Tuesday, August 28, 2012

TEASER TUESDAY


Teaser Tuesdays is a weekly bookish meme, hosted by MizB of Should Be Reading. Anyone can play along! Just do the following:
  • Grab your current read
  • Open to a random page
  • Share two (2) “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page
  • BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS! (make sure that what you share doesn’t give too much away! You don’t want to ruin the book for others!)
  • Share the title & author, too, so that other TT participants can add the book to their TBR Lists if they like your teas.

COUNTDOWN TO DEE-DAY!!

Monday, August 27, 2012

It's Monday! What Are You Reading?

Guess what...Its Monday! What are you reading this week? This is a weekly event to list the books completed last week, the books currently being reading, and the books to be finish this week. It is hosted
 by  Book Journey. 

I have been traveling the past couple of weeks so not  a lot has changed. Still working on these three books and hope to have them done soon. As well as some reviews. Thanks for stopping by. 

What I Read Last Week:

Sunday, August 26, 2012

Sunday's with Rev. Kim on Breath of Life



Sunday's with Kim on Breath of Life is a new feature that I will be posting here at Breath of Life.

Welcome to my new feature. It's my prayer that you will be encouraged and blessed by following and becoming involved in this journey to love the Lord and His word.

I invite you to visit often. The Welcome mat is always here, as my ideas, insights from Gods word is blogged as often as I can.
Rev. Kim

Saturday, August 25, 2012

Book Review: Finding Our Way Home by Charlene Ann Baumbich

Title: Finding Our Way Home
Author: Charlene Ann Baumbich
Category: Christian Fiction
Pub. Date: 03/13/2012
Publisher: The Doubleday Religious Publishing
Format: E-Book
Pages: 336
ISBN#: 0307444732



Synopsis:  
When the road home becomes daunting—sometimes a very capable girl on a bicycle can help find the way.

“Charming, surprising, familiar, and just downright wonderful.”
—Allie Pleiter, author of Yukon Wedding and Bluegrass Blessings

When principal ballerina Sasha Davis suffers a career-ending injury at age thirty-eight, she leaves her Boston-based dance company and retreats to the home of her youth in Minnesota. But Sasha’s injuries limit her as much as her mother’s recent death haunts her. Concluding she can’t recover alone, Sasha reluctantly hires a temporary live-in aide.

Enter the ├╝bercapable Evelyn Burt. As large-boned as Sasha is delicate, Evelyn is her employer’s opposite in every way. Small town to Sasha’s urban chic, outgoing to Sasha’s iciness, and undaunted where Sasha is hopeless, nineteen-year-old Evelyn is newly engaged and sees the world as one big, shiny opportunity.

Evelyn soon discovers Sasha needs to heal more than bones. Slowly, as the wounds begin to mend and the tables tilt, the two women form an unlikely alliance and discover the astounding power of even the smallest act done in the name of love. Finding Our Way Home is a story of second chances and lavish grace.


On My Wishlist



On My Wishlist is a Meme hosted by Book Chick City.  

On My Wishlist is a weekly meme that allows us to share the books we haven't bought yet but are waiting to be bought and devoured. If you are anything like me then your wishlist is getting longer by the day! If you would like to take part and have your own 'On My Wishlist' post then you can find more info here. (This post was inspired by the fab In My Mailbox by Kristi at The Story Siren)

 My on My Wishlist includes books that are older and already out, or brand new. Today I am bringing 
you four books that I am dying to read and get for my book shelves. 

So lets see what we have here this week...  I well update when I get these books.  There are so many that I 
decided to narrow it sown to just four this week.!


Friday, August 24, 2012

Book Review: The Last Summer (of You & Me) by Ann Brashares

Title: The Last Summer (of You & Me)
Author: Ann Brashares
Category: Romance
Pub. Date: 06/06/2007
Publisher: Riverhead Books
Format: Hardback
Pages: 306
ISBN#: 1594489173

 Synopsis: 
From the author of the multimillion-copy, #1 bestselling series The Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants comes a heartbreaking first adult novel.

Ann Brashares's series, The Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants, has made her one of the most successful contemporary authors, shipping more than 8 million copies over the last five years and winning even more millions of passionate fans. Now, like Judy Blume (Summer Sisters) before her, Brashares turns her spectacular gifts to adult readers. In The Last Summer (of You and Me), Brashares uses her remarkable storytelling, emotional insights, and talent for capturing relationships to weave a rich, textured, mature novel that will resonate as clearly with readers in their forties as in their twenties.

Set on Long Island's Fire Island, The Last Summer (of You and Me) is an enchanting, heartrending page-turner about sisterhood, friendship, love, loss, and growing up. It is the story of a beach community friendship triangle-Riley and Alice, two sisters in their twenties, and Paul, the young man they've grown up with-and what happens one summer when budding love, sexual curiosity, a sudden serious illness, and a deep secret all collide, launching the friends into an adult world from which their summer haven can no longer protect them.

As wise, compelling, and endearing as her Traveling Pants series, and as lyrical, thoughtful, and moving as the best literary women's fiction, this novel is sure to win an entire new generation of adult fans.


Thursday, August 23, 2012

Book Review: FULL DISCLOSURE by Dee Henderson

Title: FULL DISCLOSURE
Author: Dee Henderson
Category: Suspense
Pub. Date: 09/02/2012
Publisher: Bethany House Publishers
Format: Paperback
Pages: 432
ISBN#: 0764210890



Synopsis: 
Ann Silver is a cop's cop. As the Midwest Homicide Investigator, she is called in to help local law enforcement on the worst of cases, looking for answers to murder. Hers is one of the region's most trusted investigative positions.
Paul Falcon is the FBI's top murder cop in the Midwest. If the victim carried a federal badge or had a security clearance, odds are good Paul and his team see the case file or work the murder.
Their lives intersect when Ann arrives to pass a case off her desk and onto his. A car wreck and a suspicious death offer a lead on a hired shooter he is tracking. Paul isn't expecting to meet someone, the kind that goes on the personal side of the ledger, but Ann Silver has his attention.
The better he gets to know her, the more Paul realizes her job barely scratches the surface of who she is. She knows spies and soldiers and U.S. Marshals, and has written books about them. She is friends with the former Vice President. People with good reason to be cautious about who they let into their lives deeply trust her. Paul wonders just what secrets Ann is keeping, until she shows him the John Doe Killer case file, and he starts to realize just who this lady he is falling in love with really is.. 



Cover Reveal: TIMELESS by Michelle Madow

Timeless Cover Reveal and Giveaway!




Wednesday, August 22, 2012

Book Review: WASHINGTON by Wanda E. Brunstetter & Lauraine Snelling

Title: WASHINGTON
Author: Wanda E. Brunstetter & Lauraine Snelling
Category: Romance
Pub. Date: 09/01/2005
Publisher: Barbour Publishing
Format: Paperback
Pages: 477
ISBN# 1593109032

 Synopsis: 
Four unique women have found themselves alone--"some closed to love because of haunting secrets, others because of fear and loss. Sinda moves into a rural neighborhood to start a new life and leave her secrets behind. Tabby is a timid woman who steps out to conquer her greatest challenge. A talented jockey, Robynn will risk her life for the race, but she'll never risk her heart again. Lareana is left with a newborn and a farm to manage after her husband dies tragically. Can these women, bruised by life and love, find the courage to open sealed hearts?


Tuesday, August 21, 2012

Book Review: Learning To Dream Again by Charlotte D. Hunt

Title: Learning To Dream Again
Author: Charlotte D. Hunt 
Pub. Date: 02/02/2012
Publisher: Dream Madly Publishing
Format: Paperback
Pages: 270
ISBN# 061559929X



Synopsis: 
This award-winning book was featured on The 700 Club.

In this follow-up to Damaged Goods: An Autobiography, the author brings new light on the true story in which she received a desperate call from a stranger from her past beckoning her to his side in the wake of a car accident.

A prayer is answered, a past is healed, and a legacy is found in this true story of the rocky road of learning to dream again after losing everything, as told to a stranger in a hospital room.

Concluding with a cliff-hanger ending, Damaged Goods: Learning To Dream Again takes the reader on a whirlwind journey to begin to dream again.



Book Banter Invite: Davis Bunn

   
Image

Dear Breath,

You are cordially invited to join me Thursday, August 30 from 8-10 p.m. EST at Bethany House Publishers' Facebook page. I'll be on hand to chat with you about writing and about my new novel, Rare Earth.

We'll be giving away 5 copies of Rare Earth to people who attend the Book Banter; the winners will be announced on my blog Monday, September 3.

Below is a link to the Event invitation - I urge you to share this link with your Facebook friends and fans. To share it, just click the "Share" button in the upper righthand corner of the invitation:

https://www.facebook.com/events/257502744368162/

To participate in the Book Banter, go directly to Bethany House Publishers' Facebook page:
www.facebook.com/bethanyhousepublishers
Mark your calendar right now!

Thursday, Aug 30, 2012
8-10 p.m. EST
7-9 p.m. CST
5-7 p.m. PST
Amazon Offers Hot August Discounts on Lion of Babylon and Rare Earth

During the month of August, Amazon.com is offering the Kindle edition of Lion of Babylon and Rare Earth at a huge discount.

Lion of Babylon (book 1 in the Marc Royce adventures) is $5.38.
Rare Earth (book 2 in the series) is only $2.99.
What readers are saying about Rare Earth this week on their blogs

(Please click the link below each excerpt to read their full reviews):

 "It played out like a summer blockbuster movie and I could practically hear the inspiring soundtrack rolling in the background."
-Karen Barnett, Cannot Be Shaken

"Full of mystery, intense suspense, espionage, corruption, and even romance, this book hooked me right from the very start... If you're a fan of his books like I am, then I have no doubt that you will want to read this one. There's action, adventure, exotic settings, and he weaves in a wonderful message of faith."
-Michelle Vasquez, Life in Review

Hidden in Dreams by Davis Bunn
Hidden in Dreams

"...A suspenseful page-turner with a touch of the paranormal and plenty of memorable characters..."
-- Library Journal


Buy Now!
Rare Earth by Davis Bunn
Rare Earth

"Suspense fans will be thrilled with the latest in  the Marc Royce series."
-- Library Journal


Buy Now!
Follow: Follow Me On Facebook Follow Me On Twitter

TEASER TUESDAY


Teaser Tuesdays is a weekly bookish meme, hosted by MizB of Should Be Reading. Anyone can play along! Just do the following:
  • Grab your current read
  • Open to a random page
  • Share two (2) “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page
  • BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS! (make sure that what you share doesn’t give too much away! You don’t want to ruin the book for others!)
  • Share the title & author, too, so that other TT participants can add the book to their TBR Lists if they like your teas.

Monday, August 20, 2012

Sunday's with Rev. Kim on Breath of Life

Have you been memorizing Bible verses?
Haven’t been, but want to?

I have decided to link up with some awesome ladies over at Do Not Depart.
I will be trying along with them to memorize I Peter 1, starting Aug. 19. 
This week working on verses 1 & 2.


Blog Tour: SIX WEEKS TO YEHIDAH

Picture

It's Monday! What are you Reading?

Guess what...Its Monday! What are you reading this week? This is a weekly event to list the books completed last week, the books currently being reading, and the books to be finish this week. It is hosted
 by  Book Journey. 

I have been traveling the past couple of weeks so not  a lot has changed. Still working on these three books and hope to have them done soon. As well as some reviews. Thanks for stopping by. 

What I Read Last Week:

Sunday, August 19, 2012

Sunday's with Rev.Kim on Breath of Life




Sunday's with Kim on Breath of Life is a new feature that I will be posting here at Breath of Life.

Welcome to my new feature. It's my prayer that you will be encouraged and blessed by following and becoming involved in this journey to love the Lord and His word.

I invite you to visit often. The Welcome mat is always here, as my ideas, insights from Gods word is blogged as often as I can.
Rev. Kim


Saturday, August 18, 2012

On My WishList





On My Wishlist is a Meme hosted by Book Chick City.  

On My Wishlist is a weekly meme that allows us to share the books we haven't bought yet but are waiting to be bought and devoured. If you are anything like me then your wishlist is getting longer by the day! If you would like to take part and have your own 'On My Wishlist' post then you can find more info here. (This post was inspired by the fab In My Mailbox by Kristi at The Story Siren)

 My on My Wishlist includes books that are older and already out, or brand new. Today I am bringing 
you four books that I am dying to read and get for my book shelves. 

So lets see what we have here this week...  I well update when I get these books.  There are so many that I 
decided to narrow it sown to just four this week.!



Friday, August 17, 2012

Blog Tour: Mocked by Faith 2nd Addition and Guest Post:



  



Today I have the awesome privilege of giving you info on the Blog Tour of the Second Addition of Mocked by Faith by Author Michelle Richard. As well, we have a Guest Post from Michelle Richard. As you know Author Michelle Richard is an amazing author in which we get to read about an exclusive look into arranged marriages.  
 

Below is the guest post, and you will be able to find book information and author bio as well.  
 

 So let's get started!!
    

Thursday, August 16, 2012

Book Review: Journaling with JESUS by Carol Round

Title: Journaling with JESUS
Author: Carol Round
Category: Christian
Pub. Date: 01/26/2012
Publisher: WestBowPress
Format: Paperback
Pages: 86
ISBN#: 1449736610


Synopsis:
“Journaling with Jesus is a creative call to an authentic, intimate relationship with Christ through the art of prayer-journaling. Author Carol Round openly shares her own intimate journaling journey, initially borne of pain, and now bathed in promise—the hope of healing in Jesus. Let her sensitively guide you along your own prayer path through balanced scriptural support, stories from the lives of women transformed through the power of journaling, encouraging explanations about the benefits of journaling, and timely tips about how to start. Allow Journaling with Jesus to take you deep into the heart of God, by showing you practically and inspirationally how to bare the depths of your own heart on the blank page. As you fill your journal with words of honesty, God will fill your heart with the wonder of His love.” —LYNN D. MORRISSEY, author of Love Letters to God: Deeper IntimacyThrough Written Prayer “The initiative of God to restore relationship with every person requires our engagement. The age-old battle to create space to spend time with Him can be supported by the spiritual discipline of keeping a journal. Carol Round understands this. I encourage your pursuit of this commitment as you read Journaling with Jesus.” —STEVE LASWELL, author of The Journey–A Personal Journal and The Journey–Personal Notes from the Father.


Book Review: Eden's Root by Rachel Fisher

Title: Eden's Root
Author: Rachel Fisher
Category: Dystopian
Pub. Date: 04/08/2012
Publisher:CreateSpace Independent Pub. Platform
Format: EBook
Pages: 376
ISBN#: 1469902109


Synopsis: 
The year is 2033 and the world hovers on the edge of explosion as unexplained crop deaths lead to severe global food shortages. In the United States, the Sickness is taking lives slowly, creeping its way into every family. Fi Kelly has already faced the Sickness in her own family, toughening her beyond her years. But a shocking confession from her dying father will push her toughness to its absolute limits. Saddled with an impossible secret and the mission of saving her little sister, Fi sets out to transform herself into the warrior that she must become to survive the coming collapse. Along the way, she will discover that evil can be accidental and that love can be intentional.


Coming This Fall! Enter to Win!

Fiction: Coming This Fall!

Don’t miss out on these fall titles, coming to a bookshelf near you!
BookImages

Learn More and Read a Chapter!

Be Still My Soul by Joanne Bischof
The Girl in the Glass by Susan Meissner
A Season for Tending by Cindy Woodsmall
Twice a Bride by Mona Hodgson
A Kingsbury Collection by Karen Kingsbury
A Wreath of Snow by Liz Curtis Higgs
Christmas in Apple Ridge by Cindy Woodsmall


Click here to enter...
Enter to Win!
You could win a copy of one of these books for you AND a friend. Just fill out the form below for your chance to win.

Wednesday, August 15, 2012

Book Review: Peaceful Passage by Kim West

Title: Peaceful Passage
Author: Kim West, PhD 
Pub. Date: 09/10/2010
Publisher: New Heart Publishing
Format: Paperback
Pages: 240
ISBN#: 0984052666


    Synopsis:
    Peaceful Passage is truly the essential, all-in-one guide to handling every aspect of caring for a dying loved one and yourself on their final journey. Included are guidelines for partnering with hospice, the how-to of daily care, confronting fears and emotional issues, navigating marriage, family, children and career, working through inner conflicts with faith and handling the myriad details and arrangements of an at-home death. With this book as the guide the reader can find peace in this most heart-wrenching and heartwarming of journeys.

    FREE on Kindle Today!!

    FREE TODAY ON KINDLE!!



    Check it out today on Amazon and put on your Reading List today...
     Just click link below.





    BEACH BOOK BLAST!!

               Books, Fun and Prizes with the BBB Summer Launch Event!

    Authors from the WG2E and Beach Book Blast Blog are pleased you've joined us for the BBB Summer Launch Event!

    AUGUST 15-18

    Tuesday, August 14, 2012

    Book Review: Finding Romeo by Joana James


    Title: Finding Romeo
    Author: Joana James
    Category: Romance
    Pub. Date: 07/07/2012
    Publisher: Fairr Helen Publishing
    Format: Paperback
    Pages: 380
    ISBN#: 147818894


     
    Synopsis: 
    Daynia lives in the number one honeymoon destination in the world, yet daily, her own honeymoon seems further and further away. Her love life is consumed by a history of bad relationships and she is skeptical about moving on. The dashing Richard changes all that though when he walks into her life and sweeps her off her feet. Or so she thought.

    Richard is haunted by his own past and is consumed with thoughts of his ex-girlfriend. Daynia is a welcomed distraction but when ex-girl Kayla returns to reclaim her beau, he's torn between the two.

    Despite all the evidence in front of her, Daynia chooses to remain as Richard’s go to girl. Follow Daynia and Richard as they duke it out in a fierce love triangle that threatens to topple them both. Will Daynia win over her Romeo? Or will Richard never realize the value of the gem he holds in his hands?



    Sundays with Rev. Kim on Breath of Life

    My devotion today is based on God Guiding and Protection. Starting today in Matthew 2:1-23. It is about where the wise men came to visit Jesus, the warning that was given and where Mary and Joseph took Jesus because of it. Also about Herod kills the baby boys trying to kill Jesus. Then the Old Testament reading:

    Monday, August 13, 2012

    Book Review: Board To Death by Amy Barkman, Debbie Roome and Tracy Ruckman


    Title: BOARD To Death
    Author: Amy Barkman, Debbie Roome, Tracy Ruckman
    Category: Mystery
    Pub. Date: 09/27/2011
    Publisher: Write Integrity Press
    Format: Paperback
    Pages: 302
    ISBN#:098394850x




    Synopsis:
    Board to Death is a Trio of Mysteries in the Dangerous Games Series. The book is written by Amy Barkman, Debbie Roome, and Tracy Ruckman.

    Baby Boomers Polly Nichols, Lindsay Wilson, and Gretchen Anderson may live worlds apart, but they have one common hobby – a penchant for board games.

    Polly’s serene Kentucky campground turns sinister when the manager is a VICTIM of murder.

    In New Zealand, Lindsay’s life is turned upside down when MIND GAMES and evidence drag her into a murder case - as a suspect.

    At the Kettle’s On Campground in Georgia, Gretchen matches wits with a murderous wordsmith intent on winning the latest game of SENTENCED.

    You’ll love the games, the characters, and the stories – and we promise, you won’t be BOARD to Death!

    To our readers: Our characters are Christians, just as the authors are who created them, so their lives and their stories reflect this viewpoint. We hope you enjoy our fun and unique stories.


    Sunday with Rev. Kim on Breath of Llife


    My devotional time this morning was based on the history of the Family of Jesus. Have you ever read the scripture in Matthew 1:1-25? It gives you the entire list of the ancestor of Jesus. And then the Birth announcement to Joseph by the Angel. Then go back to the Old Testament and read:


    It's Monday! What are you reading?

    Guess what...Its Monday! What are you reading this week? This is a weekly event to list the books completed last week, the books currently being reading, and the books to be finish this week. It is hosted
     by  Book Journey. 

    I have been traveling the past couple of weeks so not  a lot has changed. Still working on these three books and hope to have them done soon. As well as some reviews. Thanks for stopping by. 

    What I Read Last Week:

    Sunday, August 12, 2012

    Sunday's with Rev. Kim on Breath of Life




    Sunday's with Kim on Breath of Life is a new feature that I will be posting here at Breath of Life.

    Welcome to my new feature. It's my prayer that you will be encouraged and blessed by following and becoming involved in this journey to love the Lord and His word.

    I invite you to visit often. The Welcome mat is always here, as my ideas, insights from Gods word is blogged as often as I can.
    Rev. Kim


    Saturday, August 11, 2012

    Book Review: RAMBLINGS from the SHOWER by Faye Bryant

    Title: RAMBLINGS from the SHOWER
    Author: Faye Bryant 
    Pub. Date: 12/8/09
    Publisher: BookSurge Pub.
    Format: Paper Back
    Pages: 210
    ISBN#: 1439240329

    Synopsis:
    What do you think about in the shower? And where do those thoughts take you? In "Ramblings from the Shower," author Faye Bryant shares some of the thoughts that have come her way during the mundane task of everyday hygiene, and how those thoughts have compelled her to ask, "What about this, God? What do You think?" Follow along as Faye shares through personal experience and revelation her conclusions on just what God does think. 

    My Review:  
    Man my first thoughts after receiving this book for review was "Oh Boy some one else hears voices in the shower."  =]  And that I was going to have some good laughs. Okay I did laugh, cry, felt her pain, and was actually all over the place with my emotions. But seeing as all these emotions were stirred up while I was reading this book, it was not the happy and funny book that I first thought it was going to be.

    Author Faye Bryant takes you through pages of her life and how God helped her get to where she is now. 

    I must admit that the book was great and that Praise the Lord, God does get us through in mysterious ways. But for me I was just a tad disappointed in the lack of comedy due to the fact that is what I was craving and looking for from this book. 

    So due to the above I am giving this book a Breath of Life Rating of:


    Four Clock Rating!!!



    Make sure you check out this great book the link is below, just click it!!!

     

    Book Review: Convergence by J.D. Watts


    Title: Convergence
    Author: J. D. Watts
    Category:  Adult Romance
    Pub. Date: 12/2/2010
    Publisher: TWCS PH
    Format: EBook
    Pages: 286
    ISBN#: 098362321X




    Synopsis:
    In modern times, mankind believes they know all that there is to know about the world around them. Arrogant in their ignorance, they travel through life completely unaware of the other beings in their midst, the other Children of Creation. Celestial Angels and Fallen walk amongst them unseen, while the third beings of creation, the Guardians, live along side them, protecting them from attacks of the Fallen.

    Daniella Rossi is a nineteen year old college student who sees the world quite differently than those around her. From infancy, she was aware of the beings that walked among her kind who were not like them, as well as her own personal Guardian who watched over her. Dani always knew she was different, but she never dreamed the full scope of her importance.

    Follow Dani as her life takes an unexpected turn when a new Guardian is assigned to replace her lifelong companion and friend. Much older, more experienced, and socially awkward, Nathaniel must learn to adjust himself to fit into Dani’s world in order to guard her without drawing unwanted attention. While the Fallen are determined to capture Dani, she and Nathaniel find themselves developing a bond that goes far beyond that of Guardian and charge. Facing the strains of a brewing war and forbidden affections, will they be ready for the coming battle? Will Dani be able to handle the truth of her existence and destiny?



    Book Review: The KEEPER by Suzanne Woods Fisher

    Title: The KEEPER
    Author: Suzanne Woods Fisher
    Category: Christian Fiction
    Pub. Date: 1/1/2012
    Publisher: Revell
    Format:  EBook
    Pages: 316
    ISBN#: 080071987
    Series: Stoney Ridge Seasons #1


    Synopsis:
    A family. A farm. A heart. All in need of repair.

    Life on Windmill Farm hasn't been the same since Julia Lapp's father has had trouble with his heart. But that doesn't stop Julia from hoping for a bright future. She has planned on marrying Paul Fisher since she was a girl. Now twenty-one, she looks forward to their wedding with giddy anticipation. But when Paul tells her he wants to postpone the wedding--again--she is determined to change his mind. She knows who is to blame for Paul's sudden reluctance to wed: the Bee Man.

    Roman Troyer, the Bee Man, travels through the Amish communities of Ohio and Pennsylvania with his hives full of bees, renting them out to farmers in need of pollinators. A mysterious man who relishes his nomadic life, Roman especially enjoys bringing his bees to Stoney Ridge each year. But with Julia seriously at odds with him, Windmill Farm is looking decidedly less appealing.

    Can Julia secure the future she's always dreamed of? Or does God have something else in mind?



    On My WishList






    On My Wishlist is a Meme hosted by Book Chick City.  

    On My Wishlist is a weekly meme that allows us to share the books we haven't bought yet but are waiting to be bought and devoured. If you are anything like me then your wishlist is getting longer by the day! If you would like to take part and have your own 'On My Wishlist' post then you can find more info here. (This post was inspired by the fab In My Mailbox by Kristi at The Story Siren)

     My on My Wishlist includes books that are older and already out, or brand new. Today I am bringing 
    you four books that I am dying to read and get for my book shelves. 

    So lets see what we have here this week...  I well update when I get these books.  There are so many that I 
    decided to narrow it sown to just four this week.!

    Friday, August 10, 2012

    Book Review: Megan's Way by Melissa Foster

    Title: Megan's Way
    Author: Melissa Foster
    Category: Women's Fiction
    Pub. Date: 7/17/2009
    Publisher: Outskirts Press
    Format: EBook
    Pages: 304
    ISBN#: 1432744429




    Synopsis:
    What would you give up for the people you love?
    When Megan Taylor, a single mother and artist, receives the shocking news that her cancer has returned, she'll be faced with the most difficult decision she's ever had to make. She'll endure an emotional journey, questioning her own moral and ethical values, and the decisions she'd made long ago. The love she has for her daughter, Olivia, and her closest friends, will be stretched and frayed.
    Meanwhile, fourteen-year-old Olivia's world is falling apart right before her eyes, and there's nothing she can do about it. She finds herself acting in ways she cannot even begin to understand. When her internal struggles turn to dangerous behavior, her life will hang in the balance.
    Megan's closest friends are caught in a tangled web of deceit. Each must figure out how, and if, they can expose their secrets, or forever be haunted by their pasts.


    My Review:
    Three words: OH MY GOSH!!! 

    The Author Melissa Foster has done it again here. This book took me from one emotion to another. It may be a work of fiction but how many times does this really happen in real life. Sickness, lies, love, secrets, looking back to the past. Melissa really puts a lot of punch into this book. 

    The characters are down to earth, angry, hurt, concerned, scared, emotions all over the place. And when I say characters there, I mean All of them. YES, even the guys!!

    I do not believe that I have every read a book in which my own emotions were all over like this. I mean that I have read some great awesome books but this one well. From one page to the next that I was not crying, screaming, mad, and yes even laughing. In some places where Megan would describe some of her beliefs and life I would just sit down and die... pardon the word there, but really, I would think of some other people that would say "yeah, that is how it is and if you don't like it there is the door"  (not in the book that way but in my head)   =]  

    I have read some other book by Author Melissa Foster but this one for some reason I just wanted more. I wanted it to say the ending was not the real ending. Or some other twist. Not that there was not enough twists and turn in this one but it was just I rooted for Megan, and well I will not give away the book. I always try my best not too. I feel that you should read for your self. This review is just my words. And you need to make up your own mind. 

    I love love how Author Melissa Foster put these friends together. I love the part that Megan had a daughter, but the other Characters did not. You will see what I mean about this when you read it. 

    I even loved how the book took different paths and at times it seemed long it still all came together. Not many can do that, but here Author Melissa Foster did. Also in the back of the book she put a Conversation with Melissa Foster. Oh the insights!! This is a must read for 2011!!


    So for those reasons I am giving a Breath of Life Rating: 


    Five Clock Rating!!!

     Make sure you check out this great book the link is below, just click it!!!
     

    Book Review: HOME-MADE TOYS FOR GIRLS AND BOYS by A. Neely Hall

    Title: HOME-MADE TOYS FOR GIRLS AND BOYS
    Author: A. Neely Hall
    Category: Adults/Kids
    Publisher: Amazon Digital Services
    Format: EBook
    Pages: 258
    ISBN#: B008BXVR0K




    Synopsis: 
    Home-made toys for girls and boys : wooden and cardboard toys, mechanical and electrical toys




    Book Review: Find It! Hidden Picture Book by Victorine Lieske


    Title: Find It! Hidden Picture Book
    Author: Victorine Lieske
    Category: Kids
    Format: EBook
    Pages: 12
    ISBN#: B007MCQT61 


    Synopsis: 
     Children love to find hidden pictures. This little book has 10 activity pages with over 100 things for children to search for. The pictures are full color, but they work on the black and white Kindle too.

    There are pictures of what to find, so young children who can't read can search. I put the pictures to look for on the same page, so you don't have to turn the page to find your things.

    Amy the Alien is hiding on each page. (She's on the cover too! Can you find her?) Finding Amy was my 7 year old's favorite part.

    This book has been revised to keep the puzzle on the same page with the items to find!

    **Please note: This is not an interactive game. It is a book, like a
    paper book, only for the Kindle. Kids look and try to find the pictures,
    much like finding Waldo or the I Spy books.**



    Book Review: More Questions than Answers by Eleanor Shepherd

    Title:  More Questions than Answers
    Author: Eleanor Shepherd
    Category: Christian
    Pub. Date: 4/30/2010
    Publisher: Resource Pub. 
    Format: Paper Back
    Pages: 164
    ISBN#: 1608993612




    Synopsis:

    Why does it feel like most of the world today considers irrelevant the gospel we cherish and so faithfully proclaim in our churches? Why do our Christian responses fail to satisfy the heart quests of our neighbors? Does the shallowness of our neatly packaged answers alienate us from them and from each other?
    More Questions than Answers offers the hope of reconciliation through exploring how we can develop listening relationships. Walking together in what becomes a spiritual accompaniment, we learn to attune ourselves to one another and to the Spirit within us. Then we dare to reach across the chasm that separates us and discover an authentic faith emerges.


    Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...