Tuesday, July 31, 2012

TEASER TUESDAY



Teaser Tuesdays is a weekly bookish meme, hosted by MizB of Should Be Reading. Anyone can play along! Just do the following:
  • Grab your current read
  • Open to a random page
  • Share two (2) “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page
  • BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS! (make sure that what you share doesn’t give too much away! You don’t want to ruin the book for others!)
  • Share the title & author, too, so that other TT participants can add the book to their TBR Lists if they like your teas.



Monday, July 30, 2012

It's Monday! What Are You Reading?

Guess what...Its Monday! What are you reading this week? This is a weekly event to list the books completed last week, the books currently being reading, and the books to be finish this week. It is hosted
 by  Book Journey. 


What I Read Last Week:
 The Shelter at Papa's Farm by Elizabeth M. White
Convergence by J.D.Watts

Last Weeks Reviews:


Tuesday, July 24, 2012

The Untitled Post!!


 I am posting this with a heavy heart and hope my readers will understand and still support my blog. I so enjoy reading and reviewing with all of you.  I do not want to lose the friendships I have made through this blog. 
 
I am posting this here because I am not okay with something that just happened to me.  I was involved with a "Christian Organization" that thinks Defamation of Character is okay in the eyes of the Lord.  This is not okay with me! They have attacked me and my blog and that isn't very Christian to me.  I am not going to name names at all, but I want my readers to know that I have taken down the review for this group and will not have anything to do with them!

I am very sad about how this group treated me and I have been praying and with Gods help I have the strength to let it go as soon as I post this here!

I thought that the group being a Christian group that they would treat people with respect and not attack them.  I guess I was wrong!

I regret this has happened and pray that all involved will let it go and move on because I have.

Sunday, July 22, 2012

Sunday's with Rev. Kim on Breath of Life

                



Sunday's with Kim on Breath of Life is a new feature that I will be posting here at Breath of Life.

Welcome to my new feature. It's my prayer that you will be encouraged and blessed by following and becoming involved in this journey to love the Lord and His word.

I invite you to visit often. The Welcome mat is always here, as my ideas, insights from Gods word is blogged as often as I can.
Rev. Kim


Saturday, July 21, 2012

On My Wishlist






On My Wishlist is a Meme hosted by Book Chick City.  

On My Wishlist is a weekly meme that allows us to share the books we haven't bought yet but are waiting to be bought and devoured. If you are anything like me then your wishlist is getting longer by the day! If you would like to take part and have your own 'On My Wishlist' post then you can find more info here. (This post was inspired by the fab In My Mailbox by Kristi at The Story Siren)

 My on My Wishlist includes books that are older and already out, or brand new. Today I am bringing 
you four books that I am dying to read and get for my book shelves. 

So lets see what we have here this week...  I well update when I get these books.  There are so many that I 
decided to narrow it sown to just four this week.!


Friday, July 20, 2012

Book Review: MOCKINGJAY by Suzanne Collins

Title: MOCKINGJAY
Author: Suzanne Collins
Category: Ages 13 and up
Pub. Date: 8/24/2010
Publisher: Scholastic Press
Format: Hardcover
Pages: 390
ISBN#: 0439023513


Synopsis:

My name is Katniss Everdeen. Why am I not dead? I should be dead.

Katniss Everdeen, girl on fire, has survived, even though her home has been destroyed. Gale has escaped. Katniss's family is safe. Peeta has been captured by the Capitol. District 13 really does exist. There are rebels. There are new leaders. A revolution is unfolding.

It is by design that Katniss was rescued from the arena in the cruel and haunting Quarter Quell, and it is by design that she has long been part of the revolution without knowing it. District 13 has come out of the shadows and is plotting to overthrow the Capitol. Everyone, it seems, has had a hand in the carefully laid plains--except Katniss.

The success of the rebellion hinges on Katniss's willingness to be a pawn, to accept responsibility for countless lives, and to change the course of the future of Panem. To do this, she must put aside her feelings of anger and distrust. She must become the rebels' Mockingjay--no matter what the personal cost.



Book Trailer/Authors Giveaway



Hey everyone, check out this amazing vid for Remembrance by Michelle Madow Book Trailer.  Also below you will find the authors link, she has an awesome giveaway going on that you can enter!!!  


Michelle Madow Blog




Thursday, July 19, 2012

Book Review: CATCHING FIRE by Suzanne Collins

Title: CATCHING FIRE
Author: Suzanne Collins
Category:  Ages 13 and up
Pub. Date: 09/01/2009
Publisher: Scholastic Press
Format: Hardcover
Pages: 391
ISBN#: 0439023491


Synopsis
Against all odds, Katniss has won the Hunger Games. She and fellow District 12 tribute Peeta Mellark are miraculously still alive. Katniss should be relieved, happy even. After all, she has returned to her family and longtime friend, Gale. Yet nothing is the way Katniss wishes it to be. Gale holds her at an icy distance. Peeta has turned his back on her completely. And there are whispers of a rebellion against the Capitol - a rebellion that Katniss and Peeta may have helped create.

Much to her shock, Katniss has fueled an unrest she's afraid she cannot stop. And what scares her even more is that she's not entirely convinced she should try. As time draws near for Katniss and Peeta to visit the districts on the Capitol's cruel Victory Tour, the stakes are higher than ever. If they can't prove, without a shadow of a doubt, that they are lost in their love for each other, the consequences will be horrifying.

In Catching Fire, the second novel of the Hunger Games trilogy, Suzanne Collins continues the story of Katniss Everdeen, testing her more than ever before...and surprising readers at every turn.



Tuesday, July 17, 2012

Book Review: THE HUNGER GAMES by Suzanne Collins

Title: THE HUNGER GAMES
Author: Suzanne Collins
Category:  Young Adult
Pub. Date:  10/31/2008
Publisher: Scholastic Press
Format: Paper Back
Pages: 374
ISBN#: 0439023483

Synopsis:
 Could you survive on your own, in the wild, with everyone out to make sure you don't live to see the morning?

In the ruins of a place once known as North America lies the nation of Panem, a shining Capitol surrounded by twelve outlying districts. The Capitol is harsh and cruel and keeps the districts in line by forcing them all to send one boy and one girl between the ages of twelve and eighteen to participate in the annual Hunger Games, a fight to the death on live TV.

Sixteen-year-old Katniss Everdeen, who lives alone with her mother and younger sister, regards it as a death sentence when she steps forward to take her sister’s place in the Games. But Katniss has been close to dead before—and survival, for her, is second nature. Without really meaning to, she becomes a contender. But if she is to win, she will have to start making choices that will weigh survival against humanity and life against love.



TEASER TUESDAY



Teaser Tuesdays is a weekly bookish meme, hosted by MizB of Should Be Reading. Anyone can play along! Just do the following:
  • Grab your current read
  • Open to a random page
  • Share two (2) “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page
  • BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS! (make sure that what you share doesn’t give too much away! You don’t want to ruin the book for others!)
  • Share the title & author, too, so that other TT participants can add the book to their TBR Lists if they like your teas.


Monday, July 16, 2012

Hunger Games Week!!




It's Hunger Games Week here at Breath of Life!

Will be doing book reviews on all three books this week, and asking questions somewhere during the Reviews. So Watch for them and Answer them. Also working on a Give Away for the end!!!

So to start things out today I  am going to ask a couple of questions. 

It's Monday! What are You Reading?



Guess what...Its Monday! What are you reading this week? This is a weekly event to list the books completed last week, the books currently being reading, and the books to be finish this week. It is hosted
 by  Book Journey. 


What I Read Last Week:
 Megan's Way by Melissa Foster

Sunday, July 15, 2012

Sunday's with Rev. Kim on Breath of Life

 

                     

Sunday's with Kim on Breath of Life is a new feature that I will be posting here at Breath of Life.

Welcome to my new feature. It's my prayer that you will be encouraged and blessed by following and becoming involved in this journey to love the Lord and His word.

I invite you to visit often. The Welcome mat is always here, as my ideas, insights from Gods word is blogged as often as I can.
Rev. Kim

Cares for me....  Matt. 6:26
Forgives me....Psalm 103:12
Is Compassionate....Psalm 103:4-5
Is Giving....Romans 8:32
Is Understanding....Psalm 139:1-2
Is Accepting....Psalm 139:1-6
Satisfies....Psalm 107:9
Persistently Pursues me....Luke 19:10
Is Reason....Isaiah 1:18
Pardons....Psalm 103:3
Heals....Isaiah 53:5
Redeems....Job 19:25
Is Loving & Kindness....Psalm 86:15
                                                               Renews....Isaiah 40:31

 

Friday, July 13, 2012

Book Review: INSURGENT by Veronica Roth

Title: INSURGENT
Author: Veronica Roth
Category: Dystopia
Pub. Date: 5/1/2012
Publisher: Harper Teen
Format: Hard back
Pages: 525
ISBN# 0007442912

  
Book Description:
One choice can transform you--or it can destroy you. But every choice has consequences, and as unrest surges in the factions all around her, Tris Prior must continue trying to save those she loves--and herself--while grappling with haunting questions of grief and forgiveness, identity and loyalty, politics and love.

Tris's initiation day should have been marked by celebration and victory with her chosen faction; instead, the day ended with unspeakable horrors. War now looms as conflict between the factions and their ideologies grows. And in times of war, sides must be chosen, secrets will emerge, and choices will become even more irrevocable--and even more powerful. Transformed by her own decisions but also by haunting grief and guilt, radical new discoveries, and shifting relationships, Tris must fully embrace her Divergence, even if she does not know what she may lose by doing so.

"New York Times" bestselling author Veronica Roth's much-anticipated second book of the dystopian "Divergent" series is another intoxicating thrill ride of a story, rich with hallmark twists, heartbreaks, romance, and powerful insights about human nature.



My Review:


As most know I just reviewed the first book in this series this past Tuesday. I loved it and also Loved this one. It picks up where Divergent leaves off. And it had me from the beginning to the end. Started on the 26th of June and finished July 6.

Another dystopian book that took me into another time and place. Where you start to believe that things like what happens here in side these pages could happen any time right here where we live.

Veronica Roth has easily become one of my all time favorite Authors in this Genre. I am so caught up in the life's of Tris, Tobias (Four), Caleb, Evelyn, Marcus, Christina, Uriah, and all the other characters that I some times put myself right in the book and wonder what I would actual do or think if I was there.

Very powerful emotions, the not knowing, quilt, anger, fear, who can I trust or not trust, and why! The love story that continues out in this book with Tris and Four is so full of angst that I was fighting for them one minute and against them the next. The unmistakeable love that they both have and show is awesome, but they also still have their secrets.

So, for my rating on this one: I loved the whole book, with the exception some bad words. I can't wait till the next one is out!!  And just like Divergent I am giving this book, the second in it series, my Breath of Life Rating is:


 *The image above came from We Heart It!*  



 FIVE CLOCK RATING!!!


Make sure you check out this great book the link is below, just click it!!!





Wednesday, July 11, 2012

Book Review: Divergent by Veronica Roth

Title: Divergent
Author: Veronica Roth
Category:  Dystopia
Pub. Date: 5/3/2011
Publisher: Katherine Tegen Books/Harper Collins Publisher
Format: Paperback
Pages:  576
ISBN#: 0062024035



Book Description:
In Beatrice Prior's dystopian Chicago, society is divided into five factions, each dedicated to the cultivation of a particular virtue—Candor (the honest), Abnegation (the selfless), Dauntless (the brave), Amity (the peaceful), and Erudite (the intelligent). On an appointed day of every year, all sixteen-year-olds must select the faction to which they will devote the rest of their lives. For Beatrice, the decision is between staying with her family and being who she really is—she can't have both. So she makes a choice that surprises everyone, including herself.

During the highly competitive initiation that follows, Beatrice renames herself Tris and struggles to determine who her friends really are—and where, exactly, a romance with a sometimes fascinating, sometimes infuriating boy fits into the life she's chosen. But Tris also has a secret, one she's kept hidden from everyone because she's been warned it can mean death. And as she discovers a growing conflict that threatens to unravel her seemingly perfect society, she also learns that her secret might help her save those she loves… or it might destroy her.

Debut author Veronica Roth bursts onto the literary scene with the first book in the Divergent series—dystopian thrillers filled with electrifying decisions, heartbreaking betrayals, stunning consequences, and unexpected romance.
 


Tuesday, July 10, 2012

TEASER TUESDAY



Teaser Tuesdays is a weekly bookish meme, hosted by MizB of Should Be Reading. Anyone can play along! Just do the following:
  • Grab your current read
  • Open to a random page
  • Share two (2) “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page
  • BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS! (make sure that what you share doesn’t give too much away! You don’t want to ruin the book for others!)
  • Share the title & author, too, so that other TT participants can add the book to their TBR Lists if they like your teas. 


Monday, July 9, 2012

It's Monday! What are you Reading?




Guess what...Its Monday! What are you reading this week? This is a weekly event to list the books completed last week, the books currently being reading, and the books to be finish this week. It is hosted
 by  Book Journey. 


What I Read Last Week:

Sunday, July 8, 2012

Sunday's with Rev. Kim on Breath of Life




Sunday's with Kim on Breath of Life is a new feature that I will be posting here at Breath of Life.

Welcome to my new feature. It's my prayer that you will be encouraged and blessed by following and becoming involved in this journey to love the Lord and His word.

I invite you to visit often. The Welcome mat is always here, as my ideas, insights from Gods word is blogged as often as I can.
Rev. Kim

Cares for me....  Matt. 6:26
Forgives me....Psalm 103:12
Is Compassionate....Psalm 103:4-5
Is Giving....Romans 8:32
Is Understanding....Psalm 139:1-2
Is Accepting....Psalm 139:1-6
Satisfies....Psalm 107:9
Persistently Pursues me....Luke 19:10
Is Reason....Isaiah 1:18
Pardons....Psalm 103:3
Heals....Isaiah 53:5
Redeems....Job 19:25
Is Loving & Kindness....Psalm 86:15
Renews....Isaiah 40:31


Wednesday, July 4, 2012

Book Review: Casa de Naomi The House of Blessing by Paula Rose Michelson

Title:  Casa de Naomi The House of Blessing
Author: Paula Rose Michelson

Publication Date:  12/20/2011
Publisher: Tate Publishing 
Format: Paperback
Pages:  255
ISBN# 1613461380


Book Description:
 Fifteen-year-old Naomi wants to practice her faith in public, find her uncle, and help him raise enough money to bring their family to America. To accomplish this she agrees to companion a blind, old woman whose family plans to tour Europe and settle in the United States. Her plans are thwarted when the woman passes away aboard ship, and Naomi is handed over to immigration. While she awaits her interview, an old Ti­a comes to Naomi's rescue and offers to take her in. With nowhere to go and no one to turn to, Naomi agrees and unwittingly enters the country illegally. This is Naomi's journey from adolescence to womanhood, from frightened isolation and captivity to the noble status of heiress with a mission and responsibility many would shirk placed upon her shoulders. Along the way, she contends with piercing memories, hurtful loss, jealous opponents, a devious lawyer, and a curious priest. Through each step of this journey, she guards two secrets she dare not share with anyone, not even Chaz, the man she has married. Will she keep his love when he discovers who she really is? Find out in the first book of Paula Rose Michelson's saga, The House of Blessing.

My Review:
Since starting this book review blog I have read over 40 some books. I have fallen in love with the books and authors. But starting and finishing this one,well it has absolutely become a book that will stick with me Always! I completely fell in love with Naomi. My heart went out to her automatically. Paula Rose Michelson has a dramatic saga that sucked me in from the very beginning.

I can not relate to having to hide my faith in public personally, but have spoken to others through out my life that have. Naomi is only 15 years old starting out. And even at that age has already made some tough choices. Then to sail across the ocean with a family she thought would get her to America: the land of the free. Naomi's story is tear jerking to say the least.

Secrets, memories, family, torn apart, love, discovery, a life long dream. How do all these things come together for Naomi? How does a naive fifteen year old girl grow up in a world that she knows nothing or no one?

I can not say it enough, I was engrossed in Naomi's life that putting the book down was next to impossible. I would read in the evening so I could have quite time with out getting interrupted. Then try to sleep, huh.... I would lay there trying to solve or work with Naomi on how to get through something until I would have to get up and finish that part of the book. It did take me a little while to read because I savored every word, sentence, chapter.

Author Paula Rose Michelson is an AWESOME Author. Can not wait till her next book is out. All of the Characters were so amazing. The biblical references were so to the point that I would do some research of my own. I was really interested in the facts of the book. The different cultures were also amazing to learn how different things are. Will not go any further due to not wanting to give away any more about the book. It is Diffidently A Must Read!

So, for the best story line, awesome characters, fantastic heroine, for leaving me wanting more, if I could, would give an even bigger rating. I am giving CASA de Naomi The House of Blessing by Paula Rose Michelson my Breath of Life rating of:



5 Clock Rating!


Make sure you check out this great book the link is below, just click it!!!




Tuesday, July 3, 2012

TEASER TUESDAY



Teaser Tuesdays is a weekly bookish meme, hosted by MizB of Should Be Reading. Anyone can play along! Just do the following:
  • Grab your current read
  • Open to a random page
  • Share two (2) “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page
  • BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS! (make sure that what you share doesn’t give too much away! You don’t want to ruin the book for others!)
  • Share the title & author, too, so that other TT participants can add the book to their TBR Lists if they like your teas.

Monday, July 2, 2012

Book Review: Partials by Dan Wells

Title: Partials
Author: 
Pub. Date: 2/28/2012
Publisher: Balzer + Bray
Format: Hardback
Pages:  468
ISBN# 0062071041


Book Description:
Humanity is all but extinguished after a war with partials—engineered organic beings identical to humans—has decimated the world’s population. Reduced to only tens of thousands by a weaponized virus to which only a fraction of humanity is immune, the survivors in North America have huddled together on Long Island. The threat of the partials is still imminent, but, worse, no baby has been born immune to the disease in over a decade. Humanity’s time is running out.

When sixteen-year-old Kira learns of her best friend’s pregnancy, she’s determined to find a solution. Then one rash decision forces Kira to flee her community with the unlikeliest of allies. As she tries desperately to save what is left of her race, she discovers that the survival of both humans and partials rests in her attempts to answer questions of the war’s origin that she never knew to ask.

Combining the fast-paced action of The Hunger Games with the provocative themes of Battlestar Galactica, Partials is a pulse-pounding journey into a world where the very concept of what it means to be human is in question—one where our sense of humanity is both our greatest liability, and our only hope for survival.


It's Monday! What are you Reading?




Guess what...Its Monday! What are you reading this week? This is a weekly event to list the books completed last week, the books currently being reading, and the books to be finish this week. It is hosted
 by  Book Journey. 

Sunday, July 1, 2012

Sunday's with Rev. Kim on Breath Of Life





Sunday's with Kim on Breath of Life is a new feature that I will be posting here at Breath of Life.

Welcome to my new feature. It's my prayer that you will be encouraged and blessed by following and becoming involved in this journey to love the Lord and His word.

I invite you to visit often. The Welcome mat is always here, as my ideas, insights from Gods word is blogged as often as I can.
Rev. Kim

Cares for me....  Matt. 6:26
Forgives me....Psalm 103:12
Is Compassionate....Psalm 103:4-5
Is Giving....Romans 8:32
Is Understanding....Psalm 139:1-2
Is Accepting....Psalm 139:1-6
Satisfies....Psalm 107:9
Persistently Pursues me....Luke 19:10
Is Reason....Isaiah 1:18
Pardons....Psalm 103:3
Heals....Isaiah 53:5
Redeems....Job 19:25
Is Loving & Kindness....Psalm 86:15
Renews....Isaiah 40:31

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...