Sunday, December 30, 2012

Book Review: MERRY CHRISTMAS COLORING CUTOUTS by Energy & Sciences and Jennise Conley

Title: MERRY CHRISTMAS COLORING CUTOUTS
Author: Energy & Sciences & Jennise Conley
Category: Christmas
Pub. Date: 08/28/2012
Publisher: Energy and Sciences
Format: E-Book
Pages: 24
ISBN#: 1479207276    

Synopsis:   
This purchase includes a Christmas Coloring and Cutouts Book. It provides 12 adorable coloring pages including 9 unique images. This is the perfect activity book for our youngest artists. They can color, trace, cut and paste their favorite holiday pictures.

All proceeds benefit educational research. Teachers are welcome to make copies for personal classroom use.   



Book Review: Momnesia by Lori Verni-Fogarsi

Title: Momnesia
Author: Lori Verni-Fogarsi
Category: Women's Fiction/Chick lit 
Pub. Date: 03/16/2012
Publisher: Brickstone Pub.
Format: Paperback
Pages: 288
ISBN#: 0984028463

Synopsis:  
FROM THE BACK COVER:
She's smart, pretty, and runs her own business. So then why does she feel so dead inside? Between work, two kids, and a husband who finds her about as exciting as furniture shopping, this is the story of a (formerly-exciting but now way-too-typical) suburban mom who diagnoses herself with "Momnesia" and sets about finessing a new version of her old vivaciousness:

MOMNESIA (mahm-nee-zhuh) -noun-
Loss of the memory of who you used to be. Caused by pregnancy, play dates, and trying to keep the house cleaner than the Joneses.

She finds some adventure pursuing her own interests, and does make some new friends (including the battery operated variety), but still feels like nothing more than a caretaker.

In between dealing with her husband's manic-depressive behavior, drama with her friends, and some naughty Internet escapades, she keeps facing the question, "Is it that I haven't been myself? Or is it that I am being myself but just different than I used to be?" It isn't until she tosses the Invisible Rule Book altogether that she discovers life--and love--have more to offer than she ever imagined!

Wednesday, December 19, 2012

Book Review: Holly AND Ivy by SELAH JANEL

Title: Holly AND Ivy
Author: SELAH JANEL
Category: Novelet/Christmas/Fantasy
Pub. Date: 11/30/2012
Publisher: Mocha Memoirs Press, Inc
Format: E-Book
Pages: 40
ISBN#: B00AG111UU
SYNOPSIS: After losing her job and her boyfriend, Holly returns to her parents’ farm. Embarrassed and hopeless, she doesn’t expect to bump into a forgotten childhood friend that wasn’t supposed to exist. Ivy is not only a dryad, but she lives in the pine trees Holly’s family grows to sell at Christmas. As the old friends reconnect, Ivy not only shares her strong opinions, but gives Holly a charm that will change both their lives. As days melt into weeks and the seasons change, Holly’s life magically turns around. Christmas not only brings surprises, but a choice for the human woman. What’s more important: stability, success, and love, or keeping a promise to an old friend? 

Monday, December 17, 2012

Book Review: Sugarplum Dreams by Lisa Bilbrey, M.B. Feeney, R.E. Hargrave, Michele Richard

Title: Sugarplum Dreams
Author: Lisa Bilbrey, M.B. Feeney, R.E. Hargrave, Michele Richard
Category: Christmas
Pub. Date: 12/11/2012
Publisher: Renaissance Romance Publisher
Format: E-Book
Pages:
ISBN#: 0615729738

Synopsis:      
A late night reunion on the beach, warm cookies fresh from the oven, the overwhelming world of online dating, and a one-night stand that changes of the lives of three people — Sugarplum Dreams, Book Four of the Candy Collection, wields a voyage of self-discovery, new beginnings, new loves, and admirable courage.

Broken Roads & Dusty Dreams

Riley Farris and Natalie Sloane were the best of friends who spent every summer together on the sandy beach of Mustang Island. Then, just when Riley is getting set to spend another summer with Natalie, she disappears. As the years pass, he struggles to understand what happened to the girl he knew. Until, one night while walking on the beach, he stumbles upon a woman who is broken and lost.

Right Click, Love

Disheartened about not being able to find “Mr. Right” on the London dating scene, best friends Jodie Lynch and Louise Hewson create a blog to not only document their disastrous dates with the numerous “Mr. Wrongs” and “Mr. Okay-for-nows” but also to help those going through the same experiences and to see where they’re going wrong. How will they deal with everything the dating scene has to throw at them — planned or otherwise?

Sugar & Spice

Lacey Harrison has been dealt an unexpected hand in life: being a single mom. With her father's help and that of the residents at Royal Hills Nursing Home, she thrives and goes on to become a successful baker. She is content with her life but knows that she and her daughter Candy are missing something. Will things change for the better when Trent Childress moves into town and adds some spice to her sugar?

The Roommates

Spring break changes everything for Daphne Hobbs. A one-night stand leaves her pregnant and alone. She soon discovers that the father is an identical twin, and she's unsure of which one turned her world upside down. She’ll be forced to share her apartment with them until she can discover the truth. Julius and Jordan Sweet share everything in their lives — almost to the point of living one life. Will Daphne uncover who’s the daddy?
  

Wednesday, December 12, 2012

Book Review: the SECRET KEEPER by KATE MORTON

Title: the SECRET KEEPER
Author: KATE MORTON
Category: Historical Fiction
Pub. Date: 10/09/2012
Publisher: Ateia
Format: Hardback
Pages: 481
ISBN#: 1439152802

Synopsis:  
1961 England. Laurel Nicolson is sixteen years old, dreaming alone in her childhood tree house during a family celebration at their home, Green Acres Farm. She spies a stranger coming up the long road to the farm and then observes her mother, Dorothy, speaking to him. And then she witnesses a crime.

Fifty years later, Laurel is a successful and well-regarded actress, living in London. She returns to Green Acres for Dorothy’s ninetieth birthday and finds herself overwhelmed by memories and questions she has not thought about for decades. She decides to find out the truth about the events of that summer day and lay to rest her own feelings of guilt. One photograph, of her mother and a woman Laurel has never met, called Vivian, is her first clue.

The Secret Keeper explores longings and dreams, the lengths some people go to fulfill them, and the strange consequences they sometimes have. It is a story of lovers, friends, dreamers and schemers, play-acting and deception told against a backdrop of events that changed the world.
 

Book Review: The Christmas Quilt by Patricia Davids

Title: The Christmas Quilt
Author: Patricia Davids
Category: Christmas
Pub. Date: 11/15/2011
Publisher: Love Inspired
Format: Paperback
Pages: 224
ISBN#: 0373877099

Synopsis:  
Years ago, Rebecca Beachy kept her reasons for rejecting Gideon Troyer's marriage proposal a secret. Then Gideon left their Amish community. Now, Rebecca crafts quilts to raise money to cure her blindness. She's also busy guarding her heart against love. Until Gideon returns, at risk of being shunned, to make the winning bid on one of her exquisite quilts. Will the quilt—a patchwork promise of rediscovered love—bring Gideon and Rebecca back together again? 

Book Review: A Simple Amish Christmas by Vannetta Chapman

Title: A Simple Amish Christmas
Author: Vannetta Chapman
Category: Holiday/Christmas
Pub. Date: 10/01/2010
Publisher: Abingdon Press
Format: E-Book
Pages: 256
ISBN#: 1426710666

Synopsis:  
Annie Weaver always planned to return home, but the 20-year old RN has lived in Philadelphia for three years now. As her time of rumschpringe is about to come to an abrupt end, bringing for Annie an overwhelming sense of loneliness. She returns home and finds herself face-to-face with a budding romance with an Amish farmer and important choices to make.

Thursday, December 6, 2012

Book Review: Amelia in Pink, the Sleepless Cat by Jimerna Pinto-Kroujiline

Title: Amelia Pink, the Sleepless Cat
Author: Jimena Pinto-Kroujiline
Category: Childrens
Pub. Date: 11/12/2012
Publisher: CreateSpace Independent Publishing
Format: Paperback
Pages: 32
ISBN#: 1480267899
Amazon Link: Click Here
Synopsis:  
Amelia and her older sister Sofia have a cat. His name is Pink and he loves sleeping. During the day, Amelia and Sofia try almost everything to wake him up, as they only wish to play with him. The girls will learn what a heavy sleeper Pink is and how fun it is to play tricks on him while he is sleeping. These funny tricks, however, leave a very tired and confused Pink. Will Pink finally find out who was playing tricks on him and teach them a lesson?  

Promo Post: Behind Closed Doors by Sherri Hayes

 Behind Closed Doors by Sherri Hayes

Summary:
Elizabeth Marshall spent the last nine years doing all the things she was supposed to do. She went to a good college. Married a man with a promising future. Elizabeth even had a nice house in a respectable part of town. There was even the promise of 2.4 kids in her future. From the outside everything looked picture perfect.

Then one night, the world she lived in came crashing down. Six months later with her husband dead and her friends gone, Elizabeth moves to the small town of Springfield, Ohio to start a new life where no one knows who she is or about her past.

Christopher Daniels enjoys the simplicity of his bachelor life. After his divorce three years ago, he swore off women. He has no desire to change that philosophy.

When Elizabeth Marshall moves into the apartment below his in the small Victorian house, she makes him reconsider the motto he’s lived by for the last three years: women are trouble. She is everything his ex-wife is not, and it doesn’t help that she is his fantasy come to life.

He is determined to resist her charms; however, when someone sends threatening messages to Elizabeth, he finds himself in the role of protector. Can he protect Elizabeth and still resist the pull she has on his body and his heart?

Author Bio:

 Author Sherri Hayes
Sherri is the author of several novels, and a short story, A Christmas Proposal. She lives in central Ohio with her husband and three cats. Her mother fostered her love for books at a young age by reading to her as a child. Stories have been floating around in her head for as long as she can remember; however, she didn’t start writing them down until she was thirty. It has become a creative outlet that allows her to explore a wide range of emotions while having fun taking her characters through all the twists and turns she can create. When she’s not writing, she can usually be found helping her husband in his woodworking shop.

 Links:

Goodreads (Behind Closed Doors): http://www.goodreads.com/book/show/13003360-behind-closed-doors
Goodreads (Hidden Threat): http://www.goodreads.com/book/show/9846485-hidden-threat
Goodreads (Author): http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/4496779.Sherri_Hayes
Amazon Author Page:  http://www.amazon.com/Sherri-Hayes/e/B004MIO9O4/ref=sr_ntt_srch_lnk_1?qid=1354749081&sr=8-1
Author Twitter:  https://twitter.com/Sherri_Hayes
Author Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Sherri-Hayes/122511444477280?ref=hl


Wednesday, December 5, 2012

Release Day Blitz: Holly and Ivy


Release Day Blitz: Holly and Ivy by Selah Janel


I'm so excited, yes I know I get excited a lot, but today its for a great reason.  Today is the release day of Holly and Ivy by Selah Janel! YAY!!! I want to first say congrats to Selah, you know how awesome I think you are and I hope you have a great release day today! 

Below you will find the book information, author bio and links, buying links for this great new release and a giveaway. 





After losing her job and her boyfriend, Holly returns to her parents’ farm. Embarrassed and hopeless, she doesn’t expect to bump into a forgotten childhood friend that wasn’t supposed to exist. Ivy is not only a dryad, but she lives in the pine trees Holly’s family grows to sell at Christmas. As the old friends reconnect, Ivy not only shares her strong opinions, but gives Holly a charm that will change both their lives. As days melt into weeks and the seasons change, Holly’s life magically turns around. Christmas not only brings surprises, but a choice for the human woman. What’s more important: stability, success, and love, or keeping a promise to an old friend?





Tuesday, December 4, 2012

Book Review: JACK TEMPLAR MONSTER HUNTER BY Jeff Gunhus

Title: JACK TEMPLAR MONSTER HUNTER
Author: Jeff Gunhus
Category: Fantasy
Pub. Date: 10/10/2012
Publisher: Seven Guns Press
Format: E-Book
Pages: 196
ISBN#: 0988425904

Synopsis:   
Orphan Jack Templar has no memory of his parents and only the smallest details from his Aunt Sophie about how they died. The day before Jack's fourteenth birthday, things start to change for him. At first it's great: A sudden new strength helps him defend his nose-picking friend "T-Rex" from the school bully, and even his crush, Cindy Adams, takes notice. But then a mysterious girl named Eva arrives and tells him two facts that will change his life forever. First, that he's the descendent of a long line of monster hunters and he's destined to be in the family business. Second, that there's a truce between man and monster that children are off-limits...until their fourteenth birthday! Jack has only one day before hundreds of monsters will descend on his little town of Sunnyvale and try to kill him.

As if that weren't enough, things get even more complicated when Jack discovers that the Lord of the Creach (as the monsters are collectively known) holds a personal grudge against him and will do anything to see that Jack has a slow and painful death. To stay alive and save his friends, Jack will have to battle werewolves, vampires, harpies, trolls, zombies and more. But perhaps the most dangerous thing he must face is the truth about his past. Why do the other hunters call him the last Templar? Why do they whisper that he may be the "One?" Why do the monsters want him dead so badly? Even as these questions plague him, he quickly discovers survival is his new full-time job and that in the world of monster hunters, nothing is really what it seems.  

My Review:  
My honest thoughts and opinions on this wonderful, mysterious, fantasy and a book that I would give to any one of my grandchildren to read, is a guaranteed book and author that I would recommend to all who love some amazing fantasy in their lives. 

Okay with that being said, you can understand that this was an amazing book for me. I really loved the characters and the story line is so well written that it flows so well from the start to the finish. 

To say that I enjoyed this book is an understatement. I was enthralled in Jacks life. At times I was scared and then at times I was rooting him on to finish his task at hand. He kept me so engrossed that there was nothing that could take my attention away from it. 

I truly believe that my first grandson that is 8yrs old will also love  this book. And to that fact I will be purchasing him one for Christmas and will also make sure he keeps up with any new books by Jeff Gunhus on this line. Not to mention that I have several other grandchildren that I will also purchase this book for them.. two being girls that I feel will also enjoy reading this book. 

Alright, as you know I do not really get into the actually book, due to the fact that I feel You need to check it out for yourself. 


So due to the above, I am giving this book a Breath of Life ratings of: 

Five Clock Rating!!!  
Disclosure: I received this book for my honest opinion and review. Opinions are my own and yours may differ. 

________________________
About the Author:   

Jeff Gunhus is the co-founder of National Services Group, a service business with over 2000 employees. One of his companies, College Works Painting, is the leading student internship program in the United States. In addition to his series of motivational career guides for college students, Jeff is the author of several novels and screenplays. Check out his new MIddle Grade novel, Jack Templar Monster Hunter at www.jacktemplar.com
twitter username JTmonsterhunter

Blog Tour: Jack Templar Monster Hunter Guest Post




Today, I have a great middle grade book tour for you.  I'm excited to share this one with you.  Jack Templar Monster Hunter is a great book! Today I have a guest post, giveaway and a review of this book for you.  Below you will find the guest post and the giveaway! Enjoy.  



Hi, Jack Templar here.

I’ve been asked to share a few thoughts with you here on Breath Of Life. I assume if you’re reading this that you are either already a monster hunter or well on your way to becoming one. I say this out front because if you’re not a monster hunter and you just happened across this website by accident, then you should go away right now.

Monday, December 3, 2012

Cover Reveal: Holly and Ivy by Selah Janel


Cover Reveal: Holly and Ivy by Selah Janel


Happy Monday everyone, today I have a great cover to reveal for you.  This cover is for an upcoming release, well it actually is being released in two days! Its by Selah Janel and called Holly and Ivy.  Yep its a Christmas book!!! 

So below you will find the new cover and book summary. Also you will find all the author information and some more links for the authors Twitter Party and upcoming Tour! 


Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...