Saturday, August 31, 2013

Book Review: ENTICE by Amber Garza

Title: ENTICE
Author: Amber Garza
Category: Fantasy/Paranormal/YA
Pub. Date: 07/09/2012
Publisher: Createspace
Format: Kindle
Pages: 224
ISBN#: B007SN1B94
Series: Prowl Trilogy #2

Synopsis:  
Mackenzie returns home from the summer with her grandma, certain that Wesley is out of her life for good. Until the nightmares resurface, and strange things start to happen.
Is Wesley back?
When the danger escalates and threatens those closest to her, Mackenzie must fight to save them. Only this time the evil is more powerful, and Mackenzie is faced with an impossible decision.
 
 

Book Review: Saving Grace by Darlene Ryan

Title: Saving Grace
Author: Darlene Ryan
Category: Young Adult
Pub. Date: 01/01/2006
Publisher: Orca Book Publisher
Format: Kindle
Pages: 112
ISBN#: 1554697069

Synopsis:  
Evie was pregnant and forced to give up the baby. But she can't just leave the child with strangers, especially when she thinks the baby is being neglected. With her boyfriend waiting in the truck, Evie snatches the baby and convinces him to drive her to Montreal where she plans to start a new life with her child. But when the baby won't eat and she and Justin argue, she ends up alone in a small town. As the baby becomes sicker, Evie must decide whether to admit her mistake and turn herself in, or to keep running.

Book Review: The TRAVELER'S GIFT by Andy Andrews

Title: The TRAVELER'S GIFT
Author: Andy Andrews
Category: Self Help
Pub. Date: 05/02/2005
Publisher: Thomas Nelson Publishers
Format: Paperback
Pages: 240
ISBN#: 0785273220

Synopsis:  
"""The Traveler's Gift"" effectively combines self-help with fiction . . . sustaining momentum"" """while simultaneously passing on instructions for positive thinking . . . an exemplary job at """""""providing positive suggestions for overcoming life's obstacles.""""" - Publishers Weekly
""""""Andy Andrews will challenge you to reach your fullest potential."""""" - John C. Maxwell, Founder, The INJOYTM Group
"The Traveler's Gift""""""" """"""touched me in a way no other book ever has."""""""" - Barbara Johnson, Humorist and Best-Selling Author
Only a few months ago, he was a successful executive. Now he's a desperate man. But a divine adventure is about to unfold. Join David Ponder on an incredible journey that will help you discover the Seven Decisions for Success.
In the tradition of best-selling books by Og Mandino, """"""""The Traveler's Gift"""""""" is destined to become a classic.
 
 

Book Review: LAUGH AGAIN by CHARLES R. SWINDOLL

Title: LAUGH AGAIN
Author: Charles R. Swindoll
Category: Christian
Pub. Date: 3/23/95
Publisher: Thomas Nelson Publishers
Format: Kindle
Pages: 252
ISBN#: 1418516074

Synopsis:  
Did you hear the one about the Christian who couldn't keep from laughing?

Chuck Swindoll has not only "heard" it, he "tells" it in this delightful book that gives us permission to be happy again.

"When did life stop being funny?" Swindoll asks. His answer is found in this best-selling book which speaks to all busy, joy-drained people?from the pressured businessman to the harried homemaker. In "Laugh Again," readers will discover ways to live in the present, say "no" to negativism, and realize that, while no one's life is perfect, joy and humor can be inspirational.

Let Chuck Swindoll show you how to experience outrageous joy . . . and learn to laugh again!


On My Wishlist

On My Wishlist is a Meme created by Book Chick City.
  
On My Wishlist is a weekly meme that allows us to share the books we haven't bought yet but are waiting to be bought and devoured. If you are anything like me then your wishlist is getting longer by the day! If you would like to take part and have your own 'On My Wishlist' post then you can more info here. (This post was inspired by the fab In My Mailbox by  Kristi at The Story Siren


Thursday, August 29, 2013

Book Review: DEATH BY LIVING by N. D. WILSON

Title: DEATH BY LIVING
Author: N. D. WILSON
Category: Religion/NonFiction
Pub. Date: 07/30/2013
Publisher: Thomas Nelson Publishers
Format: Kindle
Pages: 208
ISBN#: 0849965039

Synopsis:  
A poetic portrait of faith, futility, and the joy of this mortal life.

In this astoundingly unique book, bestselling author N.D. Wilson reminds each of us that to truly live we must recognize that we are dying. Every second we create more of our past more decisions, more breathing, more love and more loathing, all of it slides by into the "gone" as we race to grab at more moments, at more memories made and already fading.

We are all authors, creators of our own pasts, of the books that will be our lives. We stare at the future or obsess about the present, but only the past has been set in stone, and we are the ones setting it. When we race across the wet concrete of time without purpose, without goals, without laughter and love and sacrifice, then we fail in our mortal moment. We race toward our inevitable ends without artistry and without beauty.
All of us must pause and breathe. See the past, see your life as the fruit of providence and thousands of personal narratives. What led to you? You did not choose where to set your feet in time. You choose where to set them next.Then, we must see the future, not just to stare into the fog of distant years but to see the crystal choices as they race toward us in this sharp foreground we call the present. We stand in the "now." God says create. Live. Choose. Shape the past. Etch your life in stone, and what you make will be forever.
 
 

Book Review: Teach Your Children God's Message by Patricia Allen McCuen

Title: Teach Your Children God's Message
Author: Patricia Allen McCuen
Category: Christian
Pub. Date: 04/25/2013
Publisher: Outskirts Press
Format: Paperback
Pages: 86
ISBN#:  9781432789589

Synopsis:  
God sternly and plainly stated, "You have to go back and tell." Somehow, I understood and already knew. I still did not know how I knew, but I knew and even replied, "Yes. I know. I have to tell." Shortly after leaving her fiance parents home located in Derry, PA, Patricia Allen and her fiance were crushed by a fully loaded coal truck. Patricia left her body twice at the scene of the accident. In the hospital when Patricia again left the pain of her severely injured body, she was held by God. She was shown a message she is to tell. Patricia's interpretation of what she was shown is not a new message but of one that is being greatly ignored. Teach the Child. "And ye shall teach them your children, speaking of them when thou sittest in thine house, and when thou walkest by the way, when thou liest down, and when thou risest up" (Deuteronomy 11:19). Society suffers greatly by ignoring this message. How this message is shown gives an insight into the understanding of the Connections between God, Humanity, and Children.  

Tuesday, August 27, 2013

Book Review: Calm Before the Storm by B. J. Robinson

Title: Calm Before the Storm
Author: B. J. Robinson
Category: Christian
Pub. Date: 02/23/2013
Publisher: Self pub
Format: Kindle
Pages: 130
ISBN#: B00BJWSF5A
Series: Storms of Life #1

Synopsis:  
Vera Minette Bradley lost too many loved ones in her life, and she wanted answers. Was it God's timing, someone playing God, or hospital error? This 18 chapter novel explores these questions when Vera returns to a small town she fled during the threat of a hurricane because her sister is ill and hospitalized. Jesus is our refuge through the storms of life, and Vera, her loved ones, and friends go through many in this inspirational romantic suspense. If you're a fan of humor, romance, suspense, mystery, or inspirational novels, enjoy this one for only $2.99.

Book Review: SEASONS OF DEATH THE SMOKY MOUNTAINS MURDER BY MARLENE MITCHELL AND GARY YEAGLE

Title:  SEASONS OF DEATH

Author: Marlene Mitchell & Gary Yeagle
Category: Mystery
Pub. Date: 08/04/2012
Publisher: Blackwyrm Fiction
Format: Kindle
Pages: 328
ISBN#: B008TC1WAS


Synopsis:  
In the fall of 1969 in the mountains of eastern Tennessee, a poor backwoods farmer and his wife were brutally shot and killed by four drunken hunters, along with their three dogs, horse and two fawns. The farmer's two young sons managed to escape but were unable to identify the killers. Now decades later, the murders of the Pender family remain unsolved. In Townsend, Tennessee, in Blount County, someone has decided to take revenge.  

TEASER TUESDAY

Teaser Tuesdays is a weekly bookish meme, hosted by MizB of Should Be Reading. Anyone can play along! Just do the following:
  • Grab your current read
  • Open to a random page
  • Share two (2) “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page
  • BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS! (make sure that what you share doesn’t give too much away! You don’t want to ruin the book for others!)
Share the title & author, too, so that other TT participants can add the book to their TBR Lists if they like your teas.         


Book Review: Undaunted Love by JENNINGS WRIGHT

Title:  Undaunted Love 
Author: JENNINGS WRIGHT
Category: Christian/Historical/Fiction
Pub. Date: 09/13/2012
Publisher: Self Pub.
Format: Kindle
Pages: 375
ISBN#: B009AB33R2

Synopsis:  
Hugh Byrd, the cold, ambitious patriarch of Byrd's Creek, is used to getting what he wants. And what he wants is the Colton's prime land, and the destruction of the Colton family. What he doesn't count on is his own daughter falling in love with Rafe Colton.

Ripped apart by the Civil War, the young couple must find a way to keep their secret love alive. The end of the War should mean a joyous reconciliation, but when Rafe is accused of a terrible crime, he runs away, leaving Livvie behind once again. Will this finally break their bond, or will their love survive?

A sweeping romance set in the South, Undaunted Love is a tale of faith, hope, patience and the redemption of God's love.
 
 

Guest Post: Author Jennifer Malone Wright

Today I would like to welcome author Jennifer Malone Wright. We asked her to tell us 10 Things we don't know about her.

So please welcome her to Breath of life and lets get started with her answers.




                                            10 Things you don’t know about Jennifer Malone Wright.
All right! This topic is actually hard for me because anything that you guys don’t already know is most
likely something that I don’t want you to know. LOL

OK ... Here we go!
1.   I can play the harmonica
2.   I have lost everything in two different house fires in my lifetime. (old houses = bad electrical)
3.  My one junk food I cannot do without is Nacho Cheese Doritos. I love to eat them while I read.
4.   My mom and my dad both worked on boats as fishermen, my grandfather was in the Navy so I
have the ocean in my blood and wish I lived by it.
5.   I know all the words to Baby Got Back (I Like Big Butts) by Sir Mix a Lot.
6.   I have three tattoos. One on my left shoulder, one on my lower back, and one on my upper thigh.
7.   I only knew my husband for 3 months before we got married. Going on 13 years now.

8.   I had a collapsed lung when I was 21. It was something called a Spontaneous Pneumothorax. The
docs said that it happens to a lot of athletes and very common in tall skinny people.
9.   I was pretty much anorexic before I had my children, when I was a teenager. I was severely
underweight. Now I am overweight and this drastic change is physiologically difficult to deal
with.
10.  I love trivia. There is just something about knowing those random facts that are of no
importance whatsoever. 
 
  
         The Vampire Hunter's Daughter 
              by Jennifer Malone Wright
                    Complete Collection
                         Parts I - VI
 

This special edition of The Vampire Hunter’s Daughter 
contains parts I-VI, the complete collection. Fourteen-year
-old Chloe witnesses her mother’s murder at the hands 
of a vampire. Before the vampire can kidnap her, there is 
an unexpected rescue by a group of vampire hunters.
Overwhelmed by the feeling of safety, Chloe passes 
out and they whisk her away to their small community.

When Chloe wakes, she comes face to face with the only

other living relative, besides her mother, whom she has 
ever met: her grandfather. Chloe’s mother kept her hidden 
from the family; now, Chloe tries to unveil the family secrets. Through her grandfather, 
she learns her mother was a vampire hunter. In fact, her entire family is descended from
the powerful bloodlines of vampire hunters. Chloe agrees to join the family she has never 
known for one reason only: Chloe vows to kill the vampire responsible for her mother’s 
murder.

With vengeance in her soul, Chloe is even more determined to follow through on her vow 
when she discovers the true identity of her enemy and how he is connected to her.

Experience the world of vampires hunter’s, vampires and mythology with Chloe in this 
exciting series.

                                                        WEBSITE:

Monday, August 26, 2013

Book Review: Vampire in Denial by Dale Mayer

Title: Vampire in Denial
Author: Dale Mayer
Category: Young Adult/Paranormal
Pub. Date: 08/01/2011
Publisher: Valley Publishing
Format: Kindle
Pages: 215
ISBN#: B005FIRJTC
Series: Family Blood Ties #1

Synopsis:  
Like being a sixteen-year-old vampire isn't hard enough, Tessa's throwback human genes make her an outcast among her relatives. But try as she might, she can't get a handle on the vampire lifestyle and all the...blood.

Turning her back on the vamp world, she embraces the human teenage lifestyle—high school, peer pressure and finding a boyfriend. Jared manages to stir something in her blood. He's smart and fun and oh, so cute. But Tessa's dream of a having the perfect boyfriend turns into a nightmare when vampires attack the movie theatre and kidnap her date.

Once again, Tessa finds herself torn between the human world and the vampire one. Will blood own out? Can she make peace with who she is as well as what?
 
 

It's Monday! What Are You Reading?

Guess what...Its Monday! What are you reading this week? This is a weekly event to list the books completed last week, the books currently being reading, and the books to be finish this week. It is hosted by  Book Journey. 

I have been traveling the past couple of weeks so not  a lot has changed. Still working on these three books and hope to have them done soon. As well as some reviews. Thanks for stopping by. 


What I Read Last Week: 

Skip Rock Shallows (Copper Brown #3) by Jan Watson

Sunday, August 25, 2013

Sunday's with Rev. Kim




Welcome to my feature. It's my prayer that you will be encouraged and blessed by following and becoming involved in this journey to love the Lord and His word.

I invite you to visit often. The Welcome mat is always here, as my ideas, insights from Gods word is blogged as often as I can.  Rev. Kim 




 Sunday's with Rev. Kim is a feature that I created here on Breath of Life.


Saturday, August 24, 2013

Book Review: Beatrice Munson by Lorena Bathey

Title: Beatrice Munson
Author: Lorena Bathey
Category: Women's Fiction/Chick Lit 
Pub. Date: 03/17/2011
Publisher: Self Pub.
Format: Kindle
Pages: 229
ISBN#: B004U2F174

Synopsis:  
In Vista Heights, the women of the neighborhood have started to look like their homes, varying shades of beige.
Lost in this world of suburbia, Marissa Lyons learns her high school nemesis has bought the house right across the street from her. Afraid that her arch enemy, Beatrice Munson, will move in with Marissa’s high school crush as her husband and cause Marissa to relive the insecurity of high school in her forties, she decides to face the music and heads to Beatrice’s house with warm cupcakes. But what Marissa finds is something she never expected.
How will Marissa and the rest of the women of San Martino deal with someone like Beatrice Munson, whose defining moment in her life was to get a boob job or go on a trip to Egypt.
This story is about friendship, love, learning to look at things differently, and great parties.
Step into the world of Vista Heights where you might recognize the women, or you might be one of them.
 
 

Book Review: The Fugitive's Doctor by Deirdre-Elizabeth Parker

Title: The Fugitive's Doctor
Author: Deirdre-Elizabeth Parker 
Pub. Date: 05/10/2011
Publisher: Createspace
Format: Paperback
Pages: 300
ISBN#: 1461172616

Synopsis:  
 At age 51, Dr. Doretha Vaughn decides to advertise for a husband through Love on AOL. “Be careful,” her daughter warns. “Don’t worry,” Doretha responds, “I’m a pretty good judge of people.” Soon she finds the love of her life. For eight years, Sam Cawley, a warm and kind man, treats her like a queen - filling her days and nights with laughter and affection while providing a caring refuge from the daily suffering and death she battles as an emergency physician. But on May 14, 2007, at Boston’s Logan Airport, a phone call from the Broward County Sheriff in Florida pulls the plug on Doretha’s life of happiness and security. She learns that Sam Cawley is really William Wallace, an escaped felon who has been on the lam for seventeen years and is now wanted in Florida on charges of identity theft and credit card fraud. “You may not want me in your life after this,” Sam/William tells her. “I certainly wouldn’t blame you.” What should an intelligent, accomplished, self-respecting woman do? The Fugitive’s Doctor, a novel by Deirdre-Elizabeth Parker, reveals a surprising, provocative, and ultimately poignant answer. Instead of racing home, dumping all her husband’s belongings on the driveway, and running over them in her Mountaineer, she declares her unwavering commitment to the man who has been living a lie. Far from withdrawing in anger and bitterness as the “victim” the authorities label her, she becomes her husband’s most powerful ally in navigating a tangled web of legal nightmares, secrecy, family betrayal, and emotional and financial upheaval. For two years, she leads an excruciating campaign for reasonable sentencing terms that might bring her husband back home to her before time and ill health take his life prison. Her vow to stand by her man never wavers. Why would the former Chair of a hospital Emergency Department and Associate Dean of Medicine at a University Medical School choose a course that many women would consider foolish or destructive - an act of relinquishing personal integrity and self-esteem? Why would she cling to a marriage sustained only behind prison walls? Doretha (Doe) reveals her answers with a startling openness, honesty, and passion that challenge all our assumptions, beliefs, and judgments. As she chronicles her personal crisis and shares her innermost feelings, Doe makes the case that what she is doing is what we all should be doing. Practicing unconditional love, not with blinders but with compassion, caring, and an awareness of the big picture. Helping one another heal from deep, painful wounds. Recognizing our own roles in the troubles that others appear to bring us. Honoring and finally celebrating the metamorphosis that can come when we choose what is right even when others are absolutely sure it is wrong. Many readers may see her husband as a con man, drug dealer, and thief. But to those who do not understand her choices, she asks: “How could you behave differently? I walk this world without regret.” Whether women cheer Doretha’s every move, slowly come to respect her stand, or shake their heads and say, “Girl, what are you doing?” they will be swept along on this journey into the depths of a crisis that few of us can imagine. Ultimately, The Fugitive’s Doctor is a dynamic and thoughtful story not just of the strength of the vows of marriage but of human frailty, stamina, fear, courage, hope, forgiveness, deepening love, and salvation. 

Book Review: eat pray love by Elizabeth Gilbert

Title: eat pray love
Author: Elizabeth Gilbert
Category: non-fiction
Pub. Date: 01/30/2007
Publisher: Penguin Books
Format: Paperback
Pages: 331
ISBN#: 0143038419

Synopsis:  
In her early thirties, Elizabeth Gilbert had everything a modern American woman was supposed to want--husband, country home, successful career--but instead of feeling happy and fulfilled, she felt consumed by panic and confusion. This wise and rapturous book is the story of how she left behind all these outward marks of success, and of what she found in their place. Following a divorce and a crushing depression, Gilbert set out to examine three different aspects of her nature, set against the backdrop of three different cultures: pleasure in Italy, devotion in India, and on the Indonesian island of Bali, a balance between worldly enjoyment and divine transcendence.  

On My WishList


On My Wishlist is a Meme created by Book Chick City.
  
On My Wishlist is a weekly meme that allows us to share the books we haven't bought yet but are waiting to be bought and devoured. If you are anything like me then your wishlist is getting longer by the day! If you would like to take part and have your own 'On My Wishlist' post then you can more info here. (This post was inspired by the fab In My Mailbox by  Kristi at The Story Siren


Friday, August 23, 2013

Book Review: SAVING THE QUEEN by William F. Buckley, Jr.

Title: SAVING THE QUEEN
Author: William F. Buckley, Jr.
Category: Historical Fiction
Pub. Date: 01/01/1977
Publisher: Warner Books
Format: Paperback
ISBN#: 0446891649

Synopsis:  
America s top financial secret agent Blackford Oakes performed his first heroic effort in Saving the Queen in which William F. Buckley Jr. coaxes readers back to the earliest days of the Cold War. The year is 1951. Harry Truman is president, and the beautiful, young Queen Caroline has just settled onto the throne of England.

The CIA is baffled at the shocking things going on in London. Vital Western military secrets are falling into Soviet hands and, worst of all, the leak has been trace directly to the queen s chambers. A recent Yale graduate and ex-combat pilot, the debonair Oakes is selected to penetrate the royal circle, win the queen s confidence, and plug the leak. It all leads to an explosive showdown in the skies over London, one that could determine the future of the West.


Book Review: DARK CORNERS by LIZ SCHULTE

Title:  DARK CORNERS 
Author: LIZ SCHULTE
Category: Thriller/Mystery
Pub. Date: 06/07/2011
Publisher: 4 Corner Press
Format: Kindle
Pages: 211
ISBN# B00550V8CY

Synopsis:  
Ella Reynolds knew from the first moment she walked into the old house someone or something was watching her. Waiting. Her husband's violent murder sent her spiraling into a world of grief and isolation, but Ella isn't alone. Who or what is responsible for her husband's death is still with her.

Darkness has engulfed the past year of Ella's life. Everyday reality slips a little more between her fingers as she struggles to break free from her memories. She must look deeper into her past as well as the present to discover truth of her husband's homicide. A string of uncanny events takes place and practical explanations run thin as Ella follows the terrifying road to closure. As the past and present come to a head, Ella must decipher who or what the murderer is before it takes her as well.
 
 

Book Review: Falling to Pieces by Vannetta Chapman

Title: Falling to Pieces
Author: Vannetta Chapman
Category: Amish Fiction/Mystery
Pub. Date: 09/27/2011
Publisher: Zondervan
Format: Paperback
Pages: 332
ISBN#: 0310330432
Series: Shipshewana Amish Mystery #1

Synopsis:  
In this first book of a three-book series, author Vannetta Chapman brings a fresh twist to the popular Amish fiction genre. She blends the familiar components consumers love in Amish books---faith, community, simplicity, family---with an innovative who-done-it plot that keeps readers guessing right up to the last stitch in the quilt. When two women---one Amish, one English---each with different motives, join forces to organize a successful on-line quilt auction, neither expects nor wants a friendship. As different as night and day, Deborah and Callie are uneasy partners who simply want to make the best of a temporary situation. But a murder, a surprising prime suspect, a stubborn detective, and the town's reaction throw the two women together, and they form an unlikely alliance to solve a mystery and catch a killer. Set in the well-known Amish community of Shipshewana, Falling to Pieces will attract both devoted fans of the rapidly-growing Amish fiction genre, as well as those who are captivated by the Amish way of life.  

Thursday, August 22, 2013

Sponsered Book Review: TIME KILLER by Todd M. Thiede

Title: TIME KILLER
Author: Todd M. Thiede
Category: Mystery/Thriller
Pub. Date: 01/25/2013
Publisher: IUniverse
Format: Paperback
Pages: 202
ISBN#: 1475972350  

Synopsis:  
Witness a gripping thriller that will surely hook you from start to finish in Time Killer…

Have you ever stood in a line at a grocery store while a person in front of you argued every price and then at the very end they pulled out a book of coupons? Have you ever waited in a drive thru as the person in front of you took forever to order his food? There is a person in Rockton Illinois that has had this happen to him and he is doing something about it. He is getting rid of the Time Wasters in Rockton.

Detective Max Larkin has a pretty simple life in Rockton. He wakes up every morning and goes to the police station to solve small town crimes. However, today is going to be different. Not only is he getting a new partner, Jesse Fairlane, that he doesn’t want, but he is getting assigned to a murder case where the murderer writes TIME WASTER on the wall in the victim’s blood.

Follow them as they attempt to solve the murder mystery case and find out if their tandem would work in Time Killer. 

Anyone Up For A Free Book?

Love & the Goddess by Mary Elizabeth Coen  


“Sorry. It sounds so...” I couldn’t finish the sentence. I wanted to say perverted and realized how judgmental that would sound. After all, I didn’t really know anything about the nature of addictions. “Dangerous? No don’t worry. I assure you I’m not a rapist. And I try hard to practice celibacy because it’s essential for me. I’ve started a new relationship with a lovely girl. We’ve been dating for three months now and our relationship is celibate because I know now that if a relationship starts out being sexual, then my judgment gets clouded. I need it to work on the friendship and trust level first, which is difficult.” I was humbled by Nat’s frank admission and felt a surge of admiration for him as I watched him pick another leaf from the mint plant to chew in absent-minded fashion. “That’s what I always thought, partly because I was brought up as a Catholic, but also because it felt safe. Then what do I do? At an age when I should know better, I go to bed with a bollocks on the second date.” I winced. “Excuse me, that’s my new word for someone despicable.” “We all have to learn our own way of being in the world, Kate, and sometimes it’s through our mistakes we learn most of all.”

Tuesday, August 20, 2013

TEASER TUESDAY

Teaser Tuesdays is a weekly bookish meme, hosted by MizB of Should Be Reading. Anyone can play along! Just do the following:
  • Grab your current read
  • Open to a random page
  • Share two (2) “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page
  • BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS! (make sure that what you share doesn’t give too much away! You don’t want to ruin the book for others!)
Share the title & author, too, so that other TT participants can add the book to their TBR Lists if they like your teas.         


Author Interview with Rose Candis


Today I am really excited to showcase author Rose Candis on the blog for her Cover Reveal,
UNDER the BED across THE WORLD.  I have a great Q and A for all of you.  So Enjoy!!! 


                        *What are the most important attributes to remaining sane as a writer?*  

                      For me, it has been critical to allow God to be in charge of the timing of
                      the book’s completion. With a private therapy practice, daughter involved
                       in activities, spouse, and exercise and self care routine, I have needed to
                      be patient with my writing. I have also needed to allocate time for writing
                      sometimes during the wee hours of the night!

Cover Reveal: UNDER the BED across THE WORLD






Cover Reveal

 
Under The Bed Across the World  by Rose Candis Expected Pub: September 2013 
Under the Bed Across the World, Rose’s poignant account of her journey from incest and addiction into recovery, is both tragic and humorous. Her  account of how her sexually abusive Jewish father divided her loyalty  between him, her mother, and herself provides a microcosm for how sexual abuse and addiction destroy the human family.  By confronting her past,  Rose sheds her loyalty to her abusive relatives and creates her own unique  family unit through international adoption.  The memoir raises the  question: Can contentment be found after departure from the quagmire of  toxicity? 




 
Author Bio: 

Rose Candis, born August 8, 1966, grew up in Bowling Green, Kentucky. At  age twenty-three, she began her personal recovery from addiction and  childhood incest. Inspired by her own journey, she entered graduate school  to become a psychotherapist. Currently in private practice, Rose feels  honored to have been able to help individuals and families recover from  eating disorders and trauma since 2002. 

 Rose’s articles about healthy eating were published monthly in a local  woman’s magazine.  She has appeared on several local radio shows as an  expert on eating disorders. Her first book *Under the Bed Across the  World,* a memoir, takes the reader on a journey from the author’s abuse,  into recovery, where she emerges as a adoptive mother of Erica, an orphan from China.  Her quest to help her daughter clear up unanswered questions  about her past leads her on a journey back to China, the focus of her upcoming book *The Black Pearl. * 


 In a search for Erica’s birth parents, Rose’s research trip to China with  Lan Stuy, yields the discovery that her daughter had been bought and sold  as an infant, commonly known as trafficked, in the relinquishment process. Rose’s shock that the information she had been given years ago about her daughter’s history were fabricated led this mother to take on a role as truth teller and advocate for transparent adoptions. 


 Upon her return, July 2011, Rose was interviewed by NBC News. Her story about her trip and its aftermath was published in *The New York* *Times*,  September  2011*, The Atlantic*  2011, and *The Pulitzer Center for  Crisis Reporting*, October 2011.  Rose met in Washington DC, May 2012, with The Executive Congressional Commission on China to discuss her  findings of trafficking in the Chinese adoption process. Her effort to urge  the Commission to expose the information to help children who sought  credible information about their origin resulted in a second meeting with  the Commission, October 2012.  Rose lobbied on Capitol Hill, May 2012  meeting with fifteen Congressional Offices in an attempt to amend the  Trafficking Victims Protection Act to include the buying and selling of  children for purposes of international Adoption in the definition of child  trafficking. 


 Rose enjoys every moment playing with her daughter and watching her do  gymnastics. She travels the path of intimacy and blending families with  Patrick, her partner of six years.  Walking, yoga, church, travel, biking,  and meditation bring grounding to her full life. Rose’s love for her daughter, personal healing journey, clinical experience and spiritual  guidance are the catalyst for her continued commitment to helping the  universe heal one person at a time.
Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...