Wednesday, July 31, 2013

Sponsered Book Review: THE BATTLE BEYOND by Diane Walker

Title: THE BATTLE BEYOND
Author: Diane Walker 
Pub. Date: 02/19/2013
Publisher: createspace
Format: e-book
Pages: 301
ISBN#: 1482540886

Synopsis:   
Tom and Hannah Stevens had no idea what they were up against when Tom took the position as research analyst on a major government project. The risks this project posed kept mounting as his research continued. Tom knew that his findings were not what Jack Atler, the president’s right hand man, wanted to hear. Deimos was keeping a close eye on Tom from the shadows. He couldn’t get too close. Tom was under Andros’ protection. Everywhere Tom went those white wings flashed across the road ahead of him watching his every step. All Deimos could do was hide in the shadows and report what he saw to his master. What was it about this particular project that drew the attention of these warriors? Jack knew the dangers this project posed. He was there when a similar project failed miserably in Russia. Failure was inevitable. That’s what he was counting on. He knew that the failure of this project would leave the President looking like a hero when he came to the rescue of the people. Somaron and Wolfore had whispered in his ear time and again what a hero he’d be. He would be the one that made this buffoon of a man look like a shining star. Tom Stevens was Jack’s only roadblock. At least that was what he thought. Jack failed to see the battle that was going on in the shadows beyond the world he knew. He didn’t see the blackness that the shadows hid from his sight. He failed to see the glints of life that flashed in the light. A great battle was brewing beyond what he could see. It was a battle that would decide the fate of the world and no matter which way it fell; Jack’s world would never be the same.  

Book Review: The (almost) Complete DIY Guide To.. eBook Publishing by Coral Russell

Title: The (almost) Complete DIY Guide to.. eBook Publishing
Author: Coral Russell
Category: non fictional
Pub. Date: 05/08/2011
Publisher: alchemyofscrawl
Format: ebook
Pages: 84
ISBN#: B0050080CK

Synopsis:  
  

2nd 2013 edition to take out irrelevant information and add new material from Guy Kawasaki. As my brain buddy Donna B. says, "You need to always be thinking outside the box when it comes to book promotion." 

Sponsered Book Review: PRAYERS for TODAY by KURT BJORKLUND

Title: Prayers for TODAY
Author: KURT BJORKLUND
Category: Christian/Devotional
Pub. Date: 09/27/2011
Publisher: Moody Publisher
Format: Paperback
Pages: 288
ISBN#:0802463509


Synopsis:  
A collection of classic and contemporary prayers, some derived from Scripture and others from the writings of Christian leaders throughout the centuries, this beautiful volume invites readers into a daily experience of closer intimacy with God. Each day's entry focuses on one of ten traditional types of prayer:

* Prayers of Thanksgiving
* Prayers of Confession
* Prayers of Affirmation
* Prayers of Petition
* Prayers of Renewal
* Prayers of Praise and Adoration
* Prayers to Have Christ-like Character
* Prayers for Wisdom and Guidance
* Prayers of Intercession
* Prayers of Surrender
With 260 entries -- enough for every weekday of an entire year -- Prayers for Today guides readers through a unique kind of spiritual pilgrimage, a pilgrimage toward the very throne room of God.
For any reader who's ever wanted more out of prayer or who's ever hungered for a greater sense of God's presence, Prayers for Today promises deepened communion with the One who treasures the words and longings of His people.

Tuesday, July 30, 2013

Christmas in July Book Reviews (Post Three)

Hi everyone, as I said in my first post here, I usually do my book reviews separately so that each one gets their own due. But after December and all the Christmas books I read but did not get reviewed then I thought that I would make a special "Christmas in July Book Review post.

Christmas in July Book Reviews (Post Two)

Hi everyone, as I said in my first post here, I usually do my book reviews separately so that each one gets their own due. But after December and all the Christmas books I read but did not get reviewed then I thought that I would make a special "Christmas in July Book Review post.

TEASER TUESDAY

Teaser Tuesdays is a weekly bookish meme, hosted by MizB of Should Be Reading. Anyone can play along! Just do the following:
  • Grab your current read
  • Open to a random page
  • Share two (2) “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page
  • BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS! (make sure that what you share doesn’t give too much away! You don’t want to ruin the book for others!)
Share the title & author, too, so that other TT participants can add the book to their TBR Lists if they like your teas.         


Monday, July 29, 2013

Sponsered Book Review: THREAD SLIVERS by LEELAND ARTRA

Title: THREAD SLIVERS
Author: LEELAND ARTRA
Category: Fantasy
Pub. Date: 02/2013
Publisher: LEELAND ARTRA
Format: Paperback
Pages: 359
ISBN#: 9780615771182  

Synopsis:  
Trained from birth as a hunter and fighter, Ticca wanted and got more. She learned military tactics from the very best. She was given access to much of the world's true history, stretching back beyond legend. Found worthy, the world's second-best warrior, whom even the Gods feared, finished her combat training. Ticca thought she was ready to join the ranks of military specialists for hire known as Daggers.
Able to control more power than even a full master mage from birth, Lebuin was sheltered and taught magic by the greatest wizards. He has rightfully earned his Journeyman Mage badge- except he isn't so sure he wants to explore the world. But all Guild wizards are required to travel, and Lebuin is sent out into the world. He quickly discovers reality isn't anything like what he read in books or expected.
A great mage is missing and Lebuin hopes to find him for clues to undiscovered magics. Lebuin hires Ticca to guide and protect him while he tracks down the missing wizard. Together they stumble into a hidden power struggle between a powerful Duke and a secret group of warriors with unbelievable skills and speed. The deadly conflict ignites a worldwide power struggle, a struggle in which the Gods themselves fear to intervene. As Ticca and Lebuin attempt to survive, they learn that they may hold the key to powers capable of destroying all the realms. Together they are far more powerful than they or anyone else ever imagined.
Can a new Dagger and Journeyman mage manage to stay alive long enough to figure out what powers they control? Who can they trust as both are targeted for assassination and relentlessly hunted?
 
  

Saturday, July 27, 2013

Sponsered Book Review: THE EXODUS GATE (The Rising Dawn Saga #1) by STEPHEN ZIMMER

Title: THE EXODUS GATE (The Rising Dawn Saga #1)
Author: STEPHEN ZIMMER
Category: Fantasy
Pub. Date: 02/05/2009
Publisher: Seventh Star Press
Format: E-Book
Pages: 576
ISBN#: 0615267475  

Synopsis:  
The Exodus Gate, by Stephen Zimmer, is a modern fantasy novel that is the first release in the Rising Dawn Saga. The story unfolds around Benedict Darwin, host of a popular late night radio show that deals with the paranormal. Benedict comes into possession of a virtual reality simulator that turns out to be something far greater and more powerful than he ever expected. Meanwhile, supernatural powers from the depths of the Abyss and their human allies are working tirelessly to bring about a One World Government. They are also laboring to bridge the boundaries between time and space to bring back the Nephilim, the monstrous offspring of Fallen Avatars and humans that were destroyed in a Great Flood that occurred long ages ago. An epic tale of courage, hope, and adventure, with fantastical realms and exotic creatures, The Exodus Gate is sure to appeal to a wide range of fantasy readers. The first edition also feature 15 full page illustrations by the artist Matthew Perry.  

Friday, July 19, 2013

Christmas in July Book Reviews



Hi everyone, I usually do my book reviews separately so that each one gets their own due. But after December and all the Christmas books I read but did not get reviewed then I thought that I would make a special "Christmas in July Book Review post.

Monday, July 15, 2013

Sponsered Book Review: Mountain Charm by Sydney Logan

Title: Mountain Charm 
Author: Sydney Logan
Category: Romance
Pub. Date: 07/04/2013
Publisher: TWCS Publishing
Format: E-Book
Pages: 162
ISBN#: 9781612131665   

Synopsis:  
“True love and sweet whispers, till death do us part. Send someone to love my Appalachian heart.”
At the age of thirteen, Angelina Clark followed in the footsteps of her ancestors by casting an Appalachian love spell, which promised she would blossom into a beautiful and gifted woman who would find her true love. A young Angelina had been thrilled to participate in the sacred ritual, but through the years, her father’s untimely death and her mother’s failing health have shaken Angelina’s magical faith to its core. As her twenty-first birthday approaches, she refuses to practice her supernatural gifts and no longer believes in the love charm.
That is, until Dylan Thomas arrives on her front porch.
Dylan, a Nashville writer, travels to the mountain town of Maple Ridge to unearth the family’s supernatural secrets. While her clairvoyant mother is convinced that Dylan is her daughter’s soul mate, Angelina refuses to see the nosy reporter as anything more than a nuisance.
Despite their constant bickering, sparks fly.
Dylan admits he feels strangely drawn to Angelina and is in no hurry to leave Maple Ridge or publish his magazine article. Fearful that his emotions are being influenced by the spell, a stubborn Angelina struggles to fight her own budding attraction to the reporter.
The two inevitably grow closer just as her mother’s health begins to deteriorate, and Angelina is faced with the possibility of selling the family’s music shop to pay the mounting medical expenses. Desperate to help the woman he loves, Dylan explores his own family tree and finds support from an unlikely source. Can he finally prove his love is real—spell or no spell?
A story filled with love, friendship, family, and just a hint of Appalachian magic, Mountain Charm will leave you spellbound.
 
 

Thursday, July 4, 2013

Mountain Charm Release Day Blitz

 

Today is release day for Sydney Logan’s novel, Mountain Charm! To celebrate, we have two awesome giveaways, including a signed copy of Mountain Charm and a $100 Amazon Gift Card!


Tuesday, July 2, 2013

TEASER TUESDAY

Teaser Tuesdays is a weekly bookish meme, hosted by MizB of Should Be Reading. Anyone can play along! Just do the following:
  • Grab your current read
  • Open to a random page
  • Share two (2) “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page
  • BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS! (make sure that what you share doesn’t give too much away! You don’t want to ruin the book for others!)
Share the title & author, too, so that other TT participants can add the book to their TBR Lists if they like your teas.           

Monday, July 1, 2013

Guest Post: Why This Genre? From Author Leeland Artra



So today on the blog I have author Leeland Artra talking about Why This Genre for us.  Enjoy! 




Why This Genre?
It is hard to believe we are all 99.9% genetically the same. With over seven billion people in the world every single person is still unique. We are all wired for storytelling; everyone I know loves a good story. The only difference is the type of story. With over seven billion possible fans there is someone for every genre. The beauty of it is that most of the seven billion are not dedicated to one narrow genre. People who read science fiction can also enjoy none fiction histories or fantasy romps without all those silly rules of science to constrain the possibilities.

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...