws favor giant corporations and place the burden of paying taxes on working people and the small businessman. The "war on drugs" has only made the problem worse. Perhaps most shocking, the author explores the agenda of key Bush administration officials who planned the invasion of Iraq years before 9/11 and then used terrorism as an excuse for our invasion and occupation of that country, which has destabilized the entire Middle East. What This Country Needs refuses to accept that powerful political and financial forces can take our country away from us. It lays out a blueprint for a new third party to give the voters the tools they need to reshape the political process and point the way in a new direction and to a better future for all of us.  

TEASER TUESDAY

Teaser Tuesdays is a weekly bookish meme, hosted by MizB of Should Be Reading. Anyone can play along! Just do the following:
  • Grab your current read
  • Open to a random page
  • Share two (2) “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page
  • BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS! (make sure that what you share doesn’t give too much away! You don’t want to ruin the book for others!)
  • Share the title & author, too, so that other TT participants can add the book to their TBR Lists if they like your teas.                           

Monday, October 29, 2012

Book Review: SURVIVAL by A.M.HARGROVE

Title: SURVIVAL
Author: A.M. HARGROVE
Category: Y.A./Fantasy/Paranormal Romance
Pub. Date: 07/26/2012
Publisher: Amazon Kindle
Format: E-Book
Pages: 276
ISBN#: B00685NF10  
Synopsis:  Survival (Book 1 of the Guardians of Vesturon), a YA paranormal romance
"Maybe I was caught between the two worlds. I was having serious trouble distinguishing fantasy from reality."
While on a backpacking trip in the Great Smoky Mountain National Park, nineteen-year-old Maddie Pearce finds her world has been thrown into a vortex and is madly spinning toward the impossible. Abducted by a mad psychopath, Maddie narrowly escapes with her life. But that is only the beginning. Her mysterious rescuer introduces her to a world that Maddie has difficulty accepting as reality. Will this strikingly gorgeous stranger be the key to her future or will she return to her mundane world, scarred from her experience? Follow Maddie as she is forced to make difficult decisions that carry her to mysterious places.
Excerpt…
Then, unexpectedly, three brightly glowing melon-sized balls of light came soaring across the dark sky. When they were a few feet away from me, they elongated into long thin slivers. Moments later, the slivers expanded and then took form into three indistinct shapes.
I kept blinking my eyes, not trusting what I was seeing. I was positive I was hallucinating. This must be what happens right before you die.
Then, the indistinct shapes morphed into three men—three very tall, powerfully built men. They were identical in that they were all dressed alike—wearing black hooded cloaks that fell to their ankles. The hoods hid their faces, but I had the strangest feeling they were there to help me.
**If you enjoy this book consider signing up for my email distribution list by visiting me at www.amhargrove.com or find me on Facebook at www.facebook.com/guardiansofveturon or Twitter at www.twitter.com/amhargrove1.**
This book is suitable for young adults, aged 15 and older. It is recommended that parents inspect and review what their children are reading.
Coming soon...  Resurrection, Book 2 of the Guardians of Vesturon
 
 

Book Review: Willow by Amy Richie

Title: Willow (Blood Vine Series)
Author: Amy Richie
Category: Fantasy/Paranormal
Pub. Date: 08/24/2012
Publisher: Anchor Group Pub.
Format: E-Book
Pages: 276
ISBN#: B0091YHBNA

Synopsis:
“Being a werewolf is harder than it looks. Everyone thinks it’s just morph at the full moon, kill, morph back. That’s not true. It’s a lot harder than that. Especially if you are seventeen years old.”
Willow has the worst luck. First she has to deal with her narcissistic foster mother, Bella; then of course there’s her horrid little sister Ivy; not to mention the pack of werewolves that belong to Bella. Now, they have to move and start a new school - again.
Just when Willow thinks things can’t get any worse, Blake shows up from a council she never knew existed to name her leader of a pack she never knew existed. How was she supposed to teach a bunch of teenagers how to be wolves when she herself hated everything about her life?

Book Review: Summer Confections by Lisa Bilbrey, B.F. Betty, Estelle Mars

Title:  Summer Confections
Author: Lisa Bilbrey, B.F.Betty, Estelle Mars 
Pub. Date: 06/19/2012
Publisher: Renaissance Romance Pub.
Format: E-Book
Pages: 175
ISBN#: 9781477616

Synopsis:   
A Season of Change
When Meredith Murphy finds her world falling apart at the seams, she does what she knows best — runs away. She finds herself on her father’s doorstep with nothing but the ghosts of her past weighing on her shoulders.
Jonathan Wentworth refuses to stop fighting for her, no matter how stubborn she is. Will he be able to make her see that he’s not giving up? Or will Meredith lose herself to the blinders she’s put up?
The Apartment
In his line of work as a private investigator, Sebastian Marks has seen it all. At least he thought he had until he meets international singing sensation, Eve Hall. When a stalker threatens her well being, she begrudgingly agrees to move in with Sebastian.
Though neither of them is happy with the arrangement, they find themselves drawn to the other. Will they be able fight the growing attraction? Or will they give in to the passion sizzling between them?
My Summer Marriage
When Hayley Martin sneaks away from her secret life as a world renowned submissive erotica author, her life changes forever.
Hollywood’s A-lister Dillon McGraw hides his true self as a Dominant.
When these two find themselves together on a private beach, will they give into their natural desires? After a night of drinking, they get more than they bargained for.
Can an accidental marriage fix or break these two when they barely remember who they really are?

It's Monday! What Are You Reading?

Guess what...Its Monday! What are you reading this week? This is a weekly event to list the books completed last week, the books currently being reading, and the books to be finish this week. It is hosted by  Book Journey. 

I have been traveling the past couple of weeks so not  a lot has changed. Still working on these three books and hope to have them done soon. As well as some reviews. Thanks for stopping by. 


What I Read Last Week:  
 Inescapable by Nancy Mehl
Cera's Place by Elizabeth McKenna
Burning Hearts by Nike Chillemi
Shiver by Amber Garza
Survival by A.M. Hargrove
What This Country Needs: by John F. Kimberling



Sunday, October 28, 2012

Sunday's With Rev. Kim



Welcome to my feature. It's my prayer that you will be encouraged and blessed by following and becoming involved in this journey to love the Lord and His word.

I invite you to visit often. The Welcome mat is always here, as my ideas, insights from Gods word is blogged as often as I can.  Rev. Kim 
 Sunday's with Rev. Kim is a feature that I created here on Breath of Life.

 

Saturday, October 27, 2012

Book Review: 90 MINUTES IN HEAVEN by Don Piper, Cecil Murphey

Title: 90 MINUTES IN HEAVEN
Author: Don Piper, Cecil Murphey
Category: Christian/Non Fiction
Pub. Date: 09/01/2004
Publisher: Fleming H. Revell Co.
Format: Paperback
Pages: 207
ISBN#: 0800759494
Synopsis:   
As he is driving home from a minister's conference, Baptist minister Don Piper collides with a semi-truck that crosses into his lane. He is pronounced dead at the scene. For the next 90 minutes, Piper experiences heaven where he is greeted by those who had influenced him spiritually. He hears beautiful music and feels true peace.
Back on earth, a passing minister who had also been at the conference is led to pray for Don even though he knows the man is dead. Piper miraculously comes back to life and the bliss of heaven is replaced by a long and painful recovery.
For years Piper kept his heavenly experience to himself. Finally, however, friends and family convinced him to share his remarkable story.

On My Wishlist


On My Wishlist is a Meme hosted by Book Chick City.
  
On My Wishlist is a weekly meme that allows us to share the books we haven't bought yet but are waiting to be bought and devoured. If you are anything like me then your wishlist is getting longer by the day! If you would like to take part and have your own 'On My Wishlist' post then you can more info here. (This post was inspired by the fab In My Mailbox by  Kristi at The Story Siren

 My on My Wishlist includes books that are older and already out, or brand new. Today I am bringing you four books that I am dying to read and get for my book shelves.  
So lets see what we have here this week.. I well update when I get these books. There are so many that I decided to narrow it sown to just four this week.! 


Book Review: The Power of a Praying Wife by STORMIE OMARTIAN

Title: The Power of a Praying Wife 
Author: STORMIE OMARTIAN
Category: Christian/Marriage 
Pub. Date: 07/01/1997 
Publisher: Harvest House Pub. 
Format: Paperback 
Pages: 203 
ISBN#: 9781565075726   

Synopsis: Stormie Omartian's mega bestselling The Power of a Praying® series (more than 8.2 million copies sold) is re-released with fresh new covers to reach a still-growing market of readers eager to discover the power of prayer for their lives. Bestselling author Stormie Omartian inspires women to develop a deeper relationship with their husbands by praying for them. This encouraging resource is packed with practical advice on praying for specific areas of a husband's life including his decision-making, fears, spiritual strength, role as father, leader, faith and future.
Every woman who desires a closer relationship with her husband will appreciate the life illustrations, select Scripture verses, and the assurances of God's promises and power for their marriage.    

Book Review: So Long, Insecurity by BETH MOORE

Title:  So Long, Insecurity
Author: BETH MOORE
Category: Inspirational/Christian
Pub. Date: 02/02/2010
Publisher: Tyndale House Pub.
Format: Hardcover
Pages: 352
ISBN#: 1414334729

Synopsis:  
2011 Retailers Choice Award winner Perhaps one of the biggest issues all women face is their own insecurity. Beth Moore, one of today's most admired and trusted Christian writers, wants women to be free from the insecurity trap. "So Long, Insecurity" will strike a chord with women everywhere, as Beth speaks truth into the lives of readers, showing them how to deal with their innermost fears, rediscover their God-given dignity, and develop a whole new perspective--a stronger sense of self. Women of all ages and backgrounds will resonate with this message of security and discover truths that will free them emotionally and spiritually and lead them to a better life as they walk with God.  

Tuesday, October 23, 2012

TEASER TUESDAY

Teaser Tuesdays is a weekly bookish meme, hosted by MizB of Should Be Reading. Anyone can play along! Just do the following:
  • Grab your current read
  • Open to a random page
  • Share two (2) “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page
  • BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS! (make sure that what you share doesn’t give too much away! You don’t want to ruin the book for others!)
  • Share the title & author, too, so that other TT participants can add the book to their TBR Lists if they like your teas.

Monday, October 22, 2012

Book Review: Battlefield of the mind by Joyce Meyer

Title: Battlefield of the mind
Author: Joyce Meyer
Category: Christian
Pub. Date: 10/01/2002
Publisher: FaithWords
Format: Paperback
Pages: 288
ISBN#: 0446691097  
Synopsis:  
In celebration of selling 3 million copies, FaithWords published a special updated edition of BATTLEFIELD OF THE MIND.
Worry, doubt, confusion, depression, anger and feelings of condemnation: all these are attacks on the mind. If readers suffer from negative thoughts, they can take heart! Joyce Meyer has helped millions win these all-important battles. In her most popular bestseller ever, the beloved author and minister shows readers how to change their lives by changing their minds.
She teaches how to deal with thousands of thoughts that people think every day and how to focus the mind the way God thinks. And she shares the trials, tragedies, and ultimate victories from her own marriage, family, and ministry that led her to wondrous, life-transforming truth--and reveals her thoughts and feelings every step of the way.
This special updated edition includes an additional introduction and updated content throughout the book.
 
 
 

Book Review: The Love Dare FIREPROOF by

Title: The Love Dare
Author: Stephen Kendrick, Alex Kendrick
Category: Christian/Relationship
Pub. Date: 01/01/2009
Publisher: B & H Books
Format: Leather Bound
Pages: 224
ISBN#: 0805448659  

Synopsis:  
The #1 New York Times best seller. More than 5 million units sold. Now available in a heat-burnished, simulated leather, keepsake gift edition.
 Unconditional love is eagerly promised at weddings, but rarely practiced in real life. As a result, romantic hopes are often replaced with disappointment in the home. But it doesn’t have to stay that way.
 The Love Dare, as featured in the popular new movie Fireproof (from the makers of Facing the Giants), is a 40-day challenge for husbands and wives to understand and practice unconditional love. Whether your marriage is hanging by a thread or healthy and strong, The Love Dare is a journey you need to take. It’s time to learn the keys to finding true intimacy and developing a dynamic marriage. Take the dare
 
 

It's Monday! What Are You Reading?

Guess what...Its Monday! What are you reading this week? This is a weekly event to list the books completed last week, the books currently being reading, and the books to be finish this week. It is hosted by  Book Journey. 

I have been traveling the past couple of weeks so not  a lot has changed. Still working on these three books and hope to have them done soon. As well as some reviews. Thanks for stopping by. 


What I Read Last Week:  
Cera's Place by Elizabeth Mckenna
Fabled Snigma by G. L. Briggs
Willow by Amy Richie
In The Red by Selah Janel
Life Drawing for Beginners by Roisin Meaney
At The Feet of Jesus by Joanna Weaver
     

Sunday, October 21, 2012

Sunday's with Rev. Kim



Welcome to my feature. It's my prayer that you will be encouraged and blessed by following and becoming involved in this journey to love the Lord and His word.

I invite you to visit often. The Welcome mat is always here, as my ideas, insights from Gods word is blogged as often as I can.  Rev. Kim 
 Sunday's with Rev. Kim is a feature that I created here on Breath of Life.



Saturday, October 20, 2012

On My WishList



On My Wishlist is a Meme hosted by Book Chick City.
  
On My Wishlist is a weekly meme that allows us to share the books we haven't bought yet but are waiting to be bought and devoured. If you are anything like me then your wishlist is getting longer by the day! If you would like to take part and have your own 'On My Wishlist' post then you can more info here. (This post was inspired by the fab In My Mailbox by  Kristi at The Story Siren

 My on My Wishlist includes books that are older and already out, or brand new. Today I am bringing you four books that I am dying to read and get for my book shelves.  
So lets see what we have here this week.. I well update when I get these books. There are so many that I decided to narrow it sown to just four this week.!

Book Review: Special Delivery by Kathi Macias

Title: Special Delivery
Author: Kathi Macias
Category: Christian Fiction
Pub. Date: 03/06/2012
Publisher: New Hope Publisher (Al)
Format: Paperback
Pages: 315
ISBN#: 159669307X

Synopsis:  
In book two of the "Freedom" series, readers find Mara fighting against her attraction to Bible college student Jonathan Flannery even while wrestling with risking her own precarious safety to become involved in the rescue of another girl who is pregnant and desperately wants to escape her captors and save her own life, as well as her child's. Halfway around the world in a brothel in Thailand, a young girl is rescued with the promise of being reunited with her younger sister who was adopted by an interracial couple in the States, friends of Jonathan's family. Meanwhile, Jefe--Mara's uncle, who held her as a sex slave in his brothel in San Diego for years--seeks revenge for Mara's testimony that put him behind bars for life. Will his underworld connections be successful in kidnapping and killing the girl who believes she has finally won her freedom?  

Friday, October 19, 2012

Book Review: Cera's Place by Elizabeth McKenna

Title: Cera's Place
Author: Elizabeth McKenna
Category: Historical/Fiction
Pub. Date: 12/19/2011
Publisher: CreateSpace
Format: E-Book
Pages: 270
ISBN#: 1468110276
Synopsis:  San Francisco saloon owner Cera Cassidy offers redemption to any woman looking for honest work. At Cera’s Place, men can get a decent hot meal with a whiskey, but if they want anything more, they have to take their desires elsewhere. One summer night, a distraught Chinese girl bursts through the swinging doors with a shocking tale of murder, kidnapping, and prostitution. Outraged, Cera vows to set things right.
Jake Tanner, a scarred ex-soldier haunted by the horrors of the Civil War, is on a mission to fulfill a friend’s dying wish. The trail has brought him to Cera’s door. Captivated by her Irish beauty, he wants to join her fight – but will she let him?  

Book Review: Engraved by Amber Garza

Title: Engraved
Author: Amber Garza
Category: Suspense/Young Adult
Pub. Date: 06/12/2012
Publisher: Createspace
Format: E-Book
Pages: 399
ISBN#: 1475221304

Synopsis:  
A missing girl.
A young woman running from her shameful past.
A person with a dark secret who will stop at nothing to keep it hidden.
And the act of betrayal that binds them all together.  



Book Review: At the Feet of Jesus by JOANNA WEAVER

Title: At the Feet of Jesus
Author: JOANNA WEAVER
Category: Devotional
Pub. Date: 10/02/2012
Publisher: WaterBrook Press
Format: Hardback
Pages: 400
ISBN#: 0307731006 
Synopsis: You were made for more than serving God; you were made to know Him.Intimacy with God—to know Him and be known by Him. It is what our hearts desperately need, but somehow life conspires to keep us busy and distracted.
For anyone who struggles when it comes to daily devotions, At the Feet of Jesus extends an irresistible invitation to set aside your duties and find the amazing peace and incredible joy that come from time alone with Him. Drawn from Joanna Weaver’s beloved Bethany trilogy, each reading in this 365-day devotional includes a Bible reading passage and reflection question. All-new material and “Going Deeper” sidebars are also woven throughout.
Discover for yourself the riches that come from spending a portion of each day alone with God. At the feet of Jesus—where true life begins!
Includes a unique One-Year Bible Reading Guide.  

Thursday, October 18, 2012

Tricia Goyer "Memory Jar" Giveaway

  The-memory-jar-giveaway500_canvas_760

Book Review: Life Drawing for Beginners by Roisin Meaney

Title: Life Drawing For Beginners
Author: Roisin Meaney
Category: Women's Fiction
Pub. Date: 08/14/2012
Publisher: 5 Spot
Format: Paperback
Pages:  432
ISBN#: 145550484
Synopsis:  From the author of Semi-Sweet comes a delightful new novel about the art of friendship, love, and (still) life. When Audrey Matthews offers an evening class in life drawing, all she's looking for is a little extra pocket money and something to fill her Tuesday nights. So she hires a model and recruits five students - each of whom have their own reason for being there. For Zarek, a Polish immigrant, the class is a welcome distraction and a place to escape his dull cafe job and noisy roommate. Then there's the handsome, mysterious James who has moved to the small town of Carrickbawn looking for a new start for himself and his daughter. He's vowed to keep to himself, but then his interest in Jackie, the class model and single mom, takes a more personal turn. While Audrey has just fallen in love -- with the adorable puppy in the window of the local pet shop. Will she be put off by the store's brusque owner or does she find out that his bark is worse than his bite? As the weeks pass, it becomes clear to the members of the drawing class that their fellow students aren't exactly who they seem...  

Book Review: LOVE BOMB by Lisa Zeidner

Title: LOVE BOMB
Author: Lisa Zeidner
Category: Contemporary
Pub. Date: 09/04/2012
Publisher: Sarah Crichton Books
Format: E-Book
Pages: 272
ISBN#: 0374192715

Synopsis:  
 An inventive, mordantly funny novel about love, marriage, stalkers, and the indignities of parenthood.
In quaint Haddonfield, New Jersey, Tess is about to marry Gabe in her childhood home. Her mother, Helen, is in a panic about the guests, who include warring exes, crying babies, jealous girlfriends, and too many psychiatrists. But the most difficult guest was never on the list at all: a woman in a wedding dress and a gas mask, armed with a rifle, a bomb trigger strapped to her arm. Lisa Zeidner’s audacious novel Love Bomb begins as a hostage drama and blossoms into a far-reaching tale about the infinite varieties of passion and heartbreak.
Who has offended this nutcase, and how? Does she seek revenge against the twice-divorced philanderer? Or is her agenda political—against the army general? Or the polygamous Muslim from Mali? While the warm, wise Helen attempts to bond with the masked woman and control the hysteria, the hostages begin to untangle what connects them to one another, and to their captor. But not until the SWAT team arrives does “the terrorist of love” unveil her real motives . . .Critics have praised Lisa Zeidner’s prose for its “unforced edginess and power”; her fiction “shines with humor, wisdom, and poignancy.” In her most masterful novel yet, Zeidner gives us a tough yet tender social comedy, a romance with guts, a serious frolic written out of deep affection for all that it skewers.
  

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...