Saturday, June 30, 2012

On My Wishlist





On My Wishlist is a Meme hosted by Book Chick City.  

On My Wishlist is a weekly meme that allows us to share the books we haven't bought yet but are waiting to be bought and devoured. If you are anything like me then your wishlist is getting longer by the day! If you would like to take part and have your own 'On My Wishlist' post then you can find more info here. (This post was inspired by the fab In My Mailbox by Kristi at The Story Siren)

 My on My Wishlist includes books that are older and already out, or brand new. Today I am bringing 
you four books that I am dying to read and get for my book shelves. 

So lets see what we have here this week...  I well update when I get these books.  There are so many that I 
decided to narrow it sown to just four this week.!

Friday, June 29, 2012

Book Review: 5TH Horseman by James Patterson

Title: 5TH HORSEMAN
Author: James Patterson and Maxine Paetro
Pub. Date: 2/13/206
Publisher: Time Warner Audio Books
Format: CD Audio Book
Pages: 
ISBN# 1594831114     


Book Description:
An angel of death is stalking the halls of a San Francisco hospital. Recuperating patients on the verge of release are suddenly stricken and die. Nobody can identify the cause -- or the culprit. In their most gripping case yet, James Patterson's Women's Murder Club convenes to track down a killer who hides among healers. A powerful hospital and courtroom thriller.  (From: Goodreads)

A young mother is recuperating in a San Francisco hospital when she is suddenly gasping for breath. The call button fails to bring help in time. The hospital's doctors, some of the best in the nation, are completely mystified by her death. How did this happen?

This is not the first such case at the hospital. Just as patients are about to be released with a clean bill of health, their conditions take a devastating turn for the worse.

Accompanied by the newest member of the Women's Murder Club, Yuki Castellano, Lieutenant Lindsay Boxer probes deeper into the incidents. Could these cases just be appalling coincidences? Or is a maniac playing God with people's lives? When someone close to the Women's Murder Club begins to exhibit the same frightening symptoms, Lindsay fears no one is safe.

It is a wild race against time as Lindsay's investigation reveals a hospital administration determined to shield its reputation at all costs. And while the hospital wages an explosive court battle that grips the entire nation, Lindsay and the Women's Murder Club hunt for a merciless killer among its esteemed medical staff.
--This text refers to an out of print or unavailable edition of this title.


Wednesday, June 27, 2012

Book Review: My Emily by Matt Patterson


Title: my emily
Author: Matt Patterson
Pub. Date: 11/16/2011
Publisher: CreateSpace
Format: E-book
Pages: 98
ISBN# 1449951554 



  Book Description:
 This book is about a hurting family, an amazing little girl and a mysteriously faithful God.

Emily wasn't born perfect - so one might think. She was born with Down Syndrome and many would jump to the conclusion that she would have very little hope for a life with any significance. Two years later came the diagnosis of leukemia. What little hope remaining turned to no hope whatsoever - or so one might think. This short story tells how the life of one little girl, with all its perceived imperfections, had great meaning. Her loving nature and courage touched the hearts of everyone she met. She also taught them how to value their own lives - even with their many "imperfections."

Tuesday, June 26, 2012

TEASER TUESDAY

 

Teaser Tuesdays is a weekly bookish meme, hosted by MizB of Should Be Reading. Anyone can play along! Just do the following:
  • Grab your current read
  • Open to a random page
  • Share two (2) “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page
  • BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS! (make sure that what you share doesn’t give too much away! You don’t want to ruin the book for others!)
  • Share the title & author, too, so that other TT participants can add the book to their TBR Lists if they like your teas. 

Monday, June 25, 2012

It's Monday! What are you reading




Guess what...Its Monday! What are you reading this week? This is a weekly event to list the books completed last week, the books currently being reading, and the books to be finish this week. It is hosted
 by  Book Journey. 

Thursday, June 21, 2012

My Goals, Wicked Wildfire Read-a-thon

 

My Reading Goals for the Wicked Wildfire Read-a-Thon

Book Review: The Legend of Lady Maclaoch by Becky Banks

Title: The Legend of LADY MACLAOCH
Author: Becky Banks
Pub Date: May 27, 2011
Publisher: Ha'iku Press
Format: E-Book
Pages: 260
ISBN# 9780578075662



Book Description:
A legendary love, an unforgiving curse, and the discovery of a lifetime ...
Centuries ago a vengeful curse buried itself deep into the history of the MacLaoch clan and become a legendary tale told by all those not cursed by its words.

In present-day Scotland, the laird and chieftain of the MacLaoch clan is an ex-Royal Air Force fighter pilot who has been past the gates of hell and returned a changed man. Rowan MacLaoch does battle with wartime memories and a family curse that threaten to consume him—unaware that his life and that of the history of the clan will be changed forever by the arrival of an American woman.

Cole Baker, a feisty recent graduate of a master’s program, stumbles upon the ancient curse while researching her bloodlines. Moved by the history of the MacLaoch clan and the mystery of its chief, she digs into the legend that had been anything but quiet for centuries.

On their quest for answers, Cole and Rowan travel to places they have never before been and become witnesses to things they have never before fathomed. The legend—one started with blood—will end with more shed as its creator finally exacts her justice



Wednesday, June 20, 2012

Book Review: Come Back To Me by Melissa Foster

Title:Come Back To Me

Author: Melissa Foster
Pub. Date: Nov. 1, 2011
Publisher: Greenforge Books
format: E-Book
Pages: 307
ISBN# 9780984716



Book Description:
 Tess Johnson has it all: her handsome photographer husband Beau, a thriving business, and a newly discovered pregnancy. When Beau accepts an overseas photography assignment, Tess decides to wait to reveal her secret—only she’s never given the chance. Beau’s helicopter crashes in the desert.

Tess struggles with the news of Beau’s death and tries to put her life back together. Alone and dealing with a pregnancy that only reminds her of what she has lost, Tess is adrift in a world of failed plans and fallen expectations. When a new client appears offering more than just a new project, Tess must confront the circumstances of her life head on.

Meanwhile, two Iraqi women who are fleeing honor killings find Beau barely alive in the middle of the desert, his body ravaged by the crash. Suha, a doctor, and Samira, a widow and mother of three young children, nurse him back to health in a makeshift tent. Beau bonds with the women and children, and together, with the help of an underground organization, they continue their dangerous escape.

What happens next is a test of loyalties, strength, and love. 


Wicked Wildfire Read-A-Thon





I'm so excited, this is my first Read-a-Thon that I have done!! So here is what I plan on reading and the post I will update every single day to show what I've read.  

My goal for this read-a-thon is to read 800 pages.  

I will try my best to hit this goal or even higher if possible. 

Hosted by: Rebecca @ Kindle Fever, April @ My Shelf Confessions


Day 1
Books Completed Today: Come Back to Me by Melissa Foster
Page Number Completed Today: 71  | Total: 71
Notes:
Day 2
Books Completed Today:
Page Number Completed Today: 156 | Total: 227
Notes:
Day 3
Books Completed Today:
Page Number Completed Today: 50 | Total: 277
Notes: Finished My Emily by Matt Patterson
Day 4
Books Completed Today:
Page Number Completed Today: 38 | Total: 317
Notes:
Day 5
Books Completed Today:
Page Number Completed Today: 53
Notes: Finished Casa de Naomi by Paula Rose Michelson
Totals
Books Completed: 3
Page Count Total: 370
Notes:  Had a great time doing this did not reach my 800 but love that I did get three books finished and up to 370 pages read. Thanks for the push to read more.

Good Luck Everyone!!!


Tuesday, June 19, 2012

TEASER TUESDAY



Teaser Tuesdays is a weekly bookish meme, hosted by MizB of Should Be Reading. Anyone can play along! Just do the following:
  • Grab your current read
  • Open to a random page
  • Share two (2) “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page
  • BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS! (make sure that what you share doesn’t give too much away! You don’t want to ruin the book for others!)
  • Share the title & author, too, so that other TT participants can add the book to their TBR Lists if they like your teas.

Book Review: Duct Tape Bags by Authors of Instructables



Title: DUCT TAPE BAGS
Author:Authors of Instructables

Pub. Date: December 20th 2010
Publisher:  Instructables.com
Format: E-book
Pages: 550
ISBN# 1936605112


Book Description:
Duct Tape Bags! gives you full step-by-step instructions for 18 amazing ways to carry things with duct tape. Learn how to use duct tape to make beach bag, a purse, a laptop case, a camping backpack, and even a tool tote! All projects come from Instructables.com, are written by duct tape experts, and contain pictures for each step so you can easily do it yourself. Make it stick!


Book Review: Sweeter Than Birdsong by Rosslyn Elliott

Title: Sweeter Than Birdsong

Author: Rosslyn Elliott
Pub. Date: February 7th 2012
Publisher: Thomas Nelson Publishers
Format: E-Book
Pages: 400
ISBN# 159554786X


Book Description:

"Music offers Kate sweet refuge from her troubles...but real freedom is sweeter."
In Westerville, Ohio, 1855, " "Kate Winter's dreams are almost within reach. As the first woman to graduate from Otterbein College, she'll be guaranteed her deepest wish: escape from the dark secret haunting her family. But with her mother determined to marry her off to a wealthy man, Kate must face reality. She has to run. Now. And she has the perfect plan. Join the upcoming musical performance--and use it to mask her flight.
Ben Hanby, Otterbein College's musical genius, sees Kate Winter as an enigmatic creature, notable for her beauty, yet painfully shy. Then he hears her sing-and the glory of her voice moves him as never before. He determines to cast her in his musical and uncover the mystery that is Kate. Still, he must keep his own secret to himself. Not even this intriguing woman can know that his passionate faith is driving him to aid fugitives on the Underground Railroad.
A terrifying accident brings Kate and Ben together, but threatens to shatter both their secrets and their dreams. Kate can no longer deny the need to find her courage-and her voice-if she is to sing a new song for their future.
"Sweeter than Birdsong" is a stirring novel of hope and faith inspired by real historical people and events. 


Monday, June 18, 2012

It's Monday! What Are You Reading





Guess what...Its Monday! What are you reading this week? This is a weekly event to list the books completed last week, the books currently being reading, and the books to be finish this week. It is hosted
 by  Book Journey. 

Book Review: Weekend Homesteader by Anna Hess

Title: Weekend Homesteader
Author: Anna Hess
Pub. Date: April 23rd 2011
Publisher: Wetknee Books
Format: E-Book 
Pages:  36 
ISBN # B004Y04GVQ

 Book Description:    

Do you dream of homesteading but only have a bit of time each weekend to work on your projects? This ebook series introduces a simple but powerful project for each weekend of the year to start you off on the path to self-sufficiency. May projects include:

Planning your summer garden (with tips on the easiest vegetables to grow)

Making a kill mulch (and why no-till gardens are healthier)

Planting your summer garden (with information on when and how to plant)

Making a rain barrel (to collect free water for your garden)

Turning off your TV (and finding time for what really matters)

The author draws on her years of experience homesteading to make each project cheap, easy, and fun.



Tuesday, June 12, 2012

TEASER TUESDAY



Teaser Tuesdays is a weekly bookish meme, hosted by MizB of Should Be Reading. Anyone can play along! Just do the following:
  • Grab your current read
  • Open to a random page
  • Share two (2) “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page
  • BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS! (make sure that what you share doesn’t give too much away! You don’t want to ruin the book for others!)
  • Share the title & author, too, so that other TT participants can add the book to their TBR Lists if they like your teas.

Monday, June 11, 2012

It's Monday! What are you Reading?




Guess what...Its Monday! What are you reading this week? This is a weekly event to list the books completed last week, the books currently being reading, and the books to be finish this week. It is hosted
 by  Book Journey. 


Sunday, June 10, 2012

Sunday's with Rev. Kim on Breath Of Life





Sunday's with Kim on Breath of Life is a new feature that I will be posting here at Breath of Life.

Welcome to my new feature. It's my prayer that you will be encouraged and blessed by following and becoming involved in this journey to love the Lord and His word.

I invite you to visit often. The Welcome mat is always here, as my ideas, insights from Gods word is blogged as often as I can.
Rev. Kim


Cares for me....  Matt. 6:26
Forgives me....Psalm 103:12
Is Compassionate....Psalm 103:4-5
Is Giving....Romans 8:32
Is Understanding....Psalm 139:1-2
Is Accepting....Psalm 139:1-6
Satisfies....Psalm 107:9
Persistently Pursues me....Luke 19:10
Is Reason....Isaiah 1:18
Pardons....Psalm 103:3
Heals....Isaiah 53:5
Redeems....Job 19:25
Is Loving & Kindness....Psalm 86:15
Renews....Isaiah 40:31


Friday, June 8, 2012

Book Review: PROWL by Amber Garza



Title: PROWL
Author: Amber Garza
Pub. Date:  January 20th 2012
Publisher: Createspace
Format:  Paperback
Pages:   216 pages
ISBN#  1467982172



  

 Book Description:

 Seventeen-year-old Mackenzie Smith is sent away to spend a boring summer at her grandma's. But then she meets Wesley. He tells her exactly what she wants to hear and has information about her past that no one else knows. It's almost like he can read her mind.

Only Wesley isn't who he seems.

By the time Mackenzie discovers his true identity it may be too late. She's in too deep and he won't let her go. Now Mackenzie must call on the strongest power of all in order to save her life.



Tuesday, June 5, 2012

TEASER TUESDAY





Teaser Tuesdays is a weekly bookish meme, hosted by MizB of Should Be Reading. Anyone can play along! Just do the following:
  • Grab your current read
  • Open to a random page
  • Share two (2) “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page
  • BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS! (make sure that what you share doesn’t give too much away! You don’t want to ruin the book for others!)
  • Share the title & author, too, so that other TT participants can add the book to their TBR Lists if they like your teas.

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...