Tuesday, September 30, 2014

TEASER TUESDAYS

Teaser Tuesdays is a weekly bookish meme, hosted by MizB of Should Be Reading. Anyone can play along! Just do the following:
  • Grab your current read
  • Open to a random page
  • Share two (2) “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page
  • BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS! (make sure that what you share doesn’t give too much away! You don’t want to ruin the book for others!)
Share the title & author, too, so that other TT participants can add the book to their TBR Lists if they like your teas.  

Monday, September 29, 2014

It's Monday... What Are You Reading?



Guess what...Its Monday! What are you reading this week?

This is a weekly event to list the books completed last week, the books currently being reading, and the books to be finish this week. It is hosted by  Book Journey. 

Thanks for stopping by. First let me just say that I have been in a little bit of a reading slump (for lack of a better word)... But I have regained some much needed reading pep,

Sunday, September 28, 2014

Sunday Post #2


The Sunday Post is a weekly meme hosted here @ Caffeinated Book Reviewer. It’s a chance to share news~ A post to recap the past week on your blog, showcase books and things we have received. Share news about what is coming up on our blog for the week ahead. See rules here: Sunday Post Meme 


Happy Sunday Y'all! This past week was some what laid back until Thursday. The weather became chilly about the middle of the week and that some times reeks havoc with my fibro. (fibromyalgia) But the sun is out. And I have finally started climbing out of a blog/reading slump. And I am loving working on posts and organizing my life again. Wonderful feeling of accomplishment by adding this post to my blogging world. So on to a peek into this past week and what I am working on, as well as what is going on else where in the blogging world.


Last Week On The Blog


Saturday, September 27, 2014

On My Wishlist

On My Wishlist is a Meme created by Book Chick City.
  
On My Wishlist is a weekly meme that allows us to share the books we haven't bought yet but are waiting to be bought and devoured. If you are anything like me then your wishlist is getting longer by the day! If you would like to take part and have your own 'On My Wishlist' post then you can more info here. (This post was inspired by the fab In My Mailbox by  Kristi at The Story Siren)

Tuesday, September 23, 2014

TEASER TUESDAY

Teaser Tuesdays is a weekly bookish meme, hosted by MizB of Should Be Reading. Anyone can play along! Just do the following:
  • Grab your current read
  • Open to a random page
  • Share two (2) “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page
  • BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS! (make sure that what you share doesn’t give too much away! You don’t want to ruin the book for others!)
Share the title & author, too, so that other TT participants can add the book to their TBR Lists if they like your teas.  

Monday, September 22, 2014

It's Monday...What Are You Reading?



Guess what...Its Monday! What are you reading this week?

This is a weekly event to list the books completed last week, the books currently being reading, and the books to be finish this week. It is hosted by  Book Journey. 

Thanks for stopping by. First let me just say that I have been in a little bit of a reading slump (for lack of a better word)... But I have regained some much needed reading pep,

Review: BREAKING POINT by KRISTEN SIMMONS

Title: BREAKING POINT
Author: KRISTEN SIMMONS
Category: Y/A - Dsytopian
Pub. Date: 02/12/2013
Publisher: Tor Teen
Format: Hardback
Pages: 400
ISBN#: 076532956x
Series: Article 5 #2

Synopsis:  
The second installment in Kristen Simmons's fast-paced, gripping YA dystopian series.
After faking their deaths to escape from prison, Ember Miller and Chase Jennings have only one goal: to lay low until the Federal Bureau of Reformation forgets they ever existed.
Near-celebrities now for the increasingly sensationalized tales of their struggles with the government, Ember and Chase are recognized and taken in by the Resistance—an underground organization working to systematically take down the government. At headquarters, all eyes are on the sniper, an anonymous assassin taking out FBR soldiers one by one. Rumors are flying about the sniper’s true identity, and Ember and Chase welcome the diversion….
Until the government posts its most-wanted list, and their number one suspect is Ember herself.
Orders are shoot to kill, and soldiers are cleared to fire on suspicion alone. Suddenly Ember can’t even step onto the street without fear of being recognized, and “laying low” is a joke. Even members of the Resistance are starting to look at her sideways.
With Chase urging her to run, Ember must decide: Go into hiding…or fight back?
 
 

Sunday, September 21, 2014

Review: ARTICLE 5 by KRISTEN SIMMONS

Title: ARTICLE 5
Author: KRISTEN SIMMONS
Category: Y/A, Dystopia
Pub. Date: 01/31/2012  
Publisher: Tor Teen
Format: Hardback
Pages: 362
ISBN#: 0765329581
Series: Article 5 #1

Synopsis:  
New York, Los Angeles, and Washington, D.C., have been abandoned.
The Bill of Rights has been revoked, and replaced with the Moral Statutes.
There are no more police—instead, there are soldiers. There are no more fines for bad behavior—instead, there are arrests, trials, and maybe worse. People who get arrested usually don't come back.
Seventeen-year-old Ember Miller is old enough to remember that things weren't always this way. Living with her rebellious single mother, it's hard for her to forget that people weren't always arrested for reading the wrong books or staying out after dark. It's hard to forget that life in the United States used to be different.
Ember has perfected the art of keeping a low profile. She knows how to get the things she needs, like food stamps and hand-me-down clothes, and how to pass the random home inspections by the military. Her life is as close to peaceful as circumstances allow.
That is, until her mother is arrested for noncompliance with Article 5 of the Moral Statutes. And one of the arresting officers is none other than Chase Jennings—the only boy Ember has ever loved.

Sunday Post #1



The Sunday Post is a weekly meme hosted here @ Caffeinated Book Reviewer. It’s a chance to share news~ A post to recap the past week on your blog, showcase books and things we have received. Share news about what is coming up on our blog for the week ahead. See rules here: Sunday Post Meme 


Happy Sunday Y'all! This past week was some what laid back until Thursday. The weather became chilly about the middle of the week and that some times reeks havoc with my fibro. (fibromyalgia) But the sun is out. And I have finally started climbing out of a blog/reading slump. And I am loving working on posts and organizing my life again. Wonderful feeling of accomplishment by adding this post to my blogging world. So on to a peek into this past week and what I am working on, as well as what is going on else where in the blogging world.


Last Week On The Blog


This Week On The Blog

  • Breaking Point (Review) 
  • Goodbye to Yesterday (Review) 
  • New Kid Catastrophes (Review) 
  • On My Wishlist 

Around the Blogoshpere

.  
New Arrivals to Breath Of Life

Sad to say, but I didn't receive any books for review this week, but hey it gives me a chance to get caught up on the other books I have to read. 



Saturday, September 20, 2014

On My WishList

On My Wishlist is a Meme created by Book Chick City.
  
On My Wishlist is a weekly meme that allows us to share the books we haven't bought yet but are waiting to be bought and devoured. If you are anything like me then your wishlist is getting longer by the day! If you would like to take part and have your own 'On My Wishlist' post then you can more info here. (This post was inspired by the fab In My Mailbox by  Kristi at The Story Siren)

Friday, September 19, 2014

Cover Reveal: Aging Gracefully by Dr. Sharon V. King

It is Cover Reveal day here on Breath of Life. 

We have here today a Cover Reveal for Aging Gracefully 
with the 23rd Psalm by Dr. Sharon V. King



  

Aging Gracefully with the 23rd Psalm
by Dr. Sharon V. King
Inspirations Imprint

Blurb:
Can we talk about getting older? With another Baby Boomer turning 60 every 7.5 seconds, the “age wave” has captured the attention of such diverse fields as financial planning, cosmetics, medicine, and—religion. How does aging affect our spirituality? Does it deepen our relationship with God, or have decades of life’s roller coaster rides left us “spiritually challenged?”  Life after 50 can be particularly challenging for women because of the personal, social, and physical changes that naturally occur as we age. A rich spiritual life can help 50+ women gain perspective about their aging process and seek God’s guidance as they encounter the changes, challenges, and opportunities of later life.

Aging Gracefully with the 23rd Psalm applies some of the best-loved verses in scripture to a reflective study of ways women can grow in grace as they grow in years. The book format provides reflections on themes of aging found in each verse of Psalm 23, such as facing forks in the road; making fresh starts; resolving past conflicts; coping with social, personal, and physical changes; navigating through emotional transitions; processing loss and grief; and end-of-life planning. Illustrations of each theme follow, using biblical examples, vignettes from the author’s personal aging journey, a Takeaway Message from each psalm verse, suggestions for group discussion topics, and a journaling exercise to help the reader write a “Prayer Memo” to the Good Shepherd of the 23rd Psalm.
 

Release Date: 
January 27, 2015



Book Links:

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/23236855-aging-gracefully-with-the-23rd-psalm

 Author Bio:


Sharon is a class of ’69 Baby Boomer, a native of Pennsylvania, and now resident of Georgia.  The daughter of church musicians, she first worked as a music teacher and then turned her interests to writing about and working with older adults.A recently retired gerontology professor, Sharon now writes inspirational books and articles for 50+ women.
 

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...