Tuesday, January 28, 2014

Have You Ever Felt Destined to Fail?

Title: Destined to Fail
Author: Samantha March
Category: Young Adult
Pub. Date: 10/19/2011
Publisher: Marching Ink LLC
Format: Kindle
Pages: 292
ISBN#: B005xn1560


Synopsis:  
Jasmine Jones is ready to begin her new life as a college student, and is ecstatic to have best friend Abby by her side. But weeks into their new college life, Abby drops the bomb- she is pregnant, and dropping out of college. Jasmine can’t handle the fact that Abby is wasting her opportunity to get an education, and going back to her cheating, abusive boyfriend. She struggles to move on from her friendship with Abby, and befriends two new girls at college- Kiley and Cari. Everything seems back on track for Jasmine- great new friendships and roommates, a strong relationship with boyfriend Nate, and excelling at her college courses. But Jasmine’s newfound happiness is shattered when her pregnancy test comes out positive. Does she have to drop out of college now and become a young mother? Will Nate stay with her? How can she afford a child? Jasmine’s life has been filled with obstacles and challenges along the way- from a missing father, sexual and physical abuse, and addictions that tore her family apart. With this latest setback, Jasmine fears her life will always be a struggle. Destined to Fail is one woman’s story about overcoming adversity in life, about taking the negatives and finding a positive, and about never giving up hope. 

TEASER TUESDAYS

Teaser Tuesdays is a weekly bookish meme, hosted by MizB of Should Be Reading. Anyone can play along! Just do the following:
  • Grab your current read
  • Open to a random page
  • Share two (2) “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page
  • BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS! (make sure that what you share doesn’t give too much away! You don’t want to ruin the book for others!)
Share the title & author, too, so that other TT participants can add the book to their TBR Lists if they like your teas.   


Monday, January 27, 2014

Leaves You Guessing All The Way To The End, And Then?

Title: THE COVE
Author: CATHERINE COULTER
Category: Mystery/Romance
Pub. Date: 11/10/2003
Publisher: G.P. Putnam's Sons
Format: Hardback
Pages: 336
ISBN#: 0399150862
Series: FBI Thriller #1

Synopsis:  
Sally St. John Brainerd is on the run from the authorities, who want to question her about her possible involvement in her father's murder. FBI Special Agent James Quinlan goes undercover in the picturesque town of The Cove-home of the World's Greatest Ice Cream-where Sally seeks sanctuary. But The Cove and its elderly residents harbor sinister secrets of their own. After Quinlan and Sally discover two dead bodies, Sally vanishes, and Quinlan turns to his partner Dillon Savich to rescue her from a place where no one should be held. Quinlan discovers she is indeed the key to a murder-but whose murder?  

Are You A Global Vagabond?

Title:Wanderlove
Author: Kirsten Hubbard
Category: Young Adult
Pub. Date: 03/13/2012
Publisher: Delacorte Books for Young Readers
Format: Kindle
Pages: 354
ISBN#: B005723K8K

Synopsis:  
It all begins with a stupid question:
Are you a Global Vagabond?
No, but 18-year-old Bria Sandoval wants to be. In a quest for independence, her neglected art, and no-strings-attached hookups, she signs up for a guided tour of Central America—the wrong one. Middle-aged tourists with fanny packs are hardly the key to self-rediscovery. When Bria meets Rowan, devoted backpacker and dive instructor, and his outspokenly humanitarian sister Starling, she seizes the chance to ditch her group and join them off the beaten path.
Bria’s a good girl trying to go bad. Rowan’s a bad boy trying to stay good. As they travel across a panorama of Mayan villages, remote Belizean islands, and hostels plagued with jungle beasties, they discover what they’ve got in common: both seek to leave behind the old versions of themselves. And the secret to escaping the past, Rowan’s found, is to keep moving forward.
But Bria comes to realize she can’t run forever, no matter what Rowan says. If she ever wants the courage to fall for someone worthwhile, she has to start looking back.
 
 

It Is Monday! What Are You Reading?

Guess what...Its Monday! What are you reading this week? This is a weekly event to list the books completed last week, the books currently being reading, and the books to be finish this week. It is hosted by  Book Journey. 

I have been traveling the past couple of weeks so not  a lot has changed. Still working on these three books and hope to have them done soon. As well as some reviews. Thanks for stopping by.
 
What I Read Last Week:  

DESTROYER by JOHN REINHARD DIZON
You Are Loved: Inspiration to Refresh Your Soul by

Saturday, January 25, 2014

If You Could Be Someone Else, Would You?

Title: BeSwitched
Author: Molly Snow
Category: YA
Pub. Date: 09/13/2011
Publisher: Breezy Reds
Format: E-Book
Pages: 145
ISBN#: B005ML9YX6
Series: BeSwitched #1

Synopsis:  
Surla and Cathy have a HUGE secret!
After spending hundreds of years as a familiar to an abusive witch, Surla runs away to find freedom. But there's one catch! The Black Cats' Curse states she will have to switch bodies with the first lonesome soul to cross her path.
Painfully shy Cathy Phillips can't muster the courage to ask hot water polo player, Craig Nelson, on a date. Neither can she stand up to the three biggest snobs at Washington High. What's a girl to do? Could switching lives with a sassy, magical cat be the answer to her wishes?
The "curse" of being "BeSwitched" may just be the most purr-fect secret these new best friends could ever have!
 

What Does Every Parent Fear?

Title: THE DEEP END OF THE OCEAN
Author: Jacquelyn Mitchard
Category: Contemporary/Chick lit
Pub. Date: 06/01/1996
Publisher: Viking Adult
Format: Hardback
Pages: 434
ISBN#: 0670865796
Series: Cappadora Family #1

Synopsis:  
Used Hardcover published by Viking, N.Y., 1996, 434 pages in Very Good Condition. Clean Copy with no marks, rips, tears, creases, loose or bent pages. Price on the Dust Jacket's inside flap has not been clipped. Beth Cappadora experiences every parents nightmare, she lets her guard down for a moment and her child vanishes. Despite a massive nation-wide search, her three-year old son Ben is never found. His disappearance destroys her family driving a shattering wedge between her husband and herself, and transforming her other son, Vincent into a troubled delinquent driven by the guilt that he was supposed to be watching over his younger brother at the time. After nine long years of waiting and hoping, the family decides to leave the area and start a family restaurant in Chicago and maybe a chance at a new life and a reason to continue living. And then it happens: Ben reappears after nine long years. A story about a family redeemed and reborn, one that will stun you with its pain, and surprise you with its hope. It is a story about a family catapulted into a hurricane and the startling way in which they emerged, a touching, and wonderful parable of redemption through suffering and love. A universal tale of traumatic loss, a mother's hope and love and family relationships. We ship within 24 hours of your purchase with a Delivery Confirmation.   

On My Wishlist

On My Wishlist is a Meme created by Book Chick City.
  
On My Wishlist is a weekly meme that allows us to share the books we haven't bought yet but are waiting to be bought and devoured. If you are anything like me then your wishlist is getting longer by the day! If you would like to take part and have your own 'On My Wishlist' post then you can more info here. (This post was inspired by the fab In My Mailbox by  Kristi at The Story Siren


What Do You Know About God's Original Chosen Nation?

Title: What Every Christian Should Know About The Jewish People
Author: Sheryl Young
Category: Christian
Pub. Date: 04/21/2008
Publisher: Pleasant Word-A-Division of Wine Press Pub.
Format: Paperback
Pages: 296
ISBN#: 141411074x

Synopsis:  
Why is it imperative for every Christian to gain a fresh, love-filled perspective toward the Jewish people today? What makes a person consider him or herself Jewish? How can "The Church" speak up for Israel's existence? And the often-debated question: Do Jewish people really need to be "converted"? Inside are answers to these questions and many more! Come discover the key to building bridges between the only two faiths who believe in the one true God.  

Friday, January 24, 2014

Want an Amazing Bible Study?

Title: ONE in a million
Author: Priscilla Shirer
Category: Christian
Pub. Date: 03/01/2010
Publisher: B & H Books
Format: Paperback
Pages: 224
ISBN#: 080546476x

Synopsis:  
The Egyptians in Exodus 1 were intent on enslaving the Israelites, wearing them down so that God’s chosen people would become disillusioned and not live up to their destiny. Of the original two million Israelites who received God’s invitation to enter the Promised Land, only two actually entered it!
Similarly, modern day Christians often hear and understand the promises of God each Sunday morning at church but then rarely choose to experience them in everyday life. In One in a Million, Bible teacher Priscilla Shirer invites us to change that pattern for good, living beyond our circumstances and expecting to see God move in miraculous ways day after day. Without a doubt, we can find and follow God’s purpose for our journey. We can make it to the Promised Land!

Wednesday, January 22, 2014

Want Some Haunting, Romance, Exceptionaly Written Suspence?

Title: Haunted by the PAST
Author: Kelly Hagen
Category: Christian Romantic Suspense
Pub. Date: 11/17/2013
Publisher: TreasureLine
Format: Kindle
Pages: 136
ISBN#: BooFEMQZR6

Synopsis:  
Nadia never dreamed her life would be turned upside down, but that’s exactly what happened after her husband’s murder. After she receives a chilling letter in the mail soon after his death, she decides to move out of town, in hopes to leave it all behind.
Trent has been praying for God to lead the right woman into his life. As soon as he lays eyes on Nadia he knows she’s the one. But will the situation they find themselves in be more than he can handle? Will their faith in God be enough to bring them through the uncertain future Nadia faces, letting their friendship grow into more?
 
 

Want A New Study Bible For This Year?

Title: THE CEB STUDY BIBLE 
Category: Bible's 
Pub. Date: 10/15/2013
Publisher: Common English Bible
Format: Hardback
Pages: 2688
ISBN#: 1609260295

Synopsis:   
The CEB Study Bible gives you the tools, illustrations, and explanations necessary for making informed decisions about the meaning of the Bible. The notes in this study Bible don't tell you what to believe. Instead, they give you the context for what the books of the Bible meant to their earliest readers and what the Bible means right now. The CEB Study Bible is for encouragement and challenge, for guidance and reflection, for study and prayer:
  • The reliable, readable, and relevant Common English Bible translation with the Apocrypha, in a single-column setting
  • Detailed book introductions, outlines, and notes from the finest biblical studies professors
  • Full-color throughout, including more than 200 illustrations, photographs, maps, and charts
  • Hundreds of thousands of cross references
  • More than 300 indexed sidebar and general articles
  • 21 full-color maps designed by National Geographic and fully indexed

Tuesday, January 21, 2014

TEASER TUESDAYS

Teaser Tuesdays is a weekly bookish meme, hosted by MizB of Should Be Reading. Anyone can play along! Just do the following:
  • Grab your current read
  • Open to a random page
  • Share two (2) “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page
  • BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS! (make sure that what you share doesn’t give too much away! You don’t want to ruin the book for others!)
Share the title & author, too, so that other TT participants can add the book to their TBR Lists if they like your teas.   

Monday, January 20, 2014

How Do You Believe God See's You?

Title: The GOD Who Sees You
Author: Tammy Maltby & Christian Buchanan
Category: Christian
Pub. Date: 4/1/2012
Publisher: David C. Cook
Format: Paperback
Pages: 240
ISBN#: 143476799x

>Synopsis:   
For anyone who ever feels invisible, unnoticed, or unappreciated, here's an invitation to rediscover the biblical God who sees you.
Tammy Maltby wants women to know their lives matter. So she invites you to explore the real-life implications of knowing God sees you, He loves you passionately, and He's intimately involved with every aspect of your life. God wants you to see Him too and to partner with you in bringing about His kingdom.
When you take this reality to heart, you will live more honestly, confidently, and fearlessly—because everything looks different once you really see the God who sees you.  



It's Monday! What Are You Reading?

Guess what...Its Monday! What are you reading this week? This is a weekly event to list the books completed last week, the books currently being reading, and the books to be finish this week. It is hosted by  Book Journey. 

I have been traveling the past couple of weeks so not  a lot has changed. Still working on these three books and hope to have them done soon. As well as some reviews. Thanks for stopping by.
 
What I Read Last Week:  

The Vintage Club by Darin Gibby
The Road Home (Apple Creek Dreams #2)by Patrick E. Craig

Tuesday, January 14, 2014

Book Blogger New Year's Challenge 2014: Day 14


Rachel over at Parajunkee is hosting what I believe is a awesome New Year’s Challenge. Click the Parajunkee above to check it out!

I do not usually like to voice or post something like this out into the blog world or else where. But I will try to do this as simple and not sound pushy about it. 


TEASER TUESDAYS

Teaser Tuesdays is a weekly bookish meme, hosted by MizB of Should Be Reading. Anyone can play along! Just do the following:
  • Grab your current read
  • Open to a random page
  • Share two (2) “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page
  • BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS! (make sure that what you share doesn’t give too much away! You don’t want to ruin the book for others!)
Share the title & author, too, so that other TT participants can add the book to their TBR Lists if they like your teas.   

Monday, January 13, 2014

It's Monday! What Are You Reading?

Guess what...Its Monday! What are you reading this week? This is a weekly event to list the books completed last week, the books currently being reading, and the books to be finish this week. It is hosted by  Book Journey. 

I have been traveling the past couple of weeks so not  a lot has changed. Still working on these three books and hope to have them done soon. As well as some reviews. Thanks for stopping by.
 


Book Blogger New Year's Challenge 2014: Day 13


Rachel over at Parajunkee is hosting what I believe is a awesome New Year’s Challenge. Click the Parajunkee above to check it out!

I do not usually like to voice or post something like this out into the blog world or else where. But I will try to do this as simple and not sound pushy about it. 


Book Blogger New Year's Challenge 2014: Day 12


Rachel over at Parajunkee is hosting what I believe is a awesome New Year’s Challenge. Click the Parajunkee above to check it out!

Day 12 and I am not to sure what plans I may work on to get more followers. 

But as of right now I am going to try to work on my facebook page as well as possibly doing more of feature and following. Enjoyed doing it before but let it drop and didn't pick it back up. 

So there you have it, What are some of your plans for this year?

Saturday, January 11, 2014

Book Blogger New Year's Challenge 2014: Day 11


Rachel over at Parajunkee is hosting what I believe is a awesome New Year’s Challenge. Click the Parajunkee above to check it out!

After going through my shelves on Goodreads and checking the list to make sure I did not have books on twice, (yea I do that) I have 89 books that I actual have. Some are e-books and some are actual books on my shelf.  That may not seem like a lot to some. But this list grows with the offers from publishers and authors that email or book signings.  

But for now this is how many I have as of today. How many do you have on your TBR list?

Friday, January 10, 2014

Book Blogger New Year's Challenge 2014: Day 10


Rachel over at Parajunkee is hosting what I believe is a awesome New Year’s Challenge. Click the Parajunkee above to check it out!  

Wow! Already at day 10. This has been great and has hopefully gotten me to start off this year trying my best to post as my schedule here says that I do. 
So with further a do:
 

Thursday, January 9, 2014

Book Blogger New Year's Challenge 2014: Day 9


Rachel over at Parajunkee is hosting what I believe is a awesome New Year’s Challenge.

Click the Parajunkee above to check it out!

This post is going to be short and sweet. 

Unless I can find one very close to where I am, I will not be able to attend any Cons. 

Possibly a few book signings and that would be great, but will have to check into them as well. 

What about you? Do you have any plans for cons or events this year?

Wednesday, January 8, 2014

Have You Ever Given Blind Faith to Someone?

Title: Blind Faith
Author: Michael Schneider
Category: Romance
Pub. Date: Oct. 2010
Publisher: The Writers Coffee Shop Publishing House
Format: Kindle
Pages: 160
ISBN#: 13004MDLOSI

Synopsis:  
Blind Faith is a romantic suspense novel set in modern day east Texas. Small town life has taken an unexpected turn for the sheltered Karsyn McKenna. Caught in a web of deception and lies that has led to murder, she must choose between Chase Carter, a local rancher who is secretly in love with her and Gabriel Thompson, the mysterious new stranger in town.

Will blind faith be Karsyn McKenna’s salvation or her destruction?
 

Can Two Hearts Become One?

Title: Not the Same Season
Author: Lindsey Gray
Category: Romance
Pub. Date: 11/19/2013
Publisher: The Writers Coffee Shop Publishing House
Format: E-Book
Pages: 48
ISBN# 9781612132983

Synopsis:   
Two broken hearts embarked on a holiday season in a way they never had before. Divorced.
Mitch had been badly burned by love, but was willing to take a chance . . . with the right woman.
Hannah had lived everyday with the grief love had brought her and followed her everywhere.
Can two hearts find love and heal each other during the most difficult season of the year?
 
 

Book Blogger New Year's Challenge 2014: Day 8

Rachel over at Parajunkee is hosting what I believe is a awesome New Year’s Challenge.

Click the Parajunkee above to check it out!
Oh wow, my favorite moment in book blogging? My question would be do I only have to tell one? This past year I had several, but I will reign in and decide to only tell of one.


Tuesday, January 7, 2014

TEASER TUESDAY

Teaser Tuesdays is a weekly bookish meme, hosted by MizB of Should Be Reading. Anyone can play along! Just do the following:
  • Grab your current read
  • Open to a random page
  • Share two (2) “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page
  • BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS! (make sure that what you share doesn’t give too much away! You don’t want to ruin the book for others!)
Share the title & author, too, so that other TT participants can add the book to their TBR Lists if they like your teas.   

Book Blogger New Year Challenge 2014: Day 7


Rachel over at Parajunkee is hosting what I believe is a awesome New Year’s Challenge.
Click the button above to check it out!

This kinda took me a little bit to not only think of but to make sure I put my top ten book blogger pet peeves. For one, I probably have or do things myself on my blog that would be others pet peeves. 

But since I signed on to not only do this New Year's Challenge when I checked it out, I must do this one as well and hopefully I will learn from it. 

Monday, January 6, 2014

It's Monday! What Are You Reading?

Guess what...Its Monday! What are you reading this week? This is a weekly event to list the books completed last week, the books currently being reading, and the books to be finish this week. It is hosted by  Book Journey. 

I have been traveling the past couple of weeks so not  a lot has changed. Still working on these three books and hope to have them done soon. As well as some reviews. Thanks for stopping by.
 
What I Read Last Week:   

Beyond this Moment (Timber Ridge Reflections #2)by (Goodreads Author), (Narrator) The Best Gift by



Book Blogger New Year Challenge 2014: Day 6




Okay, What was my BEST BOOK of 2013 you ask? Well this is a hard one for me to pick just one. I read some AMAZING books this past year. So for this one I am going to give you my top two. 

Sunday, January 5, 2014

Book Blogger New Year's Challenge 2014: Day 5



 The TRAVELER'S GIFT by ANDY ANDREWS

Gave this one a Two Clock, just not worth reading for me. You can check out my review for the reasons, just don't even what to discus why on either of these two.





As I said above check out my reviews as to why on both of these. But there you have my worst books read in 2014. Do you have one? If so leave a comment as to what it was. 

Saturday, January 4, 2014

Book Blogger New Years Challenge 2014: Day 4




Day 4, so we are talking books we won't miss this year.  My list could go on forever, seriously.  So I'm going to share three of the books I really want to read.  



Three by Kristen Simmons


Friday, January 3, 2014

Book Blogger New Years Challenge 2014: Day 3




The Books of 2013 that I am sad that I missed:  Well I will start off with the first three on my list are books that I actually have and still was not able to get to but wanted to.

  1. The 5th Wave by Rick Yancy  - started but stopped due to other obligations. 
  2. ALLEGIANT (Divergent Series) by Veronica Roth
  3. Endless Knight by Kresley Cole (have book one and two in this series and wanted to start with one.. so didn't get to either of them)
  4. The Ocean at the End of the Lane by Neil Gaiman
  5. Dark Witch: (book one)by Nora Roberts
  6. The Chance by Karen Kingsberry
  7. The Secret Keeper by Beverly Lewis
 So there you have my sad I missed list for 2013:  What is on your sad missed list?

Thursday, January 2, 2014

Book Blogger New Year's Challenge 2014: Day 2


Al righty!!  Day two of this blogger challenge is my Pros and Cons of Blogging list. This alone is a challenge for me to list. But here we go:

Wednesday, January 1, 2014

Book Blogger New Years Challenge 2014: Day 1

Hello 2014!!!  
  
As I was looking back on this past year, I have been sluggish to say the least. Some due to health some due to just well I will chalk it up to just not being on top like I should be on my blog. But as well I have come to the point that I do Love Love to read and review, meeting new people, and getting the word out about some amazing reads and authors. So when I read Parajunkee's  Book Blogger New Years Challenge for 2014, I said "I am in."  

Here goes my Day One Post and my very first post for "2014"


Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...