Sunday, September 30, 2012

Sundays with Rev. Kim




Sunday's with Rev. Kim is a feature that I created here on Breath of Life.

Welcome to my feature. It's my prayer that you will be encouraged and blessed by following and becoming involved in this journey to love the Lord and His word.

I invite you to visit often. The Welcome mat is always here, as my ideas, insights from Gods word is blogged as often as I can.  Rev. Kim 

Friday, September 28, 2012

Book Review: DAWNSINGER Tales of Faeraven by Janalyn Volgt

Title: DAWNSINGER
Author: Janalyn Volgt
Category: Fantasy
Pub. Date: 06/29/2012
Publisher: Harbourlight
Format: Paperback
Pages: 342
ISBN#:1611162004
 Tales of Faeraven #1

Synopsis:
The High Queen is dying… At the royal summons, Shae mounts a wingabeast and soars through the air to the high hold of Faeraven, where all is not as it seems. Visions warn her of danger, and a dark soul touches hers in the night. When she encounters an attractive but disturbing musician, her wayward heart awakens. But then there is Kai, a guardian of Faeraven and of Shae. Secrets bind him to her, and her safety lies at the center of every decision he makes. On a desperate journey fraught with peril and the unknown, they battle warlike garns, waevens, ferocious raptors, and the wraiths of their own regrets. Yet, they must endure the campaign long enough to release the DawnKing—and the salvation he offers—into a divided land. To prevail, each must learn that sometimes victory comes only through surrender.

Thursday, September 27, 2012

Book Review: Nexus (Supernova Saga #3) by C.L. Parker

Title: Nexus (Supernova Saga #3)
Author: C. L. Parker
Category: Fantasy/Paranormal
Pub. Date: 09/27/2012
Publisher: The Writers Coffeeshop
Format: PDF-ARC
ISBN#: 9781612131


Synopsis:                                                           Kerrigan Cruz and Dominic Grayson have fulfilled their destiny, clearing the way for a new Guardian of the Light to emerge. The product of her parents’ mixed bloodlines, Victoria Milena Cruz-Grayson must defend the world as the only Guardian of Mankind in existence.

With the weight of the world on her shoulders, Tori must find a way to keep it from falling before the gravity of her existence sends her crashing to her knees and mankind along with her. The real war is inside her psyche; good versus evil in a battle between Light and Dark. But she is not alone in her quest.

The Guardian of the Guardian, Dante is destined to fight by her side. With an arsenal of wicked charm, seduction, and the ability to ignite a raging inferno, his allure is powerful. Will it be enough to convince Tori to choose him?

Coming between them is a man whose existence is confined to her dreams. The only friend Tori has ever known, a man she has grown to love over her short eighteen years. She doesn’t know his name, or why he’s there, but she can’t deny the feelings she has for him. There’s only one problem; when he leaves, her dreams become nightmares plagued by demonic beings hellbent on viciously murdering her loved ones. Over and over again.

Two men, both pledging their undying love and unyielding loyalty, but one is not at all what he seems.

Torn between her lifelong friend and the man destined to stand by her side, the Guardian of Mankind must choose her path. The fate of the world depends on her getting it right. But how can she choose when she doesn’t really know who she is to begin with?

Nexus: There is one truth . . . Everything happens for a reason.

Wednesday, September 26, 2012

Giveaway: Lady Outlaw by Stacy Henrie


Lady Outlaw by Stacy Henrie
Love Inspired Historical / 2012
About the book:

No one would ever imagine a fresh-faced young woman could be robbing stage bandits of their ill-gotten fortunes. But Jennie Jones is desperate to save her family's ranch from foreclosure. And the risks seem worth it, until her upright new ranch hand offers a glimpse of how much is really at stake.

Former bounty hunter Caleb Johnson is ready for a new, clean start. With a woman like Jennie, he could build a future there in Utah territory. But only if his gentle faith can guide her in a choice between the land she's fought so hard to save and a future by his side.
To Enter click the link below

Book Tour: Book of Paul by Richard Long


Book of Paul – Interview


undefinedPlease enjoy this interview with Richard Long, author of the nail-biting supernatural thriller, The Book of Paul. Then read on to learn how you can win huge prizes as part of this blog tour, including a Kindle Fire, $300 in Amazon gift cards, 5 autographed copies of the book, and a look into your future through a free tarot reading performed by the author.

Book Tour: Book of Paul by Richard Long

Book of Paul – Excerpt


undefinedPlease enjoy this excerpt from The Book of Paul, a nail-biting supernatural thriller by Richard Long. Then read on to learn how you can win huge prizes as part of this blog tour, including a Kindle Fire, $300 in Amazon gift cards, 5 autographed copies of the book, and a look into your future through a free tarot reading performed by the author.

Richard Long’s Book of Paul Whirlwind Tour

 The Tarot
A guest post by Richard Long


Laura gave me my first tarot deck. It was a Crowley. A lot of people get creeped out by Crowley decks, much as they would have been creeped out by Crowley, I imagine. He called himself  ‘The Great Beast.’ To me, he seemed more like a big joke.
“Do what thou wilt shall be the whole of the law!”
Stop it, you’re killing me.

Tuesday, September 25, 2012

Book Review: Cataclysm (Supernova Saga #2) by C. L. Parker

Title: Cataclysm
Author: C. L. Parker
Category: Fantasy/Paranomal
Pub. Date: 12/01/2011
Publisher: The Writers Coffee Shop
Format: E-Book
Pages: 250
ISBN#: 1612130704
   

Synopsis: 
Kerrigan Cruz and Dominic Grayson thought the worst of the storm was behind them. In reality, they have only weathered impossible odds to find they are smack dab in the eye of an unforgiving cyclone. More is on the way. The raging bands of chaos that surrounds them are forcing the destructive walls of the monster to close in around them. Taking on a life of its own, the storm growls and gnashes its teeth, threatening to devour everything they ever were or ever will be. There will be nothing but devastation left in its wake, and it sets its sights on Kerrigan and Dominic.

Through the howling winds and punishing lashes of rain, a stranger comes. The promise of a better tomorrow, a brighter, sunnier life filled with hopes and dreams rests in the palm of his hand. It is knowledge, a formidable weapon when wielded by the right person at just the right time. If she can only harness the power of this stranger’s knowledge, Kerrigan may be able to save the one she loves before he fades into nothingness, and she is left all alone.

But is this stranger friend or foe? Drawn to her side by an unseen force, will he enlighten Kerrigan or will he seek to claim her for his own?

Cataclysm: Through the darkness of night, Light will lead the way.

Book Review: Supernova by C. L. Parker

Title:  Supernova
Author:  C. L. Parker
Category: Fantasy/Paranormal
Pub. Date:  05/27/2011
Publisher: The Writer's Coffee Shop Pub.
Format: E-Book
Pages:  224
ISBN#: 1612130364
 Supernova Saga #1  
 Synopsis:
As part of a chosen bloodline, Kerrigan Cruz has inherited a gift: supernatural powers which give her the ability to protect a person's free will from those who wish to alter destiny for their own design. After her grandmother's passing, Kerrigan meets Dominic Grayson, an alluring stranger with a secret of his own. Dominic has been cursed, touched by both darkness and light, and Kerrigan is the only one who can save him. In their world, only three things are certain: His curse. Her gift. Their destiny.

Sunday, September 23, 2012

Blog Tour: Nexus by C. L. Parker

Hi everyone. Today I am very excited to be a part of this awesome Blog Tour. I am posting just a bit of information on the book Nexus and the author C. L. Parker. 

And then the next few days I will also be posting reviews of C. L. Parker's  first two books in her Supernova Saga. 

Her third book in C. L. Parker's, Nexus, will be out September 27, 2012. You may pre-order it by clicking this link: 
Nexus by C. L. Parker 

Thursday, September 20, 2012

New Book Coming Soon: Unstoppable by Nick Vujicic

  
  For more information on Unstoppable by Nick Vujicic as to when and where you can purchase this amazing sounding book, click the link above. 
 
 Unstoppable by Nick Vujicic coming October 2, 2012
Synopsis:
 Being unstoppable is about believing and achieving. It’s about having faith in yourself, your talents and your purpose and, most of all, in God’s great love and His divine plan for your life.

Millions around the world recognize the smiling face and inspirational message of Nick Vujicic.  Despite being born without arms or legs, Nick’s challenges have not kept him from enjoying great adventures, a fulfilling and meaningful career, and loving relationships.  Nick has overcome trials and hardships by focusing on the promises that he was created for a unique and specific purpose, that his life has value and is a gift to others, and that no matter the despair and hard times in life, God is always present. Nick credits his success in life to the power that is unleashed when faith takes action.

But how does that happen?  In Unstoppable Nick addresses adversity and difficult circumstances that many people face today, including:

·         Personal crises
·         Relationship issues
·         Career and job challenges
·         Health and disability concerns
·         Self-destructive thoughts, emotions, and addictions
·         Bullying, persecution, cruelty, and intolerance
·         Balance in body, mind, heart, and spirit
·         Service to others

Through stories from his own life and the experiences of many others, Nick explains how anyone wanting a “ridiculously good life” can respond to these issues and more to become unstoppable. What’s standing in your way?  Are you ready to become unstoppable?
______________________________________
_______________________________________
 About the Author

NICK VUJICIC is a motivational speaker and the director of the nonprofit organization, Life Without Limbs. Nick has become a great inspiration to people around the world, regularly speaking to large crowds about overcoming obstacles and achieving dreams. A longtime resident of Australia, he now lives in southern California with his wife, Kanae. Visit his website at www.LifeWithoutLimbs.org.

____________________________________
 
To follow along or to learn more about Nick Vujicic and his faith and accomplishments visit the links below to do so.
 
https://twitter.com/nickvujicic

Wednesday, September 19, 2012

Book Review: PROOF BY JORDYN REDWOOD

Title: Proof
Author: Jordyn Redwood
Category: Christian Fiction 
Pub. Date: 06/01/2012
Publisher: Kregel Publications
Format: Paper Back
Pages: 308
ISBN#: 0825442389
Series: Bloodline Trilogy #1

Synopsis:
Dr. Lilly Reeves is a young, accomplished ER physician with her whole life ahead of her. But that life instantly changes when she becomes the fifth victim of a serial rapist. Believing it’s the only way to recover her reputation and secure peace for herself, Lilly sets out to find--and punish--her assailant. Sporting a mysterious tattoo and unusually colored eyes, the rapist should be easy to identify. He even leaves what police would consider solid evidence. But when Lilly believes she has found him, DNA testing clears him as a suspect. How can she prove he is guilty, if science says he is not?

Tuesday, September 18, 2012

TEASER TUESDAY


Teaser Tuesdays is a weekly bookish meme, hosted by MizB of Should Be Reading. Anyone can play along! Just do the following:
  • Grab your current read
  • Open to a random page
  • Share two (2) “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page
  • BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS! (make sure that what you share doesn’t give too much away! You don’t want to ruin the book for others!)
  • Share the title & author, too, so that other TT participants can add the book to their TBR Lists if they like your teas.

Blog Tour: Harvest Treats Guest Post with Elizabeth Lawrence




I'm very excited to be part of this great tour.  Today I have a guest post from author Elizabeth Lawrence and a giveaway for you.  Enjoy! 



Behind the Scenes of My Apple Tree by Elizabeth M. Lawrence

When I was a little girl, my parents had season tickets to the opera, and I went with them. I
 had become fascinated with opera when I was only about four years old and I saw Verdi’s La Traviata on television. Beverly Sills sang the part of Violetta, and I was completely captivated. I was even permitted to stay up past my bedtime to watch the end. My parents were delighted at my interest and encouraged it, which is how I wound up with my own regular seat for the season.

When I was older, I began to complain about how every opera ends in a death (usually the female lead). I never figured out why, other than that as human beings our response to death is much more multi-faceted than any other emotional experience. We weep, we rage, we laugh, we go numb. Every person in the world understands the depths of grief and loss, whether it is a person, a relationship, or a phase of one’s life. Death is always with us; that is why you can see every tragic play, listen to every opera, watch every heartbreaking film, and read every gut-wrenching book, and your reaction will not fade in intensity. I have seen horrible things in my life, but I will always cry over Violetta.

Autumn is harvest time, which is obviously the inspiration for the title of Renaissance Romance Publishing’s seasonal collection. It is a complex time of year because we experience both the bounty of the harvest and also the death of the world around us as it prepares for winter. Halloween or Samhain is a perfect example of this. We celebrate, we dress up, we come together as a community, whether to be scared, entertained, or for religious observance. It is a fun night, but behind the decorations and laughter is the specter of Death. The holiday typifies the autumn season.

My Apple Tree is the story of David Cleary and Emily “Mel” Wallace. Both are attempting to cope with lives that have been ripped apart by violence. David is struggling with the loss of his childhood sweetheart Katie when he first encounters Mel. He has been haunted by the belief that he failed Katie, and he wants to make up for his past shortcomings by saving Mel. What first motivates him is guilt, but he comes to find that in order to protect Mel, he must learn to let Katie go. Ultimately, David’s emotional journey is meant to give the reader the understanding that as long as we remember, nothing we love is ever really gone.


Here is an excerpt: His first thought, when the haze of desire had lifted and they lay out of breath and exhausted, was to wonder what the hell was going on between them. They both were trying to recover from their past experiences with love, and neither wanted a new relationship. So why the hell were they unable to keep their hands off each other? When David managed to drag himself away from her and they had both gotten dressed, Mel followed him out to his car. He paused before opening the door to brush his fingertips along the curve of her cheek with a smile. She took a deep breath as if she was summoning her courage and spoke. “David, we can’t see each other again.” His brow furrowed, and he began to protest. “But . . .” She shook her head. “It’s no use. I don’t know what it is between us, but we can’t seem to be able to be in the same room together without this happening. I just can’t do this. I’m too afraid that I’ll wind up falling for you.” He winced. “Don’t fall for me, Emily. I’m not worth it.” She just gave a helpless shrug, the wounded expression in her eyes sending a stab of guilt through him. They stood awkwardly facing each other, both uncomfortable and thinking things that they lacked the courage to say. At last, taking a deep breath, Mel spoke. “Good-bye, David.”





When Renaissance Romance Publishing first discussed the inclusion of one of my stories in this collection with me, I decided that My Apple Tree would be the most appropriate for the season. Like Halloween and harvest and all the rest, this story revolves around the theme of growth and change and death. It is not meant to be a sad story. Instead, it shows a young man learning to honor the memory of the woman he has lost by loving the woman he has found. There is always loss and grief in our lives; David’s story walks us through the heartbreak and into a new understanding that the blessings we are given are no less wonderful for being temporary. I hope readers enjoy going on the journey with him!









a Rafflecopter giveaway

Monday, September 17, 2012

5 Winner Giveaway: The Tube Riders (International)

 Hey Everyone, just a post to let you know about a wonderful Giveaway!!

 Like Futuristic Young Adult Science Fiction and Fantasy? Enter to win a copy of The Tube Riders!

 undefined

 Just hit the link below and follow the directions. Have fun!!

  5 Winner Giveaway: The Tube Riders (International) 

    

It's Monday! What are you Reading...


Guess what...Its Monday! What are you reading this week? This is a weekly event to list the books completed last week, the books currently being reading, and the books to be finish this week. It is hosted by  Book Journey. 

I have been traveling the past couple of weeks so not  a lot has changed. Still working on these three books and hope to have them done soon. As well as some reviews. Thanks for stopping by. 

What I Read Last Week:
 Special Delivery by Kathi Macias
Proof by Jordyn Redwood
The Secret life of COPERNICUS STRINGFELLOW by Lorin Barber

Sunday, September 16, 2012

Sunday's with Rev. Kim on Breath of Life




Sunday's with Rev. Kim is a feature that I created here on Breath of Life.


Welcome to my feature. It's my prayer that you will be encouraged and blessed by following and becoming involved in this journey to love the Lord and His word.

I invite you to visit often. The Welcome mat is always here, as my ideas, insights from Gods word is blogged as often as I can.
Rev. Kim

Cover Reveal: Harvest Treats



To kick off the Harvest Treats blog tour, the authors of Harvest Treats and Jitterbug PR decided to do a special Cover Reveal for the book.   The Harvest Treats blog tour kicks off tomorrow with Reviews, Guest Posts and Author Interviews.

 So today's cover is Harvest Treats, which is by four amazing authors; Lisa Bilbrey, Michele Richard, S.A. Jones and Elizabeth Lawrence.  Below you will find the great cover art by Laura Braley.  



Harvest Treats
by Lisa Bilbrey, Michele Richard, S.A. Jones, Elizabeth Lawrence
Expected Release: September 25th 2012



The Journey Home
The Sharks’ star quarterback, Travis McCoy has it all, until an injury ends his season early. When he receives an invitation to attend the big homecoming game from his alma mater, Travis decides it’s time to face his past. The journey home sends Travis down a path that he never expects. Will he be able to come to grips when everything around him is spiraling out of control?

Love Something Fierce

Claire Beausejour is a single mother working two jobs, and putting up with the daily antics of her three roommates, as she tries to better the life she leads for herself and her daughter, Hope. That is until she meets Dawson Williams, best friend to Hope’s father. Despite the circumstances, a friendship begins to develop between Claire and Dawson, leading to events neither could have ever expected.

10 Days to Love

Richie Graham and Danielle ‘Dani’ MacDonald have been best friends for four years. Now that the time has come to leave Old Orchard Beach for college, the countdown begins to say goodbye. The race to close down her family’s motel for the season and for their hearts begins. With ten days left, will they see what’s always been right in front of them? Or is there too much left unsaid?


My Apple Tree
David Cleary and Katie O’Connell had the perfect love. When they are separated by tragedy, David is devastated and refuses to move on — until he meets Emily “Mel” Wallace. Gun-shy Mel understands how a heart can break in the aftermath of violence. Although neither of them want to love again, the attraction between them is difficult to resist. David wants to keep Mel safe, but first he will need to risk his heart.





Author Bio's


Lisa Bilbrey is a mom of three and has been married to her high school sweetheart since 1996.
Finding a love in the written word, she started writing as a way to express herself. From the first word she wrote, she'd found her heart and soul. Always willing to learn, she's spends much of her time trying to improve as a storyteller. She's been blessed to find Michele Richard and Laura Braley, both of whom she spends hours every day writing with.


Author Links



S.A. Jones is a military wife and mother of two boys. As far back as
she can remember she has always written stories of some sort, and the
times she can't remember, her mother has interjected that she was also
a writer.

As well as being a writer, Mrs. Jones is also an avid reader. She
primarily enjoys thrillers, but is always a stickler for a good
romance novel, especially those falling within the historical fiction
category.

Beyond writing, she also enjoys photography, scrapbooking, and crafting.

 


 Author Links

FACEBOOK
GOODREADS
WRITING BLOG








Elizabeth Lawrence is the author of both contemporary and period romances. Each book incorporates its own unique blend of humor and reverence, the paranormal and the mundane, innocence and depravity. In addition to her novels, Elizabeth serves as Editor-in-Chief for Renaissance Romance Publishing. A lifelong writer and former paralegal, Elizabeth divides her free time between her husband and two sons, her three cats, her collection of cozy murder mysteries, and her mildly severe caffeine addiction. A native of Lawrence, Kansas, Elizabeth now works from her home in Cleveland, Ohio.




Author Links







 


Michele Richard lives in a suburb of Boston, Mass. She’s the mother of two pre-teen daughters and the wife.

Michele Richard has created the Mocked series. From Mocked by Destiny to the trilogy Mocked by Faith, she writes what comes from the heart. A wife and the mother of two preteen girls, she spends her days spinning tales about what happens when what you believe in mocks your every turn. 

When she’s not writing, her days are filled with her family, her bunny Geneva, and friends. Her greatest passions are learning new languages and traveling. She currently resides in the Northeastern part of the United States however; her family members live down the east coast as far as North Carolina.

She’s currently learning French and Spanish, and one day hopes to be fluent in both. Learning new things is always something she enjoys.


Author Links





So what do you all think about this cover? Do you like it? 

Thursday, September 13, 2012

Cover Reveal: Reaping Me Softly by Kate Evangelista

REAPING ME SOFTLY
by Kate Evangelista and Omnific Publishing

 The Young Adult novel,  Expected release is October 30, 2012

Book description: 
Ever since a near-death-experience on the operating table, seventeen-year-old Arianne Wilson can see dead people. Just as she’s learned to accept her new-found talents, she discovers that the boy she’s had a crush on since freshman year, Niko Clark, is a Reaper.

At last they have something in common, but that doesn’t mean life is getting any easier. All while facing merciless bullying from the most powerful girl in school, Arianne’s world is turned upside down after Niko accidentally reaps the soul of someone she loves. This sends them both into a spiral that threatens to end Arianne’s life. But will Niko break his own Reaper’s code to save her? And what would the consequences be if he did?


Thanks also to  AToMR Tours as event host.

 
Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...